We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great break in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sudeley Castle Cottages
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great break in a lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked this property for our post-Christmas break, attracted by its close proximity to the town of Winchcombe, as we liked the idea of not being over car-dependent if the weather deteriorated. On this occasion we made our booking later than we normally would, but, as available properties in the area were getting scarcer, we consulted the website and made a booking.

The properties are set in a private "close", and as another reviewer has also commented, it was like going onto a film set in some respects. There was ample parking in a separate car park around the back of the properties. We stayed in the Charles I apartment, which was comfortable and had plenty of attractive period features; it was evident that the kitchen had been recently renovated, too. Despite the time of year, it was warm and cosy and had everything we needed. Laundry facilities are available to guests in a separate building on site.

We enjoyed the privately-owned shops, coffee shops and pubs of Winchcombe, and visited Cheltenham several times, which is only 7 miles away. For those who like the Cotswolds, many of the key places are within very easy reach - Stow, Bourton-on-the-Water, Broadway, Moreton-in-Marsh to name but a few.

We were sad not to be able to use the outdoor patio furniture, provided on the attractive decking at the rear of the properties, owing to the time of year, but hope to do so on another occasion. We would not hesitate to return, and have already recommended the properties to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevo750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have just returned from a midweek break at Sudeley Castle Cottages we stayed in the Anne Bolelyn cottage which was very cosy and pretty, the cottages are in a private cul-de-sac with plenty of parking behind. They are supplied with all linen including towels, tea towels and a few teabags, coffee and milk to get you started and are very comfortable for 4 people.You also get tickets to visit Sudeley Castle,the pretty village of winchcombe is a short walk uphill with tea rooms,pubs and restaurants. Winchcombe station is a short drive away where you can get the steam train to Cheltenham racecourse and back and the day we went the local school were re-enacting 1940's wartime which was good to watch.Everything about these cottages and the area was so nice we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwwrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

My family stayed at the Lady Jane Grey cottage in May. The cottage was clean and well maintained. The cottages are actually stone buildings that have been retrofitted with apartments, leaving plenty of the original stone and wood beams visible. It is awesome that they did not try to cover the natural stone with sheet rock. The wood and stone infuses these cottages with country charm. The location is great, a short walk uphill to Winchcombe where you can find historic sites, restaurants, and light shopping. A wider selection of shopping and dining is just a couple miles away in Tewksbury. The cottages are also very close to Sudeley Castle. A five minute walk across a sheep pasture. Visitors are offered a free pass to the castle, so take advantage of it! The cottages include linens, cable television and a kitchen stocked with pots and pans if you feel like cooking your own meals.

Room Tip: I only stayed at the Lady Jane Grey cottage. All of the cottages appear to have similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Sudeley Castle Cottages website really does not do these cottages justice. I was not convinced by the website but took the risk as I was struggling to find Easter availability elsewhere. So glad I did! The cottages are so pretty and in the perfect setting- we woke to birdsong and the sound of the river. We stayed in the Princess Elizabeth cottage. The photos on the website made it look a bit tired and outdated but it's actually very cosy, comfortable and charming. The cottage was very well equipped and spotless. As the website doesn't really detail what is available in the cottage here is some info - I would imagine the other cottages are similarly equipped:
dvd and vhs players
freeview
small tv (maybe 21")
in the kitchen you'll find everything you could need (we didn't cook but I saw pots, pans, oven dishes - even a lemon zester!), there is a microwave and the cooker is electric.
In the bathroom you're supplied with shower gel, handwash and shower caps.
In the bedrooms - fluffy towels and all linen.

The bedrooms are one good sized double and a twin room with ample space.

The housekeeper, Olive, kindly dropped in on the Saturday to check we were ok which was much appreciated.

We had a bit of a problem with the smoke alarm which went off twice with no apparent cause but we've left a message and I'm sure this will be promptly fixed.

The only negatives were that the shower is very weak, would be great if they could fit something a little more powerful. Also, as there is an apartment above Princess Elizabeth we did hear some noisy kids running around. Still, this was not too disruptive and wouldn't put me off coming again.

Winchcome centre is a 5 min walk with easy access to good walking routes. The Old Tea House does a brilliant cream tea and fab cakes. The Plaisterer's Arms does good food and a lovely sunday lunch. If staying at the cottages you get a free voucher for Sudeley Castle - well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nicedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We have been coming back to the cottages for fifteen years and have stayed at the following, Queen Mary, Lady Jane, Queens, Emma Dent, The mill House and in the early days Archurs and Huntsmans. We have been back three times this year. We love the cosy atmosphere and it feels like going back in time. We relax, love the village and the staff who work at keeping the cottages in tip top condition. The Cottage manager is professional and nothing is too much trouble. I could not think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: For a larger family, use Emma Dent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

when we drive through the gates on the drive it really felt like visiting a film set. And the story continued when we waked through the door of lady jane gray cottage with cotswold stone and beams throughout this was just what we wanted. Comfortable and well equipped in a prefect location, will be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DanCThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Lovely old cottages that have been renovated with modern interiors. We stayed in the Queen Mary & found it to be super clean, with a well equipped kitchen, an electric fire, & a TV with the usual channels. It is a 5 minute walk into Winchcombe town centre (small though it is). We went in frosty January & even though it was icy outside, it was lovely & warm & cosy in the cottage. We had a lovely relaxing week just walking in the castle grounds & reading & cooking delicious meals. The members of staff we did see were very friendly & helpful, but we didn't really see anyone much- it was lovely & peaceful. Unfortunately the castle was shut to visitors at the time of year when we visited, therefore I couldn't give 5 stars, but I really don't have anything negative to say at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank beauty-on-the-fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
6.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
5.6 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
0.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 13 in Winchcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudeley Castle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudeley Castle Cottages

Property: Sudeley Castle Cottages
Address: Sudeley Castle, Winchcombe GL54 5JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudeley Castle Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sudeley Castle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudeley Castle Cottages Hotel Winchcombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing