We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & Tranquillity at its finest”

Review of Monks Mill Barn

Monks Mill Barn in its beautiful Cotswolds surroundings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monks Mill Barn in its beautiful Cotswolds surroundings
Don't miss this when you're trying to find us! The garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Monks Mill Barn in its beautiful Cotswolds surroundings
Don't miss this when you're trying to find us!
The garden
The barn from the cottage
Beautiful Cotswold views
Guests will have private use of a large garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wotton-under-Edge, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luke s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace & Tranquillity at its finest”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Monks Mill Barn is exceptional throughout, a beautifully finished barn within peaceful surroundings, with the odd sheep here and there! If you want to trek up to Bourton on the Water to visit the Motor Museum or travel to Bath to see the Roman Baths, the location of the barn is ideal as a base location for venturing out. Definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Dear Luke,
Thank you so much for taking out the time to write Monks Mill Barn a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here, and found it was the perfect base for exploring local landmarks! We hope to see you again sometime,
Kind Regards, The Monks Mill Barn Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage. Beautiful, clean, excellent location.”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here after our wedding and were blown away by how wonderful the barn is.
The location is perfect, tucked away in a beautiful valley with only sheep for company.
The barn has been decorated to a very high standard. It is immaculate and very light and airy.
It was a super relaxing stay and I look forward to booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathrobes
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Dear Nicki,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a glowing review! I am so please that Monks Mill Barn blew you away and you enjoyed such a comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Stephy from Monks Mill Barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
174richar...
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dhr.”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week in augustus 2016. Stunning location and very spacious house. Very well equipped/ maintained. Only neighbours are the lovely sheep!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Richard, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, the Monks Mill team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanRob
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We just enjoyed an amazing stay at Monks Mill Barn. When we arrived there was a welcome basket supplied by the local farm shop. Fresh bread, eggs, milk etc. A very nice treat after our long travel day. Booking was easy and we received emails before our stay so that we could start planning our actives before we arrived.

The furnishings are top notch, and, very comfortable. Nice big rooms and comfortable beds….and an awesome shower! There are lots of public footpaths around and some sheep nearby to keep you entertained. We really enjoyed spending hours walking and enjoying the beautiful countryside.

We can’t wait to book another stay at Monks Mill Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brand new cottage and lots of walking trails
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Dear Robyn,
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Monks Mill Barn and we look forward to welcoming you again!
The team at Monks Mill Barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn17
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful haven surrounded by sheep”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were very lucky to have beautiful weather and to stay in spring when we could really enjoy the antics of the lambs, but I'm sure this property is great at any time of the year (except perhaps deepest winter). The barn conversion has been very tastefully done and very well appointed, except for the fact that there weren't really enough crockery and utensils for those who wanted to eat all their meals at home. The property was very warm and a delight to come back to after a day's sightseeing. There are many places to visit within about 20 miles - Bath, Tewksbury, Newark Park, Berkeley Castle, Woodchester Mansion, and lots more. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days and saw a different part of the Cotswolds from the one more usually visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Insufficient crockery and glassware
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Dear Carolyn,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Monks Mill Barn! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was good, that seems hard to come by these days! The barn truly is a magical place during the spring! Thank you also for your suggestions, we are always looking to improve the service we provide and the experience the barn itself provides.
The team at Monks Mill Barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a find. The barn has been converted and finished to a fabulously high standard.
Set in a valley with sheet around, yet only a couple of miles from Wotton Under Edge, this gives you the best of both worlds.
Two equally sized large bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms with bath and shower. There is also a shower room downstairs.
On arrival there was a welcome arrival pack with items from the Farm Shop in Wotton.
We enjoyed a few miles at The Fleece Inn, Hillesly which is a community owned pub no more than two miles from the barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Dear Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Monks Mill Barn!
The team at Monks Mill Barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiedibn...
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Accommodation”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week's stay at Monks Mill Barn and can't wait to return. The barn is superbly appointed with quality furnishing and a lovely outlook. We were delighted to receive a generous welcome hamper of local produce which we enjoyed very much.

This property is in a great location for touring, with Lacock Abbey and village and Castle Coombe, both of which are used for filming period dramas, being nearby and well worth a visit. We also visited Bath, Cheltenham, Westonbirt Arboretum and Hidcote Manor Garden and there were so many other places we wanted to visit but ran out of time. The barn is a lovely relaxing place to return to after a day out and the owners really have thought of everything. Whilst the property is secluded it is not isolated, and there is a footpath very close, also the Cotswold Way.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Monks Mill Barn, it is one of the best self catering properties we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing