We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most peaceful, idyllic, stay in the cotswolds”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Sitting/dining room - views from every window!
View from dining table
Well equipped modern kitchen
Oasis of comfort
Large walk-in shower with contemporary washbasin
Coomb Cottage
The Craven Arms - our local pub
Amazing sunset over local hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jemma W
1 review
“The most peaceful, idyllic, stay in the cotswolds”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were blown away when we arrived at coomb cottage. The scenery was one of the most beautiful sights I have seen in England. The cabin was perfect down to every last little stitch. And the log burner at night, listening to the horses gallop around the fields, made for the most peaceful nights of doing nothing! :) we especially loved the dogs visiting us and watching sasha dart around the fields and being very loving indeed!

The bikes were fanstatic and would recommend everyone to take them out and explore the surrounding area. From quaint little cottages to hills to race down and release your inner
Child.
We came across a little summer fate which had a brass band. We settled our bikes and soaked up village life. Something I hope for in the future.

It has to be said this was hands down the best holiday I have had in England and we will certainly be returning in the near future for our little bit of heaven.

Thank you to Claire and Jason, exceptional hosts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadman81
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This idyllic cottage, nestled neatly in the Cotswold countryside, exceeded our expectations on every level, it is very clean, tidy and makes for a very cosy den in the evening with all the necessary facilities, local information and entertainment provided for your break. Upon arrival we were met by the owners who are very friendly and knowledgeable of this part of the country through offering some recommendations for places to visit over the bank holiday weekend. There are some nice small villages in the area and alongside this Cheltenham is only approx. 20mins drive away. Our first evening was spent enjoying a BBQ and a few drinks on the veranda watching the horses running around in the neighbouring fields. The local village pub, a 5 minute walk away, has a warm friendly atmosphere and does food (However we believe it is closed Sunday evenings and Mondays).
We also took our high energy Springer Spaniel who was left shattered each evening after being let loose in the field adjacent to the cottage to burn off what energy remained after our day trips out. Claire generously provided some old towels, bowls, and a crate for the dog with a few treats for him when we arrived.
If you are looking for a break where you will literally get away from it all, we highly recommend this great cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience and attention by the owner to making the stay enjoyable
Liked least: Handing the keys back knowing we were leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineCar...
1 review
“Lovely place to stay, lots of places to visit, lovely friendly owners”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely place, great views, lovely local pub with good food, beautifully quiet, welcoming owners, ideal break

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The lodge is beautifully presented with all the things you could wish for plus a lovely basket of goodies to welcome you. Lovely views n great walks from door plus more a short drive from the village. Hostess very welcoming n helpful, especially when one of our dogs wasn't well. Enjoyed using the tennis court as well. Really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June L
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 days of Perfection………….what a find !!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It was our pleasure to stay in the Coomb Cottage holiday lodge for an all too brief 5 nights. Owner Claire has missed nothing to ensure a wonderful break/holiday. The attention to detail and thoughtfulness is truly exceptional. The "welcome basket", kitchen essentials, robes and towels, toiletries, maps & guides, the comfortable bed and other furnishings, we were unable to think of anything that had possibly been overlooked. The views are idyllic, Buzzards and Red Kites overhead, Interesting local walks, village pub which we regretably only used once but served a wonderful steak. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this property and when we next visit the Cotswolds this will be the first place we will seek out to book.
Thank you Claire, …….you didn't have anything to do with organising the spectacular night thunderstorm did you?????

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayleigh...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Getaway”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and Claire showed us to the cottage straight away. Be aware there are a few dogs, which we didn't mind but others might. After dropping our bags and having a quick look round the cottage Claire pointed us in the direction of the local pub, only a 2minute walkaway. It was silent, but in a great way! We have never known peace like it! The cottage had a great recommendations list for places to eat and we sampled a few (the white hart was great!) The cottage had everything we needed down to the tiniest detail, and you can tell alot of attention has been paid to make sure you don't want for anything during your stay. The BBQ came in handy since the weather was so nice but we imagine it would be just as nice in the autumn with the wood burner on inside. The cottage was clean and tidy with additional toiletries and cleaning products.

The location is great, perfect for doing nothing and close enough to a number of touristy destinations if you fancy a day out. We are already planning our next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and it had everything you would need to stay all week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah N
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here, you won't regret it!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Coomb Cottage is easily the most idyllic and relaxing place we have ever stayed in. The owner, Claire, has thought of everything that could possibly be needed to ensure a perfect holiday, from the welcome basket of free range eggs, bread, butter etc to the soft bath robes and great selection of dvd's, books and games. Everything in the lodge is of high quality, the furniture is comfortable and the kitchen exceptionally well equipped. We sat on the veranda with coffee each evening enjoying the view of fields and rolling hills and feeling the stress of city life just floating away.

There is a pub which serves good food within a few minutes walk, Cheltenham is about 8 miles away and both Chedworth Roman Villa and Snowshill Manor are close by and worth a visit, we spent a full day at each. Claire has provided maps for local walks of varying distance (we did two of the walks) and a list of other places to eat that are within easy driving distance.

We really can't recommend Coomb Cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views and that the owner had thought of everything we could possibly need for a wonderful holiday.
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing