We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but Patchy in quality”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable but Patchy in quality”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely room overlooking the high street with a very comfy bed. Everything was clean and in good working order. However the housekeeping service was less than thorough. Bed was made and tea things replenished but the bathroom was only tidied and cleaned on one of the three nights of my stay. I had a meal on the first evening with friends who were on the same course as Lanky Lass but the salad of rabbit I ordered was inedible as the rabbit was so dry and tough that I could not swallow it without some fluid in my mouth at the same time. I complained about this to the waiter who said he would let the chef know. If he did so then the chef ignored him or did not think it necessary to come and say anything or offer reparation. The leaf part of the salad seemed to be 99% rocket with 3 waifer thin slithers of under ripe plum and a sprinkling of slivered almonds. The dressing was pretty tasteless and oily. The experience was so unpleasant that 4 of us decided we would not eat an evening meal there again. We ate elsewhere and had lovely food. Some of the other ladies in the group who had had burgers enjoyed their meal and wanted to eat there again but that did not include those of us who had had salads.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MackerelSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The White Hart. I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    152
    67
    35
    22
See reviews for
49
237
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Not so my evening meal in the Wine and Sausage which is their restaurant.
Recently stayed here as part of a group of women on a course. Some rooms had obviously been redecorated, some not.
General feeling was that WiFi worked at times although in some rooms not at all. Biscuits, tea/coffee and water (still and sparking) each day was a nice touch. Some ladies complained that they did not have their rooms cleaned, just refurbished with drinks etc.
Main grumble was the car parking facilities. So few places, such a tight layout (and no comments about female drivers please, it was a guy who was stuck in the far corner), and nearly always full despite notice saying 'residents only after 6 pm'. We did observe staff used the car park which maybe was the reason residents could not park!
Huge beds, depends on room as to whether you get a soft or a hard mattress. I had a bath an a shower but I think some only had one or the other but I won' swear to that.
Would I stay again? Not if I can find somewhere else with a car park.

Room Tip: Room 8 has WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The White Hart. I was glad to hear you enjoyed our famous breakfasts. Could I ask you what was wrong with the evening meal, as you didn't give me enough feedback to pass on to my staff?
The WiFi has been playing-up recently, but seems to have sorted itself now.
With regards to the car parking, I know spaces are very limited (we have 11 rooms but only 7 parking spaces) but we are the ONLY hotel in Winchcombe that is able to offer this facility. We were full for the weekend that you stayed - this might explain the difficulties in parking. I do hope this doesn't put you off returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night after a long days walk. Friendly reception and bar staff. Nice room which is still in need of fresh curtains to complete the deal. Great bath and shower with plenty of hot water to soak away the rigours of the day.
Food was exceptional as were the wines on offer. Could see that some rooms were still undergoing refurbishment, the finished article will surely be worth a return visit.
Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank peejay3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of The White Hart. The hotel has been going through a refurbishment program for the last 12 months and, as you quite rightly pointed out, we still have bedrooms to complete. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will have finished the work in time for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My sister & I spent one night here while on a Coswolds walk. While the downstairs area around reception is rather shabby, a walk up the rickety stairs leads to surprisingly pleasant accommodation. Renovation is clearly underway and room no 3 has been very nicely done. Room number 6 is still waiting its turn but was comfortable enough, was quiet and got good light. The place was very clean. As is almost always the case here in England, the shower was an odd little beast but performed well enough once the right buttons had been pressed and knobs turned. The attached restaurant serves an excellent dinner but the coffee was undrinkable and both the apple and the orange juices at breakfast were 'off'. White Hart has a genuine old feel to it which I found quite charming and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to other weary walkers.

Room Tip: Room No 3 is spacious and has been nicely renovate but is a bit noisy being on the main road. Room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. I’m delighted that you liked your room. We are in the process of increasing pressure to the showers, which will correct the issue you mention. I was surprised to read that you didn't enjoy our coffee or fruit juices, as these normally receive favourable reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent place to stay and eat. Wine shop worth a visit and the sausages outstanding!! Stayed one night and it should have been two. Young staff helpful and full of energy, room quirky and super clean. (Loved the soft closed loo seat!) Nice to find a place where the window was open and room airing when we arrived. Winchcombe is a prosperous and interesting spot, somewhere to return to. Great shops and lots of other eateries.

Room Tip: Be prepared for steep staircase and small car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcountrypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. My staff and I are always delighted when guests acknowledge that they’re had a great stay. It really does give us an awful lot of pleasure to know that we’ve achieved our goals in making it such a lovely experience for you. I do very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If the owners were aiming for a shabby-chic look, they only succeeded with the shabby. A shame as this is an otherwise nice place to stay in a charming Cotswold village. Our room (room 3) was a reasonable size, but really needed redecorating and the carpet and curtains replacing.

We had to leave the en-suite bathroom door open as it become a little smelly if shut up - perhaps that's a consequence of retro-fitting a modern bathroom into an old building. Also a lot of street noise at night - but guess that's to be expected as the Inn is right on the high street. Comfortable bed though.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good and there's car parking too. If they spend some money on sprucing the place up and replacing the peeling plaster and grubby carpets, this place would be a winner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SequoiaWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel has been going through a refurbishment program for the last 12 months, we still have bedrooms to complete, these will be completed in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here whilst walking the Cotswold way! After a long day walking we arrived and enjoyed a pint in the bar before checking in. All the staff were very helpful and the room was very comfortable. The place could do with a bit of TLC as there were a few patches of water damage, however this did not detract from our pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read so many aspects of your stay were enjoyable. The hotel has been going through a refurbishment program for the last 12 months, we still have bedrooms to complete, these will be completed in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
2.9 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
10.3 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wesley House
Wesley House
#2 of 12 in Winchcombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: High St, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Hart Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat, drink and flop in historic Winchcombe. To some it's a pub, others a hotel. Situated at the heart of the village of Winchcombe near Cheltenham, this ‘restaurant with rooms’ (there are 11) offers the very best of British food and an excellent wine list. Visit the wine shop and try the famous sausages in the Wine & Sausage eating rooms. A perfect place to visit or stay if you love walking or visiting Cheltenham races. Each of the 8 en-suite rooms are individually styled and some have feature beds. In the Wine & Sausage eating rooms located on the inns ground floor they are passionate about real food, the great and simple British dishes that we grew up with. Ingredients are carefully sourced and wherever possible use local and regional farmers, growers, fishermen, producers, brewers and even winemakers. Just a few metres away from the inn you will find the scenic Cotswold Way and Gloucestershire Way footpaths. The Inn is also very popular with cyclists and can help with routes around the area, especially via one or two other 'watering holes'. There's even a hosepipe for washing down muddy bikes. Winchcombe is an idyllic base for touring the Cotswolds and the White Hart is the perfect bolt hole close to the famous sporting and cultural festival town of Cheltenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Winchcombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing