We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords of the Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked my parents into this hotel for the weekend as a thank you and it really did turn out to be a lovely occasion. I met them on the Sunday for afternoon tea and everything was perfect. The service was outstanding throughout, they'd had a top class meal in the restaurant the evening before and had otherwise enjoyed getting their walking boots on and exploring the beautiful local area. I'd paid a little extra to book a bedroom that was 'dog friendly' which was well worth it, as they could access the room on the ground floor after being out for the day.

I'd highly recommend this place. It's not particularly cheap but my parents loved it. It was really special and I could see when I visited that everyone was working hard in that old English manner. Very classy, we'll be back.

I'm already planning to send them back for their anniversary in a couple of years time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    221
    68
    33
    13
See reviews for
95
739
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this gem of a hotel. It nestles in the village of Higher slaughter,it is so peaceful, amazing to hear the sound of silence so rare in the modern world. The Manager and staff are highly professional, the service attentive, and with great detail to attention. It is so very hard to run a hotel this way ,it looks so easy as a guest but much team work must happen behind the scenes. We were welcomed as valued friends, spoiled and didn't want to leave. The food was amazing and the sommelier clearly has such a passion for his craft and chose some lovely wines for us to try. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed our pre dinner canapés in the garden,gazing at the beautiful countryside. The hotel itself is an old private home, once a rectory so has that history and feel. We would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We thought it was overpriced but also quite good. Our room was the “Lyttleton” & had a painting of the very surly looking Mrs. Lyttleton just outside the bedroom door. The morning we checked out I was sure that she gave me a wry smile. The restraunt was also very good but also overpriced.
The walk to Lower Slaughter was very enjoyable & should be tried. I think if I were in the area again I woul probably find somewhere else to stay. But don't be put off going it will just cost you a bit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We know this hotel quite well.

Very few hotels, in our experience, get it just right in terms of bringing all the key elements of delivery together. The Lords of the Manor has:

Attentive but not obsequious service. The right answers when asked, in other words. And no-one pushing or making you feel uncomfortable. We had a small bill query which was credited without question.

Very good, unpretentious food. Well-deserved star.

Comfortable and clean rooms. Lack of drink-making facilities the only slight gripe. No in-room Wi-Fi but in a place like this, why worry?

Lovely and welcoming gardens. Entirely natural outlook.

A location which is perfect for access to the Cotswolds.

Altogether a very relaxing environment. Recommended. I suppose you have to live with the hotel name - odd.

Room Tip: Haven't found any bad rooms yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Lords of the Manor, for my husbands Birthday surprise.
The service was fantastic, and friendly.
We received a free up grade, so this was a nice surprise when we checked in.
The setting was lovely and the House well styled and clean. Our room was fantastic , well decorated and equipped.
Food was excellent, and a great wine choice was available.
We wound most definitely would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik1000j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice country house in unspoilt village. Not grand but comfortable. Not pretentious but efficiently run by on site Manager and well trained staff. Plenty of young couples there enjoying the peace and tranquility. Quite busy on a Sunday night in the restaurant which is always a good sign. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Enjoyed one nights stay here wish I had stayed longer, from checking in to checking out the hotel staff were excellent. The room was very comfy good sized bathroom with bath and shower complete with robes and toiletries.no Wi-Fi in the room but was available in the lounge. I did find it unusual not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room but a call to reception can resolve this. The external areas of the manor are very tranquil and great to have a drink and relax in the gardens. We ate in the Michelin starred restaurant and were not disappointed great food and impressive service. Our room was a little warm at night but was very quiet. The next morning went down for breakfast and it continued with the same theme well cooked breakfast and enthusiastic friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brushmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Slaughters
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Property: Lords of the Manor Hotel
Address: Upper Slaughter, The Slaughters GL54 2JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > The Slaughters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Slaughters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Cotswolds, England - The Slaughters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing