We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely cosy cottage close to town”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Blacksmiths Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blacksmiths Cottage
Blacksmiths Lounge Blacksmiths Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
11 reviews
Blacksmiths Cottage
Blacksmiths Lounge
Blacksmiths Lounge
dining room
kitchen
Double bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
en suite top floor bedroom
top floor bedroom
en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harry718
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cosy cottage close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a Great central location The cottage is very clean and well equipped with lots of cooking utensils . There is a cupboard with plenty of books and games for rainy days. The wners was very helpful when booking and helped recommend places to eat and where to buy food. There is no garden but a small patio and BBQ with seats for 6 people. There is also a car parking space with this property which is a bonus in Winchcombe. We also found having two bathrooms very useful.
I can strongly recommend the White lion just around the corner to eat some lovely food with a great atmosphere
We will definitely be back to Winchcombe again .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased you loved The White Lion. We love it too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Leicester
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Feb 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I don't believe we have mislead anybody regarding the size of our 'Cosy Cottage' .The photographs are representative of its size and authorised by the tourist board suitable for 6 people.

There are coat hooks in the under stairs cupboard and a tumble dryer within the washing machine for your usage.

We are sorry that the batteries had not been replaced in the remote and the lamp not working.
Perhaps in future as seasoned cottage renters it may be an idea to raise these issues as soon as you are aware. We are more than happy to change batteries and bulbs.

We can't do any thing if we don't know!!!!

We don't provide a non slip bath mat as we feel they are unhygienic.
We do not have a winter and summer price list as this is an all year round holiday destination.

Thank you for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbie200...
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Although the location was good the cottage itself was not. Broken dishwasher, broken cabinet, broken cd player, not enough kitchen utensils or cooking equipment….
Also be advised that check in time was not until 16:00 and check out time was at 10:00 – by far too late to check in & too early to check out. We had somebody knocking on our door at 9:59 on Bank Holiday, New Year’s day even though there was no booking after us for weeks. They charged us £75 out of our deposit for this.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for comments.
I must state that all you negative comments about this property were ONLY mentioned AFTER departure. ( Which was 3 hours late) You could have called us at any time if you had a problem. My home number and mobile number is on every piece of literature in the property.

I have enclosed a copy of the email thread you received regarding the above property.
You knew to depart at 10 am and also that a late departure fee would be charged.

The dishwasher door had slipped from its position but you were still able to use it. Our cleaner assures us she had not left it like that before your arrival.

The stereo does work and I have a video clip if you would like to view it in operation. You hadn't put the plug in . There are three plugs hence the extension lead.

The cabinet door: Its an antique and although old and rickety in character of the building again not broken.

The kitchen utensils. There are plenty of kitchen utensils and equipment. We abide by the list recommended by The Tourist Board if you would like a list I can provide this.

From: Sarah Halewood >
Date: 2 January 2014 19:00:08 GMT
To: REVIEWER
Subject: Re: Cottage rental

Dear REVIEWER
Cleaning is allocated to the cleaning company on the DATE A BOOKING IS TAKEN this ensures we are booked in to their diary.
Many bookings are taken last minute.
This system ensures the property is always available.
We are not their only client they have others in the area.
The cleaning company also has a responsibility to ensure the property is left safe and secure.
Regards
Sarah

From:REVIEWER
Date: 2 January 2014 12:13:30 GMT
To:
Subject: RE: Cottage rental

Why does your cleaning company need to clean at 10:00 on a bank holiday when there is no other booking that day or the next few days.

Subject: Re: Cottage rental

Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 20:41:32 +0000
To: xxxxxxxx

Dear xxxxxxx
Our cleaning company charge us a late departure fee.
If you scroll down we advise that late departure will be £75.
I shall re credit your account for £25.
Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 1 Jan 2014, at 20:20, REVIEWER> wrote:

Hi

Yes, we did not leave at 10:00, we left at 13:00 having agreed it with a lady who came by at 10:00 to check. I understand that you did not have any other booking for today and so no inconvenience was caused by this

regards

Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From: xxxxxxxx
Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 19:11:22 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Dear REVIEWER
I believe from our cleaner that you didn't leave at 10 am as requested.
Can you confirm this please.
Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 1 Jan 2014, at 18:32, REVIEWER> wrote:

Hello, I hope you found everything in order at the cottage. We washed up before our departure & put the bins out as requested. Please note the cabinet door to the dishwasher was already broken (off its hinges/fixtures) when we arrived. The door to the cabinet in the lounge area was also dislodged from its hinges and the stereo did not work. Let me know what the process is for the return of the deposit.

Many thanks

Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From:
Date: Sun, 22 Dec 2013 08:59:15 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Hi REVIEWER
We do provide towels but unfortunately check in time is 4pm as we wouldn't have time to clean it between visits. If you've a moment please let me know where you saw this so I can change it. We've had the property 10 years and have always had the same policy.
The property is easy to find on Back Lane it's the end nearest North street.

Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 21 Dec 2013, at 21:31, REVIEWER> wrote:

Thank you for your email. I had read that towels were provided and that check in & check out was 12:00. Please confirm. Also, are there any specific directions to the cottage or is it fairly easy to find

Kind regards



Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From:
Date: Sat, 21 Dec 2013 18:16:23 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Please can you confirm you have received this email.
Check in after 4pm depart before 10am


The full address is
Blacksmiths Cottage
xxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx

When you arrive as you look at the front door there xxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxis a key safe. The number is xxxxxx

On departure please could you check

All windows and doors are closed and locked.
The heating is turned off and all bins have been emptied in to the wheely
bins outside.

Please note all breakages must be paid for. Late departure is charged at £75.
The key is returned to the key safe.


Thank you again for your booking if you have any problems give me a call
07850 21 31 21.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walker120...
hampshire UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The photos of this cottage do not do it justice. It was immaculate and very welcoming with small touches to make our stay all the more comfortable. The cottage is within walking distance to the village with shops and pubs. Will definitely re-book Blacksmiths for next year.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Brighton, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing