We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winchcombe wedding week”
other travellers have booked this property
Blacksmiths Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blacksmiths Cottage
Blacksmiths Lounge Blacksmiths Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Blacksmiths Cottage
Blacksmiths Lounge
Blacksmiths Lounge
dining room
kitchen
Double bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
en suite top floor bedroom
top floor bedroom
en suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ttne2015
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Winchcombe wedding week”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked a week over the bank holiday to be on the spot for our son's wedding at Sudeley Castle - Sarah was very obliging to accommodate our dates.
Our extended family group enjoyed a home away from home at Blacksmiths Cottage - comfortable, all mod cons, convenient, friendly neighbours, handy shops
We loved Winchcombe, and the sun shine for the wedding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cooker - electric oven without a fan, electric rings which didn't work with frying pans and sharp corners on the cooker hood ...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad the wedding went well and you had a lovely time.
Regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for a Family Trip”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We rented this cottage over new year 2014 for four adults and two young children. The cottage was perfect for our stay and there was plenty of room for us all.
Upon arrival on a cold day the cottage was warm and welcoming, Sarah had kindly set the central heating for us and we were cosy throughout the stay. There was also milk in the fridge and a bowl of sweeties on the table! There was also a Christmas tree up which was fantastic for us as we were able to put our nieces present's out before they arrived.
All the beds were very comfy and having the two bathrooms was very handy. There is plenty of parking at the front of the cottage as well as the space round the back which was great.
Winchcombe itself is a beautiful village with loads of great amenities. There are food stores including Co-Op within 5 mins walk of the cottage plus a good choice of pubs. We also had a really nice Chinese from a takeaway in the village after finding a menu amongst the information in the cottage.
Overall I highly rate this property. The owner Sarah was very helpful with all our queries and we hope to stay again sometime.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. I am so pleased you had a lovely stay. Happy New Year. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillAndor...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We, (five adults), stayed in this cottage for 3 nights over Easter having booked directly with the owner Sarah, who was very helpful and friendly on the phone. The cottage is in a great location in the village centre and there is a small, well stocked, reasonably priced, Coop supermarket, plus butcher and baker amongst other shops, cafes, pubs etc just a 5 minute walk away. We came prepared with lots of food basics but the owner kindly had already provided some of these in the cottage - tea, coffee, milk, sugar, salt etc. Even a couple of dishwasher tablets and soap etc in bathroom were thoughtfully provided so one didn't have to dash out to get these things.
We found the cottage to be cosy, warm, well equipped with plenty of crockery etc and tastefully furnished. It's not enormous but we thought it was plenty big enough for 5 adults (there are 3 armchairs and a large sofa in the living room) and great to have a separate dining room off the kitchenette and the little patio area outside with a barbecue (we cheated and used an instant BBQ pack from the Coop for our sausages from the village butchers' - delish!).
The entrance is at the back of the house from the private car park (with allocated space) whilst the front faces the lane. The twin bedded room and the top ensuite double face the lane, whereas the double on the first floor faces the back. The lane doesn't have much traffic, as it's just a minor road, so is very quiet and everyone slept well in all three bedrooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We buy all our sausages from the butcher too they are delicious. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Feb 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I don't believe we have mislead anybody regarding the size of our 'Cosy Cottage' .The photographs are representative of its size and authorised by the tourist board suitable for 6 people.

There are coat hooks in the under stairs cupboard and a tumble dryer within the washing machine for your usage.

We are sorry that the batteries had not been replaced in the remote and the lamp not working.
Perhaps in future as seasoned cottage renters it may be an idea to raise these issues as soon as you are aware. We are more than happy to change batteries and bulbs.

We can't do any thing if we don't know!!!!

We don't provide a non slip bath mat as we feel they are unhygienic.
We do not have a winter and summer price list as this is an all year round holiday destination.

Thank you for your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbie200...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Although the location was good the cottage itself was not. Broken dishwasher, broken cabinet, broken cd player, not enough kitchen utensils or cooking equipment….
Also be advised that check in time was not until 16:00 and check out time was at 10:00 – by far too late to check in & too early to check out. We had somebody knocking on our door at 9:59 on Bank Holiday, New Year’s day even though there was no booking after us for weeks. They charged us £75 out of our deposit for this.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for comments.
I must state that all you negative comments about this property were ONLY mentioned AFTER departure. ( Which was 3 hours late) You could have called us at any time if you had a problem. My home number and mobile number is on every piece of literature in the property.

I have enclosed a copy of the email thread you received regarding the above property.
You knew to depart at 10 am and also that a late departure fee would be charged.

The dishwasher door had slipped from its position but you were still able to use it. Our cleaner assures us she had not left it like that before your arrival.

The stereo does work and I have a video clip if you would like to view it in operation. You hadn't put the plug in . There are three plugs hence the extension lead.

The cabinet door: Its an antique and although old and rickety in character of the building again not broken.

The kitchen utensils. There are plenty of kitchen utensils and equipment. We abide by the list recommended by The Tourist Board if you would like a list I can provide this.

From: Sarah Halewood >
Date: 2 January 2014 19:00:08 GMT
To: REVIEWER
Subject: Re: Cottage rental

Dear REVIEWER
Cleaning is allocated to the cleaning company on the DATE A BOOKING IS TAKEN this ensures we are booked in to their diary.
Many bookings are taken last minute.
This system ensures the property is always available.
We are not their only client they have others in the area.
The cleaning company also has a responsibility to ensure the property is left safe and secure.
Regards
Sarah

From:REVIEWER
Date: 2 January 2014 12:13:30 GMT
To:
Subject: RE: Cottage rental

Why does your cleaning company need to clean at 10:00 on a bank holiday when there is no other booking that day or the next few days.

Subject: Re: Cottage rental

Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 20:41:32 +0000
To: xxxxxxxx

Dear xxxxxxx
Our cleaning company charge us a late departure fee.
If you scroll down we advise that late departure will be £75.
I shall re credit your account for £25.
Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 1 Jan 2014, at 20:20, REVIEWER> wrote:

Hi

Yes, we did not leave at 10:00, we left at 13:00 having agreed it with a lady who came by at 10:00 to check. I understand that you did not have any other booking for today and so no inconvenience was caused by this

regards

Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From: xxxxxxxx
Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 19:11:22 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Dear REVIEWER
I believe from our cleaner that you didn't leave at 10 am as requested.
Can you confirm this please.
Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 1 Jan 2014, at 18:32, REVIEWER> wrote:

Hello, I hope you found everything in order at the cottage. We washed up before our departure & put the bins out as requested. Please note the cabinet door to the dishwasher was already broken (off its hinges/fixtures) when we arrived. The door to the cabinet in the lounge area was also dislodged from its hinges and the stereo did not work. Let me know what the process is for the return of the deposit.

Many thanks

Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From:
Date: Sun, 22 Dec 2013 08:59:15 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Hi REVIEWER
We do provide towels but unfortunately check in time is 4pm as we wouldn't have time to clean it between visits. If you've a moment please let me know where you saw this so I can change it. We've had the property 10 years and have always had the same policy.
The property is easy to find on Back Lane it's the end nearest North street.

Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 21 Dec 2013, at 21:31, REVIEWER> wrote:

Thank you for your email. I had read that towels were provided and that check in & check out was 12:00. Please confirm. Also, are there any specific directions to the cottage or is it fairly easy to find

Kind regards



Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From:
Date: Sat, 21 Dec 2013 18:16:23 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Please can you confirm you have received this email.
Check in after 4pm depart before 10am


The full address is
Blacksmiths Cottage
xxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx

When you arrive as you look at the front door there xxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxis a key safe. The number is xxxxxx

On departure please could you check

All windows and doors are closed and locked.
The heating is turned off and all bins have been emptied in to the wheely
bins outside.

Please note all breakages must be paid for. Late departure is charged at £75.
The key is returned to the key safe.


Thank you again for your booking if you have any problems give me a call
07850 21 31 21.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walker120...
hampshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and cosy”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The photos of this cottage do not do it justice. It was immaculate and very welcoming with small touches to make our stay all the more comfortable. The cottage is within walking distance to the village with shops and pubs. Will definitely re-book Blacksmiths for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing