We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blair House

Blair House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair House
Ranked #8 of 13 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Havant
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Found this B&B on the internet and as it was one of three I had asked to give me room rates they were very fast to respond. We stayed here from 01.10.12 to 03.10.12 in the en suite double located on the ground floor. Our hosts Ian and Sandra were very welcoming and the breakfasts were brilliant. Room very nice and super comfy double bed. Nice lounge to watch the box if you wanted. All in all a very acceptable B&B. Room rate was competative for the area. No complaints, would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treva55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    4
    8
    0
See reviews for
10
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed here as part of the Cotswold Round walk.

It had the latest check in time of all the B&Bs booked for the tour - which was unfortunate as I managed to get quite muddy that day! Also, given the late check in time - I should think the requirement to call 24 hours in advance to provide an arrival time was a bit redundant.

My initial impressions on arrival were not good - no-one answered the door and I had to phone to get someone to let me in. The guest rooms are dotted around the house - not in anyway separated from the family areas so you run into each other a bit on the landngs - it can be a bit awkward. There is only one guest bathroom for at least 3 rooms (up to 6 people?)

The next morning however was a different story. I met the lady of the house who is very chatty and sociable, couldn't do enough to help, wanted to know everything about you. They had grandkids visiting from France who were very entertaining (performing various skits & songs at breakfast). The kids kept letting the dogs in as well, which caused some chaos.

I can see why this B&B is not to a lot of people's taste - there is no wifi, no wash stand in the room, the bathroom situation is a bit awkward, the communal breakfast set up can be quite full on, there are cats & dogs (and kids when I was there) everywhere. But in the end I left with a light step and a smile on my face, feeling like I'd spent a morning with friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Kate

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Check in 5pm – too late”. We state an after 5pm check in time which we feel is not late as this is what other B&B’s do. We do however confirm at point of booking if you would like to arrive earlier then to call or email us to arrange. We are more than happy to oblige especially to welcome wearsome walkers !

“No one answered the door”. We do our very best to be in the house after 5pm but there are occasions we may have been in the garden or putting a car up the driveway and may have just missed the ring on the doorbell. We apologise for this.

“One bathroom for 6” This is not strictly true. In fact we make clear on our website that the large Twin and Single do share a bathroom but we have since clarified to all visitors on arrival that an additional bathroom can be used if vacant.

WIFI – we do have wifi and we have included the wifi log on details in each room so there is no need for guests to ask for it (as you have to do in hotels often at an additional cost!)

“Communal breakfast”. As you know we have a large dining room table where guests from all walks of life enjoy breakfast. We acknowledge this may not be to everyone’s liking and will ensure our website informs people in advance.

“Our grandchildren letting the dogs in” This was a simple innocent slip by our 4 year old grand daughter .

We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and our grand-sons rendition of Justin Bieber songs and hope you had a good rest of stay in the Cotswolds.

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our initial welcome was cool at best. As I now read in other reviews, we also felt like we were imposing on the hostess rather than being welcomed as a guest. I should have been forewarned as this was the only B&B that we stayed at in the Cotswolds that insisted on a cash deposit (check) to hold the room which we did send which is difficult to do from another continent. The room while nicely furnished was very small with minimal room to even put a suitcase let alone unpack. Overall an odd and unpleasant experience. I would recommend one seek alternative lodging if possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 188traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Cheque deposit from America”. It is customary however that some guests offer to send us a foreign cheque especially if they do not have online banking facilities. We have since reviewed our deposit process from guests abroad and will be reverting to an online BACS solution instead of requesting foreign cheques.

“Small bedroom & minimal space”. We have reviewed our accommodation and will be offering the room you stayed in for Single occupancy. We feel that there is enough space for one person.

We do apologise that your stay with us was not satisfactory but please rest assured we have taken action in response to your feedback. We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Cotswolds !

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We loved Winchcombe but were overall disappointed with the B&B. Our room was comfortable enough but the communal breakfast arrangement was a bit full on for early morning. If you enjoy socializing at that time of day this place is for you! Also the breakfast itself was average. Having said that Blair House is in a great convenient position in the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Communal breakfast”. As you know we have a large dining room table where guests from all walks of life enjoy breakfast. We acknowledge this may not be to everyone’s liking and will ensure our website informs people in advance.

“Average breakfast” As you will recall we offer Tea/coffee/juice, cereal, fruit and the choice of either a Full English (sausage, egg, fried bread, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms) or a scrambled egg with bacon, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms . We also cater for any alternative a guest would like (eg boiled egg, poached egg) . We apologise if breakfast was not to you liking. We will be updating our website to inform all guests that this is what we offer – so we manage expectations.

We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Cotswolds.

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The smell of animals hit me as soon as I entered the house. Three cats and two dogs to be precise. Our tiny guest lounge was not clean - the settees were covered in cat hair and when we came back in at 10 pm, a large cat litter tray had been put in there with a dish of cat food and water, so the room clearly doubled up as the cats' room. I couldn't bear to go in there again, so we had to either stay in our small room or else go out in the rain. In fact the cats had the full run of the house, coming into our bedroom, sitting on the dining chairs at the table that we were to be served breakfast on, and two large dogs lived in the kitchen where food was prepared.

The view from the bathroom window was of a pretty back garden that was ruined by the unmistakable sight of several large piles of dog mess that hadn't even been cleared up. We had to sleep with our windows wide open because of the animal smells, and on our second night we were moved to a larger room which was much nicer and had a sink, but unfortunately smelled of sour milk or mould... again we had both windows wide open throughout the night.

Using the shared bathroom was not easy - after two or three attempts I succeeded in finding it vacant, but then I couldn't relax at all because I was aware that others might be waiting to come in. And having to navigate the stairs and corridor in the middle of the night whenever I needed the loo was not a joke! Breakfast was nice, as long as I didn't think about all the animals in the kitchen, and the land lady was chatty and friendly.

This experience unfortunately spoilt for me what was meant to have been a special weekend with my brother who had come all the way from the States on a visit. My advice - don't go here unless you're okay with all the pets.

Room Tip: Only one ensuite room available, so make sure you ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruhi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Ruhi

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Animals” As you correctly point out we do have some domestic animals. While the majority of our guests enjoy seeing them we acknowledge this is not to everyone’s liking and we have updated our website to advise accordingly before guests book. The weekend you stayed with us unfortunately we were nursing an unexpectedly ill cat which is why we used the room you mention as a one off occurrence. We should have advised the room in question was out of action and offered you an alternative sitting room – we apologise for this.
In terms of “animal smells” we make every effort to ensure our B&B is clean and free from “animal smells”. We haven’t received any comments like this before but we welcome your feedback and will ensure we focus on this.

“sour milk and mould” This was due to a guest inadvertently leaving a tap on in your room the day before which overflowed on to the carpet and on to the floorboards. We did our best to remedy the situation by applying cleaning materials and even hairdrying the carpet ! Unfortunately we did not have any other rooms to offer you instead. We apologise for any inconvenience caused relating to this one off occurrence.

“Bathrooms” We have made provision to offer another bathroom if vacant. With respect to the 3 stairs to get to the bathrooms there is little we can do about this as this is how Georgina homes were designed. We will however take your feedback and ensure the website informs visitors that the bathroom is located 3 steps along the corridor.

I hope you enjoyed your weekend in the Cotswolds in spite of this. We recall we had goods chats at the breakfast table and your brother enjoyed being interviewed at our local radio station !

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was day 3 of our walk and Blair house was below the standard of our other stays as we had to share a bathroom with goodness knows how many other people. Breakfast was the same as everywhere else. We couldn't use the guest lounge as the house was full of family members. All in all a very strange experience as we felt we were imposing!!!!

Room Tip: find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

On your specific points:

“Breakfast same as everywhere else” As you will recall we offer Tea/coffee/juice, cereal, fruit and the choice of either a Full English (sausage, egg, fried bread, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms) or a scrambled egg with bacon, cherry tomatoes and mushrooms . We also cater for any alternative a guest would like (eg boiled egg, poached egg) . We will be updating our website to inform all guests that this is what we offer – so we manage expectations.
We apologise if your breakfast was in any way “average”.

“Bathrooms” We have acted on feedback and made provision to offer another bathroom if vacant

We hope you had an enjoyable stay in the Cotswolds.

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our stay at Blair House was OK, but only ok. For the same money we much better standards along our walk - we did the Cotswolds Way, July 1011.They advertise 3 occupied rooms- I en suite ground floor & 1 twin and 1 double on first floor, which share a bathroom. When we were there our friends had an 'extra' double on the first floor - complete with personal belongings/id docs in drawers, which made us think that it was someone's bedroom, and not a truly letting room?? There was also a young french man who occupied a sort of attic garrett -disapprearing thru a curtain opposite the bathroom. I calculated this meant that there were actually 7 people sharing the one bathroom/toilet combi!! There were no 'top quality' toiletries - they were all old stuff from hotels/samples................... Waiting, I'm afraid, was the order of the day. The lady of the house wasn't at all keen about me taking a bath, prefering us to take an electric shower - which was pretty pathetic, as electric showers tend to be.
Due to the fact that there wouldn't normally be so many 'guests' breakfast was a 'timed ticket' type affair.Other guests were literally waiting at the door of the dining room for us to leave. Nothing relaxing about breakfast time, then! The speciality of scrambled eggs and tomatoes was nice enough, but there were only 2 cherry toms per plate......... not exactly generous.
Dogs and cats are ok if you don't mind them, but what if you do? The dogs were quite smelly, as longhaired varieties tend to be. My friend is alergic, and wouldn't have stayed if she'd known there were dogs at large. Mrs Blair was knowledgable about the area. She clearly wasn't to be crossed though. We walked the Cotswold Way during a week. This was the most disappointing place we stayed at. Fussy, stuffed full of stuff, and overcrowded - especially as there was only one toilet between what turned out to be 7 guests. Not at all what we led to believe by the website, and not as comfortable in terms of toilets and bathrooms as most normal homes, but no reduction in price to reflect the apparent overcrowding

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Blair House, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback – it is important to us so we can improve and ensure our guests have a pleasurable experience – which many do as our visitors book affirms.

We realise you stayed with us a year ago but we would like to advise you about improvements we have made.

“Advertised rooms” – on the first floor we advertise 1 Twin and 1 Single with a shared bathroom. We have also made another bathroom available guests can also use if vacant.

“Top quality Toiletries” We replenish our bathroom with toiletries from “Out of Eden”

“Bath or Shower” Our visitors have use of the bath or shower but we did explain more about the power shower ensuring our guests know how to operate it. When showing guests the bathroom we make reference to the bath and the shower

“2 tomatoes on the plate” We have increased the number of cherry tomatoes

“Domestic animals” As you correctly point out we do have some domestic animals. While the majority of our guests enjoy seeing them we acknowledge this is not to everyone’s liking and we have updated our website to advise accordingly before guests book

I would like to point out that we have recently re-decorated a number of rooms – as we do every year.

Many thanks again for your feedback – please rest assured we have acted on it.

Kind regards

Blair House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
10.9 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 13 in Winchcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wesley House
Wesley House
#2 of 13 in Winchcombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winchcombe Rooms To Stay
Winchcombe Rooms To Stay
#9 of 13 in Winchcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House

Property: Blair House
Address: Gretton Road, Winchcombe GL54 5EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing