We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sudeley Castle

Sudeley Castle
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Winchcombe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Romantic ruins, award-winning gardens and one thousand years of fascinating history are among the many reasons to visit Sudeley Castle, which nestles in the Cotswold Hills in the historic town of Winchcombe, Gloucestershire, 8 miles from Broadway. Sudeley is the only privately owned home in England to have a Queen (Katherine Parr, Henry VIII's sixth wife) buried within the grounds. With a new visitor route which includes Castle rooms - some never before opened to the public - a '20 Treasures of Sudeley Tour', plus a Cafe, play and picnic area, pheasantry and events throughout the season, there is something for everyone at this must-see Cotswolds attraction. Sudeley Castle is open seasonally from mid-March until the beginning of November.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent a good three hours here, beautiful gardens with lots of interest and fascinating look inside the castle. Cafe was a bit chaotic, took ages to get served as a couple of people had been overcharged or short changed and refunds were being done but price was reasonable and scones were good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie-Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Sudeley - thank you for the positive review. And apologies for the delay in the Café - we can get a bit busy at times and this was an unfortunate occurrence, but thank you for holding out in the queue - hopefully the scones made it all worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    354
    102
    44
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great place to go with kids - adventure playground was a hit and the castle itself is fabulous. Wonderful day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It's lovely to hear that you had a lovely day at Sudeley with the whole family. We have lots of family-friendly event days coming up over the summer so hope you are able to join us again for some more memorable days.

Thank you for taking the trouble to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Castle, History and site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We loved this attraction, both from the historical value (the only private burial place of an English King or Queen...in this case, King Henry VIII's sixth wife) but the beautiful gardens, chapel, furnishings (King Charles I's bed which is used by the current owners for guests) and attached ruins. Exquisite example of architecture and decorating. Don't miss this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentraveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A train to Swindon, change for Cheltenham, a bus into town and then a bus to Winchcome and a 3/4 mile walk to the castle. Worth it though. Absolutely stunning, privately owned by Lady Ashcome and her children. Briefly the home of Katherine Parr, 6th wife of Henry VIII, who married Thomas Seymour after Henry's death. Katherine died in childbirth, and is buried in the church at Sudeley. Stunning vistas, beautiful gardens and informed docents. The tour also includes several of the family's private rooms. Sudeley had been on my list of places to see for some years ... glad I finally made it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Well, you certainly went to great lengths to reach us and we are thrilled that it was worth the effort! Thank you for going the extra distance and taking the time to review us. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A must visit - fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoy visiting houses and castles and this is one of the best we have ever been to. The Castle itself, with all its history is just great and the gardens and grounds are really beautiful. The restaurant was also worth a visit. All in all an excellent day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian J, Guest Relations Manager at Sudeley Castle, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for this great review - that's exactly the experience we strive to give our visitors! We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sudeley Castle also viewed

 

Been to Sudeley Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing