We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy J
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect little find”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Delightful cottage in a central peaceful location.Tastefully decorated ,lovely comfy bed -well equipped kitchen and bathroom with over bath shower.Beautiful fresh roses in vase ,bottle of milk and wine chilling in the fridge -such a lovely welcoming gesture.
Located in quiet courtyard within walking distance of Budgens store and centre of the village. Sudeley castle a leisurely stroll of approx 15 mins.As we were here for a wedding at the Castle was a perfect location .
Our only disappointment was that we didn't have a longer stay -perfect excuse for another visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review Mandy. Would love to have you back again soon! Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bsastreet
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming cottage with basic accommodation.”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Location was okay and suitable for a young couple but not for oldies - good walk to village with lots of pubs and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D H
Derbyshire England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice little place for two in quiet courtyard”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cute little pied-a-terre is situated in a great location near the centre of Winchcombe - in a small courtyard with three other properties. It consists of three rooms - lounge/diner, bedroom and en-suite room.

The standard of decor is great - imaginative pictures and art works. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are adequately sized. There is a TV, DVD player and free satellite system.

The bathroom has a full size bath with a shower over.

Access is fine but I would not bring a big car - the entry road is tight and twisty. The parking is really close - a few yards...

Overall this is a good place to stay in this beautiful Cotswold town, which just needs a little bit of a spruce up in the kitchen area and a tad more cooking equipment provided to get it up to five stars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W
1 review
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Anvil cottage in Winchcombe. The cottage was comfortable and clean and provided all the facilities we needed (including a bottle of milk and wine!) The parking was ideal and was private and the local area was very pleasant. The places we would highly recommend to visit are Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the Water. It was our first visit to The Cotswolds and we would go again and stay at Anvil cottage. Thanks to Julia for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights. Nicely decorated. Bottle of wine and milk in fridge was great touch. Julia was very quick to respond to emails and gave good directions an tips on where to eat in winchcombe. The bonus is an allocated parking space (however a tight turn into the property-glad I have a small car-although there was an estate car parked also). A lovely little village to walk around am score all back streets (I like looking at all the old architecture). Had dinner at Corner Cupboard -great find. Food fanatics on north street also lovely. I would definitely visit this lovely town an atayvan Anvil cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Laura - great to hear you had a lovely time in Winchcombe and would love to have you stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMitchy78
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint Little Find”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This, to us, was a perfect little find, and a perfect little getaway after work on a Friday. We stayed for two nights, and it was perfect for what we needed. Cottage perfectly located for the local bars, inns, restaurants, shops, and general mooching. Tucked away in a very quiet courtyard (quite a tight turn for a larger car into the courtyard itself). Unfortunately it rained all weekend for us, but our umbrella came in use, and with everything in short walking distance didn't worry us one bit. Cottage was light, airy, lovely decoration, comfy, and smelt gorgeous. We visited Sudeley Castle, within walking distance, and dined at Lion Inn Friday night (is a must! - maybe try and book - we were lucky to get a table Friday evening) we also treated ourselves to No5 North Street on Saturday evening, which had an amazing chef, and awesome dining experience. I would totally recommend this little cottage, and its location, and i think we will most certainly be returning soon. The owner was very helpful with her information of how to find, and location / local areas. Thank you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review Sarah - it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing