We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I booked this as a surprise for my wife, on arrival we found the signage for parking the car poor and landed up driving up to the front door, where a 4x4 was parked and unloading, it was not an easy place to turn round and drive out! My wife checked us in for our afternoon tea and was taken through and shown both lounges. We chose the main lounge as there was no one else in it and the log fire was inviting.there were tables that had been used and not cleared, but a member of staff soon cleared them. We were presented with the menus, surprised it was just a flimsy bit of paper!
I had booked the Champagne Afternoon tea, after informing the waiter? He brought our champagne and the afternoon tea followed. The quality of the sandwiches were excellent the scones were amazing, light and airy, the other cakes were great, a choice of teas, coffee or hot chocolate followed by a refil. It was a really great afternoon, looking out of the large windows over the fields and lake while it was pouring down with rain and we were snug inside sat next to the burning log fire eating our afternoon tea.
In summary a a great afternoon tea in lovely surroundings let down by the detail!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was disappointed with the room, it was small and hot even with the windows wide open. I expected a little more luxury and was not as clean as could have been.
The staff were very good and the food excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

After staying last year for our significant birthday we decided to stay again we were a little aprehensive that it would not live up to our initial experience. There was no need to worry from the moment we pulled into the drive we felt welcome. Last time we were met on the drive and our cases were dispatched to our rooms this time it was pouring with rain but we're not met but we could have arrived at a busy time. Once inside we we given a warm welcome and we had been allocated a room upgrade , a nice touch. The food is excellent and the staff very attentive. The room overlooked the drive and was very comfy warm and relaxing. Dining is very official as you are told when to dine ( however we did not challenge the time as it suited us ) the dining room is very quite and a little impersonal if you are self conscious or not used to this type of experiance it could feel a little over whelmimg . With that said the food service and quality are excellent . I would have no hesitation in recommending the Lords of the Manor as a get away or fine dining experiance . The food is worthy of a Michelin star, the breakfast is also excellent it is less formal and again the staff are very attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gigi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have stayed here a number of times over recent years and this stay was possibly the best yet.
The staff were courteous ,attentive and most importantly,genuinely appeared happy to be of service.
Dinner was a real culinary experience and with a full dining room the ambience was spot on.
Lovely room with panoramic view over the scenic grounds.
We really could not fault our stay and will, of course (,we hope), return.

Room Tip: 1st floor, front, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilRM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We went with friends and chose the Pamper Package, which was superb in every detail. We were upgraded to a suite in the attic, whch was huge and included two bathrooms! The hand written welcome note waiting in our room from the manager was a stylish touch. The staff were very relaxed and friendly, attending to our every need. After a walk around the beautiful village and hotel gardens, champagne afternoon tea was a real treat! Dinner was amazing - wonderful canapes, a superb range of beautifully presented dishes and, again, faultless service. Definitely a Michelin star experience.The bed was so so comfortable and the tea tray delivered to our room in the morning was a bonus! This is certainly a hotel to visit if you want to feel pampered in a country house party style. Not cheap...but worth every penny for a special occasion or simply to recover in style from the worst the weather can throw at you! We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: If booking a suite, ask for one in the attic. Quirky, with lovely views and very very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willyw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What can I say I was hoping for a lot from the stay having read the good reviews! I was not disappointed situated in the most idyllic Location a million miles from the stresses of city life. The Room was wonderful very well decorated and the bed was the most comfortable nights sleep my wife and I had in a very long time. so much so we have ordered a new mattress. the Meal that evening was spectacular, the food was full of flavor and the Service complimented the occasion! the whole Experience was just perfect and I look forward to booking again soon!

Room Tip: broadwell was a lovely room so comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great service, menu was fantastic, many tasters etc. Shame that they were only 9 for lunch. Room disappointing,stained wall paper, chipped paint. Fire not light in lounge pre lunch, which rather spoilt the occasion.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ukrwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Slaughters
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
592 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
985 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
76 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Address: Upper Slaughter, The Slaughters GL54 2JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > The Slaughters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Price Range: £121 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Cotswolds, England - The Slaughters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing