We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Impeccable cleanliness and a cottage which has...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Corner

Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Christmas- New Year 2012 dining in Forest Corner (dining for 8) Snug complete with wood burner, office area,  27 iMAC, laser printer and Broadband WiFi throughtout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
147 reviews
Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Christmas- New Year 2012 dining in Forest Corner (dining for 8)
Snug complete with wood burner, office area,  27 iMAC, laser printer and Broadband WiFi throughtout
Caldera Geneva Spa Hot (36-40c) Tub with 47 hydro spa jets, air blowers, mood lighting at night
Winter in the National Park at Forest Corner
Cosy snug with log fire and stretch out leather sofas and HiFi
Caldera Geneva Spa Hot (37c) Tub with 47 jet, air blowers, mood lighting available as an extra
Lounge area with flat screen TV, Bose sound system, Apple TV and Xbox 360 Kinnect
View of Forest Corner behind the New Forest Ponies
New Forest Ponies on your doorstep
Second king size bedroom complete with Bose sound system and view across the forest
King size Master bedroom with 3D HD LED TV and DVD, all linen and towels provided
Master bedroom ensuite shower and sink with view along landing
Outside dining for 8 with view to the private back garden and BBQ, Cycle and log store
500 yards up the lane, 365 Hectares of New Forest
Master Bedroom terrace with view across the national park and al fresco dining
Al fresco dining, view from back garden along the side of cottage
20 minutes from 7 miles of sandy beaches and shingle coves
Family bathroom with large corner bath to supplement ensuite shower room and downstair shower room
Modern Neff Double oven, dishwasher, microwave in fully equiped country Kitchen with freeview TV
Modern luxury 4 ring gas BBQ and side burner
Additional accommodation, King size master bedroom and  2nd bedroom or 2 singles  bath/shower/toilet
Additional accommodation with direct access and views across the New Forest national park
Additional accommodation available upon request for up to 4 extra guests 3D TV's & Bose thr
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Fcollins8...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impeccable cleanliness and a cottage which has been furnished to the highest standards.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed six friends in the cottage over a long weekend in March. The location is gorgeous on the edge of the forest with easy accessibility and good amenities nearby. The only downside is having to leave at 10am on the leaving day- When only visiting for the weekend this is annoying. Otherwise everything else is perfect and I can highly recommend Forest Corner!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank you for a great 5* review. Just to correct one small point, departure time is actually 10:30am not 10am.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No particular charm but clean and well located”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

If you're looking for a charming cottage in the New Forest, it's definitely not the place to go. However, it is clean, spacious and well equipped - but there are numerous affronts to good taste (half the houseplants are fake, authentic wood burner surrounded by cheap laminate flooring, office blinds, etc), a multitude of high-tech TV gadgets and remote controls, and endless notes to customers about what you can touch, move or use. There are also lots of family pictures hanged on walls - not typically what one would expect in a self catering rented house. Otherwise, it's ideally located near wild ponies and friendly pubs, and the kitchen was particularly well stocked. Comfortable beds too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2014
We are pleased that you still enjoyed your stay, loved the location, found it clean, spacious, the beds really comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and stocked, a traditional wood burner, real open fire and the cottage packed with technological gadgets. But we will have to agree to differ on the view of the cottage character and quality.

We appreciate reviews are subjective but when they are completely at odds with all other reviews, the majority who rate it 5* we feel we must respond.

It's both a disappointing and unrepresentative review of the cottage and high quality features/fittings and it's a great shame that despite being provided with ample opportunity to raise any concerns prior, during and subsequent to your stay you didn't.

1) in terms of character the website with pictures, detailed descriptions and a features list, together with all the reviews, provide a true and representative reflection of the cottage and the quality and range of furniture and fittings; and you still booked on that basis knowing exactly what you were getting.

2) the picture welcome pack sent weeks in advance again show everything in great detail well before you arrive and you did not express any concerns

3) we make it easy for our guests to raise anything prior, during and subsequent to booking and we really try hard to make our guests feel very welcome. Again you did not raise any disappointment or concern

Regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_haus...
Mayland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location and great family accomodation”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location on the edge of a national park, it was easy to reach wonderful spaces for the children and adults to run around in and explore. There are several places of interest nearby or with in a short drive, including parks, pubs, beaches and zoos. The house itself is lovely and welcoming, with plenty of space in which to spread out and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs space was excellent
Liked least: Low celings in the bedrooms!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneSmall
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little corner of heaven”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The time I spent at forest corner was some of the best. A group of us went down for my birthday and it was the most beautiful house I have ever seen. Immaculately decorated, the perfect combination of modern and country. The master bed was unbelievably comfy! It had all the latest gadgets; Apple TV, Apple iMac, Bose sound system and more. The space had been maximised to the full potential, a truly stunning property. I will definitely be looking at going back here again, it's too good not to.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitin P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Forest Corner for a quiet break to get away from London and we weren't disappointed.
The house was spacious, clean and just as described.
We loved the en-suite in the main bedroom and the little roof terrace which was perfect for our morning tea/coffee before our little girl woke up. She absolutely loved the place and for once was excited to go to sleep in a big bed. She slept better than she does at home!!
The Bose Sound System around the house was brilliant as were the use of an Apple Mac, 3D TV and Xbox.
This is the perfect home away from home and we would HIGHLY RECOMMEND for small groups or families.
We would stay here again!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colliwob
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcoming home from home”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A lovely, welcoming cottage that was packed full of home comforts and essentials and was an excellent base for our days out to Southampton, Bournemouth and Dorcester. The whole cottage had a homely feel to it, which meant we were able to truly relax after days of exploring the surrounding areas. The presentation of the cottage was outstanding, with cosy beds and a particularly great power shower in the ensuite! The pre-arrival information and welcome pack at the cottage were informative and also incredibly useful. I would definitely recommend booking a stay at Forest Corner. In fact my only regret is that the weather wasn't warmer, so we could enjoy meals outside on the terrace and watch the wild horses roaming free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLM2
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Forest Corner is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday away. Lovely location, not far from Ringwood (5mn drive) and some pubs are within walking distance. We stayed in the 3 bedroom house which is very clean, homely and extremely well equipped with all modern technology. Kitchen had everything you can possibly need and basic food cupboard is provided (tea/ coffee, salt/pepper etc...). Lots of games, books, cds and dvds. 
The wood burner is great on a cold day after a long walk. It provides a lot of heat which is good as we had a power cut for a few hours due to the bad storms. Plenty of candles were supplied so it didn't affect our stay in any way.
There are 2 lounge areas, a big dining table which is great if you have a family reunion. There are 3 toilets, 2 showers (including one in master bedroom) and a bath so no need to queue in the morning for a wash. Very convenient if you come with family and friends. Plenty of towels supplied too.
For families travelling with baby, a cot and a high chair are provided.
Arrival date can be flexible subject to availability which is a bonus. Booking was very easy using the internet facility. Getting the keys was equally headache free and the owner's communication is excellent. Very attentive to his guest's needs and comments. Deposit was returned promptly.
All in all we were very impressed and we are very much looking forward to return to "Forest Corner" sometimes soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing