We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Special Treat!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

From the Manager's handwritten note of welcome on arrival, to the crackling log fires in the main reception rooms this is indeed a special place to stay. Quiet attention from the staff, a comfortable room with a huge luxurious bed and then to top it all, a delicious dinner with superb wines in the evening. Indeed a treat and all of this in the heart of the glorious countryside of Upper Slaughter. What more could anyone want? It was a perfect break. There were newspapers to read in front of the fire as tea was served in the afternoon, along with lavender flavoured short bread! Maps were provided for a countryside walk after an excellent breakfast and all the staff were so helpful. I certainly hope to be able to return again one day. Soon.

Room Tip: For that little added "extra" the rooms overlooking the countryside at the front of the Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    231
    74
    36
    16
See reviews for
102
776
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently decided on a midweek break in the Cotswolds and thought we would return to an old favourite 'The Lords of the Manor' at Upper Slaughter. We had a deluxe Cotswold room that was a reasonable size, well furnished and an extremely comfortable super kingsize bed. The staff were extremely friendly and came out to greet us on arrival and took our bags. We always enjoyed the food and were delighted that standards were maintained, if not better. The evening meal after canopies in the bar was one of the best we have ever experienced with attentive staff who always explained each course when served , a nice touch. Breakfast next morning was excellent with a very good choice and served instead of a buffet. I would highly recommend a visit. Midweek is always lower price than weekends when they prefer a two night stay. A good base to explore the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just like to say what a fantastic stay we had at this lovely hotel. the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great and the service faultless. Our rooms were very comfortable, clean with a beautiful bed with top class linen.
we will certainly be going back in the near future.
Chris

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel with warm welcome by an attentive staff at the reception, who briefly explained the hotel including its history. Also, a welcome pot of tea was offerred as their complimentary service. The staff have plenty of knowledge on short or even long walking in and around villages of Slaughter. The room was with a king sized comfortable bed and a large bathroom with separate shower room. In-room WIFI also did work well. The dinner was good, quite well organized starting with canapes at the lounge, perfect presentation of the dishes, however, the taste was so-so, compared with several restaurants in London that I had ever experienced at the similar price (it may not be fair with this comparison though... but if this restaurant claims itself Michelin starred, then...). The breakfast is a bit questionable, since I had had much better home-made breakfast a day before at a small family-run B&B in this region. But overall, I would reccommend this manor house to those who wish to spend a night without hassle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoppie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlander
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived for our Ruby wedding at this beautiful hotel to find a warm welcome and an upgrade to a sumptuous room. The service was immaculate and the food sublime made all the better by the gift of champagne before dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We thought the whole experience to be superb and rounded off by a visit to Blenheim although it was in thr rain. We would want to return to Lords of the Manor for our next celebration

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendwalker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our second stay at this classic hotel, the first being 3 years ago, when the food blew us away. This trip, we still found its old school charm endearing - squashy chairs, roaring fires, original features, hidden staircases, etc, and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Top marks for the service all the staff, too. Dinner was very good but not mind-blowing, but then, we were on a Secret Escapes deal which included the basic 'lesser' menu. A couple of things let our stay down though, the main one being the lack of wifi in the bedrooms - in this day and age, there's really no excuse, and I know other reviewers have complained about this too. Secondly, I don't think it would put them out much to have tea-making facilities in the room rather than having to call reception to ask for one, wait for it to arrive, etc. Thirdly, drinks prices are a bit silly - £8 for a bottle for local beer - really?! It was nice but the mark up did leave a bad taste in our mouths. All in all though, it was good value because we got a good deal, but I wouldn't pay full whack.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for one night, found the staff to be very attentive, made us feel spoiled. We ate in the Michelin starred restaurant for dinner, and the food was wonderful. Lovely flavours, very delicious, and cozily started with canapes by the fireplace. The room had a nice comfortable bed and chaise lounge, but otherwise standard. We were a bit surprised to see a £20 corkage fee if we were to have our own wine in the room. The only real negative about the stay was we had a fire alarm go off at 2:30am, which forced us out into the rain (nice we had robes in our room) for nearly an hour. In contrast to how impeccable the service was otherwise, they were barely apologetic about our ruined night (I couldn't get back to sleep after that) and offered no form of compensation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Slaughters
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
552 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Property: Lords of the Manor Hotel
Address: Upper Slaughter, The Slaughters GL54 2JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > The Slaughters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Cotswolds, England - The Slaughters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing