We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, charming, excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 8 The Square

No 8 The Square - Located in the center of the picturesque village of Upper Slaughter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No 8 The Square - Located in the center of the picturesque village of Upper Slaughter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
No 8 The Square - Located in the center of the picturesque village of Upper Slaughter
Lounge
Morning Room
Kitchen
Downstairs bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bedroom can be a double or twin room. Please state your preference
Family Bathroom
Parking available at the front of the cottage
Upper Slaughter
Upper Slaughter
Cottage Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
The Slaughters, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
figmentsa...
Poughquag, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful, charming, excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at No. 8 in Upper Slaughter. Very relaxing and luxurious home to return after touring the Cotswolds. Enjoy watching people walk thru the town and taking pictures of No.8. The kitchen, the bedrooms, and the living areas were very comfortable and cozy. We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for your very good review. We do have a very pretty cottage and we are happy to share it with appreciative guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktdeasy
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage. Perfect Home Spot”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I visited this village two years ago and thought if I ever came back I wanted to stay here. So I did. It's such a lovely place and central location to tour but staying here and walking the country side and visiting the church and village is just as good. Nicely appointed. Highly recommend. It was the best. Stay as long as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorie J
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“Stimply Stunning!”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfect spot in the lovely Cotswold’s for a visit! The house if simply gorgeous with an updated kitchen, spacious bedrooms and beautiful bathrooms. The location of this cottage is spectacular and makes an ideal spot to stay when exploring the area. The local's were very friendly and there are some lovely walks right on the doorstep. The hosts were very friendly, checked on us during our visit and had the cottage stocked with basic supplies on arrival. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wishes to visit the lovely Cotswold's!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very good review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia H
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautiful and very clean. Everything was provided, including clean towels. The bedroom and en-suite shower room on the ground floor was perfect for mum. Even when we had a slight problem with the shower and e-mailed the owners, their reply was very prompt and everything was sorted out. We were initially quite concerned with the fact that we were not able to control the heating of the place ourselves.....but the central heating was programmed to turn on and off and even in cold February, we were kept very warm and cosy...even our family from Malaysia felt warm and comfortable. The decor of each room was very sweet. We had an extremely lovely time here. The surrounding areas were awesome and just minutes away. What an idyllic surrounding. Bet it's even more stunning in the summer. Just wish we had more time here. (Worth mentioning that there was a bottle if milk in the fridge and a chocolate cake when we arrived. Coffee, tea and sugar was provided...) we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We would look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We are a family of 6 and We loved our stay at no. 8. It is the most delightful cottage in Upper Slaughter with wonderful modern ammenities ( kitchen and bathrooms) tastefully done to harmonise with the old world charm. Kay and David keep the cottage impeccably clean. they even left us a Delicious chocolate cake. There are some beautiful walks you can do straight from the front doorstep and many other delightful Cotswold towns are just a stones throw away. There are no shops in the town but this is not an issue at all; we collected some groceries from Bourton-on-the-Water on our way. Thanks for a wonderful few days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travel a lot around the Uk and Europe and often use self catering accommodation. It's fair to say that our expectations are high and comfort is very important to us!

That said, it's really hard for us to find any fault with our experience here. Communication with the owners was excellent from the moment of our first enquiry and the property itself exceeded our expectations.

Gran had a downstairs en suite room which suited her well and the rest of us enjoyed being upstairs.

Fixtures, fittings and decoration is of the highest quality throughout and we will not hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

If you're reading this review because you're considering a stay, do yourself a favour and book it whilst it's available!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCJ3
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical stay in a magical place”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I can't fault anything about the house, the location or my interactions with David and Kay. We had a fantastic 3 night stay here and could easily have stayed for longer. We didn't have to touch the car, it's well worth walking to your destination, the views are amazing. Would definitely book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing