We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my husband and parents. We took my parents there for a joint birthday gift. Went to the dinner hosted by Rory Bremner. Was a great night. Good value for the money and the food was lovely. Was great sitting on a large table with other people from all different walks of life. Our room was lovely- the only down side is that it was in the loft and was very hot. Was also annoying when the birds woke us at 5 as we had forgotten to shut the window. Was also annoying that we had no full length mirror, The rooms were a little tired, but this is an old house, so was to be expected. The grounds are stunning and it is in a fabulous location. Would most definitely recommend it and look forward to returning again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ukgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent a night at Lords of the Manor and loved the setting, the manor house and extensive lawns at the front and terraced gardens at the back. Fortunately we had the weather to be able to make the most of them. We found the service to be somewhat lacking, it took us a great deal of persuasion to get the waiter to agree to move unoccupied chairs from the three tables on the massive lawn and to provide tea (we weren't expecting them to serve the full afternoon tea) on a tray on the grass. Eventually, however, it was all managed perfectly.

The best feature was undoubtedly the seven course tasting menu, particularly the raspberry soufflé which was perfectly baked and retained the intense flavour or fresh raspberries. Service was excellent throughout dinner.

The house is beautiful but needs sprucing up and attention to detail and it is unusual to find a hotel in England which does not supply a tea and coffee tray unless requested. I do hope the management sharpen up as it is a beautiful place and we did enjoy our stay there. Also, check your bill as ours and the guest checking out before us both had mistakes. There is a lack of attention to detail that you would not expect at these prices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneGDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our love of the Cotswolds and memories of a friend's wedding at the Lords of the Manor attracted us to accept an offer of 50% off the normal cost for a one night stay with dinner and breakfast. Dinner was a fixed five course sampler menu and was preceded by canapés. Everything was described in full detail by staff who were properly formal and friendly at the same time. Each course was beautifully prepared and presented. Items that we might have hesitated to order from an open menu turned out to be delicious and the dinner experience was gracious and enjoyable.
The dining room was very nearly full but very quiet, certainly favouring those who prefer peace to buzz. Accompanying wine was not cheap but of good quality and well recommended to accompany our main course. Breakfast was more than adequate and presented with care similar to that of the dinner.

The building was not designed to be a hotel and is a maze of corridors and small rooms. All of this adds to an old world charm and might be described as tired in some areas but only in the same way as a pair of comfortable old slippers.

For us this was quite a long trek from Yorkshire for a one night stay but we were able to include walks on the days of arrival and departure, refreshing our love of the area and visiting some of our favourite places. It was certainly a couple of days to be cherished and talked about for a long time.

In rating the hotel we have tried to do so taking into account expectations which other visitors will have of somewhere that is by no means cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to feel like a celebrity, or aristocrat, then come and stay here. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special by the outstanding staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

The atmosphere is understated elegance.

We enjoyed exploring the Cotswolds from here, although always wanted to make it back in time for drinks in the sunshine in the magnificent gardens.

The rooms are out of this world - well at least out of this century! The only thing I could think to improve them would be chocolates on the pillows- although it may have fallen off the pile of 4 pillows on the bed!

My daughter, aged 20, was the youngest guest by at least 30 years, but still enjoyed the tranquility and beauty.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our stay and this is not something we expected. The grounds are beautiful as is the manor house but there was no wow factor for the deco of the room itself, we were upgraded to a rectory double room which was a large sized room but as it had two big arm chairs in there it made the room look crowded and the TV was far too small for the room and not a good view of it from the bed as well as the room looking tired. The bathroom was lovely, spacious with a bath tub and separate shower. The view overlooking the greenery at the back of the hotel was quite stunning especially as the sun shone into the room in the afternoon.

The afternoon tea was delicious however the service let it down, once we were seated no one came to take our order so we had to go find a waiter which took some time, during the tea we wanted to order more drinks but no one came and by the end we gave up and had to go find a waiter to ask for our desserts to be bought up to our room.

We were looking forward to dinner especially as it is a Michelin star restaurant but once again left disappointed. The service itself was slow, especially towards the end of the meal which was surprising as we were the only ones left as had a late booking. Being vegetarian they had to cater for my needs as there was nothing on the menu, but we had advised them of this and they had created a menu. However there was no choice just one starter and main which I wasn’t keen on but no other option available. My husband did enjoy his main meal but not so keen on the rest and both of the desserts were not great.

We were staying for my birthday celebration and the hotel was made aware of this, 4 months in advance my husband had arranged for them to bring a birthday treat out for me and this was also confirmed a few days before our stay and during our stay yet nothing had happened which left my husband annoyed as he couldn’t have made any more people aware. Also when staying at a prestigious place you would expect them to make the additional effort for the price they charge.

We found the bed very comfortable however as it was a summers night it was too hot and not much air from the windows and as we had to leave the windows open (not that it made much difference) and asI am a light sleeper I was disturbed by the clock ringing every hour – not sure where it was coming from but not something you want to hear during the night.

Just as we were thinking the stay couldn’t get any worse it did at breakfast. Being vegetarian and no egg I was offered toast mushroom and tomatoes which no one would eat alone. The waitress was rude and I had asked if it was possible to have some sort of potatoes with it to add some substance to which I was told a plain no. I then had to plead just to have cheese and onion toast, not the hardest of requests and it consisted of minimum cheese and what could only be described as the whole onion being added to the bread! Not sure how they got their Michelin star status!

Most of the staff were pleasant and friendly, just not this lady but it was very hard to find waiters when you needed them. As this was a birthday celebration with the birthday on the actual day of the stay we felt very disappointed with the turn of the events as we expressed to the receptionist. The manager got back to us and was rather apologetic and cleared the rest of the charges on our account with a voucher of the same stay to use again. This was not the desired outcome of our complaint but a very nice gesture, unfortunately the way we feel at the moment we cannot see ourselves returning. For that reason only I have rated it a 3 otherwise would have been lower as they have taken our complaint on board and tried to rectify it. But personally I do feel this stay is rather expensive for what you actually get for the price paid and they expect a service charge on top. I have been to cheaper places and enjoyed it far more where the staff have even added perks on special occasions without even being asked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Classy_Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you want to get right away from everything then this might well be the place for you! It is not a cheap option so a little saving up might well be needed. Is it worth it? Just about in my view. My husband and I spent 1 night here. Our room was fine....overlooking the front garden and river, so pleasant on the eye. Bathroom spacious. For us, the absolute best bit was our evening meal...worth the drive for this alone! Service was excellent and wine choices spot on. Breakfast next morning was also of good quality. We booked through 'Secret Escapes' for the first time and were unaware of their fees which added £13 approx to the cost. The hotel also add 10% service to the total bill, so what looked a challenging price became even more so. All the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient so no quibble in paying them what they deserve. Overall we came to the conclusion that this was London prices deep in the country and perhaps need reviewing so that more people can afford to stay and enjoy the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mimihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for my anniversary, I expected a high standard for cost of the hotel, first impressions were very good until we went to the room. We stayed in the room next to Tracey which apparently when I booked it was there second best room. I ordered a bottle of champagne and also booked the taster menu making my bill around £700 for one night. The room was very dated with nothing spectacular about it, the TV was stood on old furniture none of which matched with a very small and standard travelodge style bathroom. Above the bed on the ceiling was a large dirty brown stain ( what does it cost to touch a room up with white paint) which for the money paid should not of been there! The taster menu was quite poor only improved by our French waiter who was excellent! We went to the manor house hotel the previous year I can only advise the management of this hotel to go and see there's! Food amazing and blows your mind room above standard and exciting. After a good nights sleep in the comfy bed we went down for breakfast to be served burnt toast sand over cooked bacon and egg! I would not attend this hotel for £700 again complete rip off. I would love the manager to look into this as I would like a partial refund regards mr & mrs knight

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A-5gpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Slaughters
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,310 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
592 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
984 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
76 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Address: Upper Slaughter, The Slaughters GL54 2JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > The Slaughters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Price Range: £121 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Cotswolds, England - The Slaughters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing