We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, homely b&b in beautiful quiet location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wood Stanway Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed on my own and was made to feel very welcome. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, bed comfortable and I appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities. Full English breakfast was plentiful and delicious - good for a day's walking! I enjoyed the atmosphere of the old house and the location was great. There is access to several footpaths from the door - including the Cotswold Way and the view from the hill behind the village is extensive. No light pollution here so lots of stars on a clear night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We really liked the very relaxed and informal atmosphere, which was just what we wanted on our walking holiday, and the owner is very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast too! This is a lovely old building with loads of rural charm, and our room was comfortable and clean. It’s in a beautiful, quiet location and is a great spot to base a walking trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rads_hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We appreciated the character and charm of this old farmhouse with its antique furniture and decor. The peacefulness of the hamlet was also a nice change from staying in villages and small towns. The bedrooms were clean and comfy. My 3 year old loved his first night on the top of the bunk beds in the family room. Breakfast was delicious but we we were automatically served a full English - best to tell the owner Maggie if theres anything you don't want or like. We ate at the pub a mile away which was extremely good value for money with a range of unprententious dishes and very welcoming for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here one night whilst walking The Cotswold Way. The website said that it was a farmhouse which had been lovingly restored and nestled in the Cotswold Hills so we had high hopes. Be warned; this is not the case!
The decor was garish, shabby and the room was dirty, dark and damp. The bedding thankfully was clean. The towels were old, small, thin and stained. The bathroom door had a glass window so anyone in the bunkbed could clearly see you sat on the loo!!
We were offered a 3 course meal when we booked having been advised that there was nowhere nearby to eat. This meal consisted of tinned vegetable soup with a cheap white bap, a homemade pasta bake which was tasty and a shop bought microwave chocolate pudding. This gourmet delight cost us a grand total of £17.50 per head with no wine!! Unbelievable. What added to our incredulity was being rushed through our meal so the owner could go to the pub for the evening. We were brought our pudding before we had even finished our mains. We found out later that there was a pub within 1 mile serving food which we would have gladly walked to.
The accommodation cost us £65 and we stayed somewhere infinitely superior the following night for £10 less!!
Breakfast was poor. No brown toast was available, nor herbal teas or yogurt. The mushrooms were past their best.
We would not recommend staying here. Do so at your peril.
I have to say that Maggie, the owner, was a lovely, friendly lady but I feel her heart is not really in the business.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed at Wood Stanway Farmhouse while walking the Cotswold Way. Located in a small, quiet, peaceful community and near a working farm, this B & B is in a building dating from the 1600's. It has been lovingly and tastefully restored by Maggie Green, the proprietress, and we were made very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was copious. The accommodation exudes a casual and laid back air, which we appreciated on our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolinaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: ブルールームと言われるダブルベッドの部屋にはシャワー施設がないので洗髪は難しい、他の部屋を選んだ方がよい。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 廣瀬知子
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle kamers zijn groot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchcombe hotels
4.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#2 of 12 in Winchcombe
456 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lion Inn
The Lion Inn
#3 of 12 in Winchcombe
362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sudeley Castle Cottages
Sudeley Castle Cottages
#2 of 3 in Winchcombe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wesley House
Wesley House
#4 of 12 in Winchcombe
117 reviews
4.3 mi away
Winchcombe Rooms To Stay
Winchcombe Rooms To Stay
#11 of 12 in Winchcombe
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Stanway Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Stanway Farmhouse

Address: Wood Stanway | Nr. Didbrook, Winchcombe GL54 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing