We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and charming”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Found ourselves passing through Wotton-Under-Edge whilst looking for a cash-point! Saw the Swan Hotel and ended up staying the evening. The warmest and most genuine of welcomes led us to stay and eat. The food was cooked and presented with care and style without being pretentious. The furnishing has a wonderful mix of authentic old wood and modern style and lighting. We retired to a beautiful lounge area that felt like we had arrived home and neither of us wanted to leave. Outstanding and respectful hospitality from staff who care, and so worth the visit if you're in the area. Its a repeater for me.

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night on this occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Old, slightly eccentric building, clean, well provided. All staff were friendly, helpful, courteous. We only ate breakfast but in the wide choice that was available, every element was excellently prepared. It is clear that this hotel has been turned around in the recent past. We would be very happy to stay again.
Parking is in a free, civic multi-car area a short distance up the road.

Room Tip: If you have any disability, make sure they know when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Myself and sister stayed one night B and B at the Swan Hotel on the 19th of October whilst walking in the area, we were very pleased with the standard of accommodation, it was very clean and the beds comfortable, O.k the taps in the bathroom were labeled oddly, (two said hot) and there was a little bit of low level noise noise intermittently from what sounded like some sort of generator but this was not so bad as I had ear plugs and was very tired. We ate in the restaurant that evening and thoroughly enjoyed our food, it was very tasty and reasonably priced. The breakfast the next day was all freshly prepared and was also very tasty. The staff were helpful and pleasant and I would be happy to recommenced the Swan to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was booked into the Swan Hotel for one night during my hike of the Cotswold Way. The best attributes about this hotel are its location (in the town centre) and its character (a former coaching house with beamed ceilings and other original features). My room was very simple, and the in-room amenities provided were minimal. The breakfast the following morning was average, and below par compared to the other B & B's and hotels I stayed in during my hike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floyd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lovely room, four poster bed. Old-y world which is rare these days. Really enjoyed our stay. Went down for dinner in the pub which was lovely. Only thing is the interconnecting door to the next room wasn't very sound proof but didn't matter to us as the occupants there were not loud.

Room Tip: Room 3 had four poster and nice en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I just had my 40th birthday at The Swan, the whole experience from beginning to end has been amazing, I'll break it down:

Venue: We booked the back room and 'The Snug' side rooms, and put a rock & roll band on. The room was perfect for this as the ceiling is quite low and the atmosphere was very buzzy from the moment the first few guests arrived - because of the layout it never felt empty. The venue allowed us to dress the room with loads of time spare before the event, we went in the afternoon of the party and took our time. On the night, we had two projectors showing films and we also used their large screen TV to add atmosphere with rock & roll films on mute. After the band finished we used the venue's in-house PA system to play a playlist from an iPad and it worked an absolute dream.

Staff: All of the staff were lovely and friendly. I dealt with a few people in organising the event and they were all helpful and wanted to make sure I was happy. On the night they looked after our guests very well.

After the party: No stress afterwards, the venue took down my decorations and just gave them back in a pile, no problem. Basically I can't say enough good things about it. I would recommend the venue to others and would definitely go back next time we want to have a party.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was walking the Cotswold Way and this pub is only a few metres from the trail. With the not-so-great reviews on Trip Advisor I tried to book elsewhere but this was the only place available. I needn't have worried as I had a nice clean room with spacious bathroom and good flat screen TV. The room overlooked the street, so it might be noisy at the weekends but mid-week it was pretty quiet. The evening meal was OK but if I was staying again I'd probably explore other options and the pub is right in town, pleasant to walk about so it would be nice to do that anyway. The breakfast was good with cooked-to-order English breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JClare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
3.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
211 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
731 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 7 in Tetbury
536 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,393 reviews
4 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Hotel 16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range: £64 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Centuary Coaching Inn, The Swan Hotel has been kept very traditional with slight modernisation. All of our bedrooms are En-Suite. Our Restaurant, Bar, and Snug offer an extensive menu and the choice is yours as to where you prefer to eat: The Bar and Snug are warm and cosy. The Restaurant is light and airy with a refurbishment completed just a few months ago.The Bar offers Real Ales from local Breweries, Lagers, Wines and a large selection of Whiskies and other Spirits. We also have a Newsagents within the hotel where you can obtain Daily Papers and Weekly/Monthly Magazines.Our Staff are always willing to please and all have good personalities. The hotel is strongly supported by the local community and love sampling our ever-changing selection of Real Ales - we are also a member of CAMRA and are Casque Mark Approved ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Wotton-Under-Edge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing