We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfy base for walking weekend...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
The Cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Hare carved by Simon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne W
2 reviews
“comfy base for walking weekend...”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

ideal location in centre of winchcombe with parking available in the road....warm and welcoming with everything you need ' home from home' including plenty of towels and tea/coffee and milk a cake and a bottle of wine - fresh flowers on the table was a nice touch.... Could have done with a side table to put my cup on... two double bedrooms but no wardrobe but I used the end of the bed to hang my clothes..we were taking part in the walking festival but managed to fit in some of the pretty villages as well including Broadway and Bourton on the water...bathroom is downstairs but it wasn't a problem for us and no garden space but we knew that already and we were out all day anyway but it's a good excuse to sit in a beer garden...spotlessly clean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and parking in the street
Liked least: needed a side table by the sofa to put my coffee cup on...
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mj G
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Amazing Location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This cottage really gives you a feel of being in England (the chimes from the church and the clip clip of the horses going by) incombination with the modern conveniences sad to say we would miss. The location is perfect and there are many things to do in the village itself. St. Peter's is worth a walk through and a hike to Belis Knap is a must for the stunning views of Winchcombe, Sudeley Castle, and beyond. It is a steep hike but don't give up! It is totally worth it (from the out of shape 50+ y.o. Who made many stops to catch her breath). The restaurants in town have good meals and the coop has a decent selection. Close to many attractions. We had a teenager in tow and he enjoyed the trip.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jax122016
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little Cottage”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed for 2 nights and found everything just perfect. The little touches like the amazing lemon cake and the bottle wine and flowers were so touching. The cottage is beautifully clean and well equipped for a short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and prettiness of the cottage
Liked least: The sleigh bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie M
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy home away from home”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

WE have just returned from a relaxing 3 night short break over the new year celebrations. The Cottage is a beautiful little property, small but perfectly formed for a very cosy breakaway. It's equipped to a very high standard and there was tea, coffee and sugar provided as well as a lovely cake and bottle of wine. Very much appreciated.
Winchcombe itself is a lovely Cotswold town with all the amenities you are likely to need and an ideal base for exploring the area. The only disappointment we had during our trip was The White Hart pub, having read so much about the famous 'Wine and Sausage' pub we were surprised to find that sausages were off the menu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littler f...
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned form a short break at The Cottage. It was a great stay the cottage is at the doorstep of some great walking down the road towards the castle. The cottage itself is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Some lovely touches with tea, coffee and milk and an enormous cake. In the words of the great Arnie we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iancrooke...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“All about location.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the outside, you get the feeling of the way of life of the locals would have had years ago, but once inside this well laid out with all mod cons and superbly decorated cottage, still has the feel of yesteryear and comfort of today, with a welcome touch to make any guest feel at home.
The location is just about as good as the cottage itself, with easy access to amenities, local inns, restaurants and other stunning picture book villages.
A pleasure to have stayed there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, well appointed & great location
Liked least: Bed room storage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgieGi...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in beautiful Cotswold village”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just enjoyed a 4 day break in this beautifully furnished and extremely well equipped cottage.
When we arrived we were spoilt with a bottle of white wine and cake, fresh flowers, milk in the fridge and tea/coffee/sugar to last the duration of our break.
I praise the owner for there attention to detail from the choice of furnishings & decor down to the immaculate finish and little touches like M&S hand soap, dishwasher tablets, fairy liquid. There was literally everything that you could possibly want & need and everything was of top quality. The place was spotlessly clean.
We also struck gold with the location. Literally walk out the door and you're 5 metres from the village main street and free parking spaces right outside the cottage. Even though you are near the village centre it's not noisy. All you can hear are the church bells on the hour.
The village of Winchcombe is a really pretty, unspoilt, cotswold village. It has a few pubs, pharmacy, antique shops, co-op, butchers, lloyds bank etc.
We ate in the White Hart pub and had lovely food and it had a very relaxed vibe. We attempted to also eat in the Lion Inn pub but it was a Friday night and they were fully booked. It looked really nice in there too!
We spent a day on the Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway which was a 10 minute drive to the main Toddington Station. In the opposite direction, Cheltenham City is only a 10 minute drive too. It's a really nice city and all the shops you could possibly want.

We booked the cottage through 'Holiday Lettings' and considering in was mid- August we were able to book the cottage for as little as 3 nights which was fantastic. I really rate the holiday lettings website for this facility. So many cottage letting company's will only allow a minimum of 7 nights in peak season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing