We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”
Review of Carlton House

Carlton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wotton-under-Edge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton House
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

On arrival, we were greeted by Pauline and Peter, who were most helpful and very friendly. We were shown to our room at the front of the property. It was spacious and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was modern. The breakfasts were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We can highly recommend Carlton House. We were comfortable and made very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andreaandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Located on the town high street, this wealthy merchant's home from the 1600s is beautifully restored. Very pleasant accommodations with highly functional plumbing at a good price of 80 GBP. The hosts seem to really enjoy their role and served a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alanbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This was one of our overnight stays while walking the Cotswold Way and would suggest anyone considering this walk should build this into their itinerary. We were met by the owner in the pub next door and things continued to get better and better. Wonderful room and breakfast. Stay elsewhere at your peril!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramblerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I, with our 2 year old toddler, stayed in the self-catering accommodation part of this B&B in Wotton under Edge during a weekend for a relative's wedding and are so glad we chose well. When everyone had to go back to their poky rooms in the nearby hotel, we got a short taxi ride to this accommodation and had our own space (it's about 5 minutes journey from Tortworth Court Hotel).

The accommodation itself is small, but perfectly formed. There is a large inglenook fireplace that accommodates a lot of books from romance novels to comics, plus a TV that has freeview (but this isn't the best and does 'scramble' rather a lot). The kitchen is within the same room and has everything you need from butter knives to teatowels. All decorated with accents of poppies from decals on the wall to the lovely coffee cups and crockery.

The bedroom is upstairs in the eaves, with a new en suite shower room (shower is fab, very quick, good pressure!). The stairs meet the bedroom in the middle so the two single beds are either side of it. Our little boy had just gone into a bed at home so the owners very kindly put up another bed a bit further down in the eaves. He didn't like the look of it though because it was a bit dark and I think he was scared so bed-hopped all evening with me! Not the best nights' sleep for me but that's no reflection on the accommodation because my husband slept like a log! It was nice knowing we were all together, but also knowing that there was a downstairs instead of being cooped up in a hotel room. There is a skylight window as well which has a lovely view of the neighbouring fields and houses. It was clean, well equipped, and the beds were very comfortable.

The hosts are very friendly and gave us a complimentary breakfast basket with milk even though this wasn't included in the price. They left us to their own devices but made sure that we knew that if we needed them they were available for us.

Parking wasn't a problem for us but it is a tight squeeze round the back and through the gates in anything larger than a Renault Laguna! The village itself is lovely; you're right on the high street and Tesco is a 2 minute walk for those last minute nibbles you've left at home. There are some lovely quirky shops too, a couple of bakeries and a few nice pubs (but unfortunately we didn't have time to eat in them).

All in all, a wonderful, perfectly formed, clean and modern self-catering home!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This B&B was suggested by family in the village. We were not disappointed as the owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. On arrival we learnt that we had been moved to a larger quieter room at the rear of the property at no extra charge, as it was 'A level' results weekend and they anticipated some celebratory noise. We certainly didn't get disturbed and the room we were in was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Free view TV reception was poor, but this was possibly due to stormy weather at time. Wifi available and good. The breakfast menu is simple but extremely good - the best full English we've ever had. Can also recommend the smoked salmon and scramble egg. When back in Wotton will definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Three of us stayed together in a charming room at the top of the house with big comfortable beds, plenty of space and everything we needed. The hosts were very pleasant and the breakfast good. The only minor drawback was the fact we had to park our car on the street as there was a full house and the patio had just been repaired, no dramas at all except for those of us who worry about getting parking tickets, which didn't happen. I would definitely recommend this B&B, it was of a high standard and provided for a lovely start to our tour of the Cotswolds. We had a good meal in the pub at the top of the road and visited two other very different pubs on the way back down the hill to the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar,Teesside,England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

My friend and i couldnt book our normal guest house in Wotton under Edge, but upon arrival and meeting of the owners Pauline and Peter we knew we werent going to be let down. Firstly we arrived in the morning after dropping off my mates motor bike for a service in nearby Cromhall and immediately taken to our rooms where we refreshed after travelling nearly 300 miles in all our motor cycle gear on probably the hottest day of the year. We went for lunch to The Royal Oak where we had a ploughmans, came back to the guest house to get ready to go out for the night and met for the first time the owners, what a lovely charming couple couldnt do enough for us. We asked for some more tea bags for our room which they left outside the room when we arrived back late at night but with more fresh milk and a big fan to help cool the room down, god did we need it that night. In the morning we went downstairs to have our breakfast wow what a breakfast, Pete you could always become a chef if you need to.We only stopped the one night but we will be going again because we go to Gloucester every couple of years. But also i will be going before that and take my wife for a long weekend. If you happen to be that way on your journey stay at the Carlton House you will not be let down. See you soon Peter and Pauline.From your biker customers Steve and Neil.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
4.1 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
5.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in North Nibley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 4 Long Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton House is situated in the centre of Wotton-under-Edge, a beautiful Cotswold Market Town, within easy reach of Bristol, Bath, Gloucester and Cheltenham. It is also ideally sitauted as a base for Cotswold Way walkers. The accommodation offered is a self catering apartment comprising twin beds, a shower room, a sofa bed in the lounge area, a fully fitted kitchen including washer dryer. There is car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlton House Wotton-Under-Edge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing