We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Super rural retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Buckle Barn is a listed Cotswold stone holiday cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buckle Barn is a listed Cotswold stone holiday cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
15 reviews
Buckle Barn is a listed Cotswold stone holiday cottage.
St Peters' Church, Upper Slaughter.
The perfect country break for two, whatever the weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
The Slaughters, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richard W
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Super rural retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful little cottage in a lovely rural setting as it must have been part of a farm complex originally. Very well equipped and beautifully clean and bright.. Easy access to the many attractions in the North Cotswolds. Highly reccommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucaBlue7...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little bolt hole.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very clean and well presented barn conversion that was well equipped with kitchen implements, blankets etc.
In a perfect location if you like timeless English villages and beautiful countryside and although it was only a mile up the road from Lower Slaughter, the tourists didn't seem to venture as far as Upper Slaughter where the barn is located.Apart from the occasional walker it was very very peaceful. Plenty of gentle strolls or more challenging walks available straight out of the front door.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firm_but...
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

What a wonderful cottage. It is perfect if you really want to get away from it all. The decor is wonderful, simple but stylish and the place was so clean. The bedroom was so relaxing. The bathroom had a bath and shower so be sure to take your bath bombs so you can have a relaxing bath. The kitchen has everything you would need. The owner was also very easy to communicate with and extremely helpful, thank you Buckle Barn owner.
I would definitely recommend and I would love to stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAH2010
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for a few quiet nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend in Feb. It was a last minute booking and it was made very easy by the owner, who let us arrive a little early.
The cottage is very cute, clean and comfortable.
It's in a fab location, very quite and not many people about, which is what we wanted! Lovely walk down to Lower slaughter and drinks at the hotel there.
Will absolutely be returning.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aligeorge...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect cottage in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013

My partner and I stayed in this truly delightful cottage back in November. The cottage is spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped. Upper Slaughter is my idea of an idyllic Cotswold village. We did lots of great walks (there are maps in the cottage which were very useful for finding our way through the countryside) and had a fantastic dinner at the restaurant in Lords of the Manor hotel which is a 1 minute walk away from Buckle Barn. All in all it was a perfect getaway and we would love to come back soon and explore further!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick W
Birmingham
Level Contributor
389 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“A Perfect cottage in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at Buckle Barn twice now in 2011 and again in November 2012.
In a word it is perfect! Beautifully decorated and well equipped The cottage is centrally located in Upper Slaughter which makes for an ideal location from which to explore the Cotswolds either by car or closer to "home" on foot. The cottage is warm and inviting with a well equipped kitchen (dishwasher and washing machine). The fire is a "log effect" electric fire but still perfect for rainy cold afternoons in winter. There is a flat screen TV and DVD player, free Wi-Fi and iPod dock The bathroom has both bath and shower and the (very comfortable) bed is I think a king size All the furnishings and linen are of top quality. There is off road parking for one vehicle close by.
Nearby are a number of excellent restaurants and of course there are any number of super pubs for pub lunches (a favourite is The Wheatsheaf in Northleach). Nearby Cirencester has some excellent shops and a Christmas market IIRC.
I would have to say that if I were to own a cottage in the Cotswolds Buckle Barn would be that cottage - just perfect.
If you fancy a cosy cottage for a romantic few nights (or longer) look no further.
This year we are trying Yew Tree Barn which is just opposite.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Decor and furnishings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$778
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing