We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bombay Bugatti - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Bugatti
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Live 5 miles away and decided last minute on Saturday night to go out for a meal. Came across this restuarant and thought my wife and I would give it try. Glad we did as the food was very good and very fresh. You guys need to advertise your business more and spread the word. Very few people I have spoken to are actually aware that you are there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rather silly business model.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

From what I understand the BB has changed hands recently, and they have a white man counting the pennies, a nice woman doing the front of house, and someone dressed up as an Indian.

What was most offputting was the TV in the bar area, and the owner or current renter, counting the bill stack whilst the staff were serving. About as much manners as the football on the telly.

We both had bad stomachs after the visit, so despite the one good employee doing her best, it will be a no-no for us in future an we live locally.

Not helped by some old guite coming in to see if his half wit daugher could get a job there on word of mouth either.... oh hear. Oh plese show up tomorrow and we'll train her... doesn't bode well does it?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Having eaten at The Bombay Bugatti previously as a couple we thought it would be a good choice to take the boys as they are back from university.
So we booked a table for five last Tuesday as we knew this was the buffet night and the boys do have healthy appetites.
The greeting on arrival was ok but certainly not welcoming and things did not improve from there.
I enquired if they had many bookings for the evening and was told just ourselves and one other table of three.
Not really surprising when we saw the standard (and appalling ) choice of dishes that were available.
The service was poor ( the sole concern of the waiter was to try to get us to buy as many drinks as possible)
We were given no information about the choice of starters available on the buffet, no offer made of more accompaniments, the raitha was poor and the mango chutney just purée!
Another table had eaten from the buffet so it was quite depleted and regardless of this No attention was given to replenishing the buffet despite they were aware that the five of us were to eat.
We had to ask for more naan bread as there was only one piece left, which eventually arrived with no offer of bringing it to the table, it was dumped straight into the buffet dish.
Sorry, not good enough!
Won't be coming back, you just don't deserve the business!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just had a great meal at the Bombay Bugatti. Have not eaten there for many months and had heard it had recently changed hands. The food was delicious - empty plates all round. The staff were so friendly and made us very welcome, including the children. If you had eaten food from here before but were never impressed I would urge you to give it another go as this was probably one of the best curries I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Riley5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went for the Tuesday Night buffet at the Bombay Bugatti, the staff were very friendly and attentive, we had the buffet which we thought was very good, this premises has recently changed hands, we would advise people to give it a try as we will certainly use this restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 10221125MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Bugatti also viewed

Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Winchcombe, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing