We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wesley House
Nearby Hotels
The Rising Sun Hotel(Cleeve Hill)(Great Value!)
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellenborough Park(Cheltenham)
US$871
US$800
Chic Retreats
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 38 The Park(Cheltenham)
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham(Cheltenham)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$133
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
US$467
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
60
40
12
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
40
12
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant with roomsold buildingsuperb breakfastfire escapepoached eggstiny bathroomchristmas decorationstwo single bedsbirthday treatsmall townbreakfast servicebed was very comfortablesudeley castlean overnight staystayed one nightcouldn't faultgreat atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

we got the room with the fire escape in it , view from the window was of the bins and the kitchens of the next door pub . The bed and furnishings and the cleanliness were of a high standard . Had the room been better , then this hotel would have been rated 5 , since the food is , in a word , SUPERB .
The staff are excellent as well , taking the opportunity to make our stay enjoyable . We would stay here again , but only in one of the better rooms , even though we got it cheaper and had a discount to cover our disappointment .

Room Tip: Do not have the room with the fire escape ( the Setchley room )
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tomsagenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our room was at the front near the pub next door so was noisy on a Saturday night. Our dinner here was superb--really top-notch food. Breakfast was ample and tasty. We were here while hiking the Cotswolds Way. We ate in the restaurant even though our garb, though clean, was not the most stylish...no one cared and we certainly liked the food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We walked the Cotswolds this past week and were placed in Wesley House as 1 of our B&B's. Lovely historic Hotel and restaurant. We had dinner reservations but cancelled them as we felt we did not have the proper dress even once showered and out of walking clothes. Our only disappointment was that breakfast was only offered at 9 am and we needed to be back on the walk earlier. Matt offered us 0845 but that still wouldn't work for us as we had a 14 mile day ahead of us. we chose to go to an early opening bakery in town where the shopkeeper was super nice to us explaining all food items.
Our bedroom was just over the open window of the nextdoor restaurant's kitchen so it was loud until late,not good when exhausted.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one and if taller than 67", one with ceilings that can accommodate you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoffer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J, Manager at Wesley House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and visiting Wesley House, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your walking. I'm sorry you missed breakfast but I think you were offered you breakfast between 8 and 8.30am. Apologies for the miss understanding. I do wish you had said why you were cancelling your dinner reservation as neither the Restaurant or the less formal Bar and Grill has a dress code apart (apart from no nudity!!), I'm sure we could have made you feel comfortable in either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked to have dinner with a friend to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant is very tastefully decorated and has a lovely feel. The meal was slightly more expensive than we would normally pay but well worth it. There was an amuse bouche to start and fabulous bread to accompany our food. Both our starters were beautifully presented and tasty. My friend had the sea bream for main and I had the monk fish – both had very interesting flavours. We shared a dessert and had a good cafeteria of coffee. Would definitely go again – maybe for lunch next time.
Although I would recommend going, there were a couple of negatives that need addressing. The restaurant was not busy, but there was nobody to greet us when we arrived – it was raining so an owner or waiter to greet us and take our wet umbrella and coats would have made us feel more welcome – we waited quite some time which was not good as we arrived at the time we had booked for. Again there wasn’t anybody around when we had paid our bill and were leaving – we had to find our own coats. The evening was not inexpensive so I honestly feel that investment in extra staff would be beneficial to the overall dining experience.
I believe that food is not the only thing that makes a good dining experience so the other negative comment I would make is that we were not offered the option of taking coffee in the bar area. This would have rounded the evening off nicely if we could have moved through to a more relaxed area. We noticed that this was what other diners were doing when we left
I have given a rating of 5 but with a couple of reservations

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lorelei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had an overnight stay whilst walking the Cotswold way and loved the quaint historic rooms. The staff were most helpful and as the restaurant was closed on the night we stayed, the owner, Matt kindly ran our group out to a lovely country restaurant and back again after the meal. The breakfast next day was to die for and saw us through the day's hike to Bourton.

Room Tip: All superb - very little traffic noise despite being on main street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews