We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice working farm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Farmcote Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Davis is very kind and we enjoyed very much our stay at north farmcote : wonderful area and landscape, warmfull hospitality, fantastic breakfast : what a pleasure!!
We should like to come back and walking in this very nice region
Christine and Jean-Pierre

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jean-pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our three day visit couldn't have been more perfect. Waking to the bleating of sheep in the surrounding meadows was a first for all of us. My sisters from Norway and Massachusetts joined me (Washington State) for my 70 birthday celebration and a sisters trip. Our vacation started at Farmcote. David is a delightful host serving up a delicious hearty English breakfast with especially delicious homemade sausages and baked breads. You name it, he had it! He was very accommodating with good advice for places to visit. Our large rooms had beautiful linens on our comfortable beds. We couldn't take enough pictures of the view and his lovely gardens. The location is perfect for visiting the lovely Cotswold Villages. A must-see is Sudeley Castle, minutes away. It was the home of Catherine Parr, Henry III last of his six wives. The gardens and ruins are spectacular.

Room Tip: Room two was very spacious, had a very tight bathroom with an excellent shower. All the rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Three of us spent three peaceful days at North Farmcote with David the proprietor. This family home is located in the beautiful countryside of the Malvern Hills. I took dozens of pictures of the yard and surrounding rolling hills. David was very attentive, made us feel quite welcome and prepared a wonderful English breakfast for us each morning. We had a bit of trouble finding the B&B and stopped into a pub in Guiting Power, called David, and he drove out to lead us to his place. One of the highlights of the stay was having David serve us tea on the back veranda and then joining us for great conversation. We met his sister, who grows chilis and herbs next door that are made into some wonderful sauces and jams. Of course, I bought some to take home to the states. I'd love to return with my hubby someday and just stay awhile to rest instead of running off sightseeing. But sightseeing in the Cotswolds is indeed wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This house and the area around are amazing. I have never been at a place with a more astonishing view. There is even a thousand year old church in his garden, and very good icecream next door. The B&B owner, David, was kind enough to drive us to a nearby pub for some dinner, and the pub that he took us to was also really lovely, with a ping pong table and a garden, and good (including vegetarian) food.

The house is on the top of a small hill, and as were walking the Cotswold way, we also stopped by a "tea room" (more like a cafe) a couple of kilometres down the road (Hayles), where accomodation was also available. Not going to comment on the tea room, but let me just say that we think the people who chose this accomodation instead of the North Farmcote were missing out on a lot ;) As it was much further down, the view was not half as nice as the one on North Farmcote.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in the family room. I highly recommend this B&B. David was exceptionally welcoming and a wonderful cook! The view from the house is breathtaking! There are many public walking paths close by and is close to many local small villages. Our entire trip was split between four B&Bs and hotels and North Farmcote was by far the best, even topping the London Marriott in my opinion! Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place! The house is beautiful, the room is well appointed, the bed is comfortable. The internet signal is very weak, but that turned out to be a blessing as it was quite nice to be "unreachable". The windows of the old house open and the cool breeze blew though the room as the rain came down outside -- just dreamy! Highly highly highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel78605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

North Farmcote B&B, Winchcombe
David Eayrs is a charming and attentive host at his B&B, set high up in the hills above Winchcombe, Gloucester, with fantastic views of the Malvern Hills. The farm sits on the Cotswold Way, on the section between Wood Stanway and Winchcombe. Views from the terrace and large, mature gardens are quintessential Cotswolds. The rooms are large, linens crisp, bathrooms modern. Breakfast is taken in the dining room, sitting with other guests, which invariably adds to the experience and can also help you plan your day. Underprepared, we borrowed an Ordnance Map from a couple who, together with Mr. Eayrs, helped us plan a 5-6 mile circular hike, which included Sudley Castle, the village of Winchcombe and Hailes Abbey, ruins of a 13th century Cisterian Abbey. North Farmcote is a bit off the beaten path, and is best for walkers or those with a car. Also, a well detailed map is useful for finding it. But, once there, it is fabulous - we were sorry that our plans allowed only a one night stay.

Room Tip: We booked late and had a room with twin beds and a private bath which was located across the hall. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jargon1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed with David in his idyllic home overlooking the Malvern hills. The garden has many mature trees, the flower planting pretty and unpretentious is well tended, a wonderful place to sit admiring the view and sipping a 'sundowner'! Our stay was memorable owing to David's exceptional hospitality and his breakfasts freshly cooked were really tasty. The surrounding area in the Cotswolds is breathtaking, enhanced by quaint architecture, every village and town just as beautiful as the one just passed through. Many historical places of interest to visit. We would heartily recommend this bed and breakfast for those looking for peace and quiet, with the option of seeing main attractions in the area, the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: West rooms have a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbydazzler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
5.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
652 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#2 of 12 in Winchcombe
456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wesley House
Wesley House
#4 of 12 in Winchcombe
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Lion Inn
The Lion Inn
#3 of 12 in Winchcombe
362 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sudeley Castle Cottages
Sudeley Castle Cottages
#2 of 3 in Winchcombe
63 reviews
5.0 mi away
Malvern View Cotswold Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Farmcote Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Farmcote Bed & Breakfast

Address: North Farmcote, Winchcombe GL54 5AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Hotel Class:4 star — North Farmcote Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing