We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Forest Lodge

View across the national park with dining area and outside alfresco dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the national park with dining area and outside alfresco dining
Forest Lodge at Christmas, mood lighting, 3D TV, 3D bluray, log fire, Apple Mac, Bose surround sound View from the gate across the national park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
149 reviews
View across the national park with dining area and outside alfresco dining
Forest Lodge at Christmas, mood lighting, 3D TV, 3D bluray, log fire, Apple Mac, Bose surround sound
View from the gate across the national park
Lounge seats 5, gas central heating with remote control, Xbox, leather sofa's and fully insulat
24 adjustable Jet and air blow Hot tub in the evening with mood lighting and central control panel
View across the New Forest national park from open plan living area with remote Bose surround sound
Forest Lodge set back in secluded spot in the New Forest. View of Lodge from Gravel off road parking
Kitchen area, dishwasher, fridge, toaster, kettle, BBQ, Bosch Washer, Bosch Dryer
Lounge dining area,
King size beds, all linen and towels provided, master bedroom with french doors, 3D TV, BOSE, etc
Modern bathroom with bath and monsoon LED shower, controllable heated floor and BOSE with remote
Views and direct access across the New Forest National Park from the main living areas
Twin or King bedroom option, 3D TV and BOSE remote sound system and velux blackout blinds in both
Relaxing outside exclusive hot tub with mod lighting, 24 and 2 speed jets and air blower at 36 degre
Contemporary lounge with log fire and 3D flat screen TV, 3D Blueray, XBox 360 with BOSE sound system
2 Burner gas 'Master Chef' BBQ with side burner ignition lighting, shelving and storage
Bed linen and towels included, master bedroom with french doors and 3D TV, Bose CD/Radio
Large outdoor decking area and private gated access onto the New Forest National Park
Entrance steps and access directly onto the national park lit at night with each step level marked
New Forest ponies right at your gate, lockable to keep the kids safe
A cosy winter retreat with uPVC double glazing, central heating, log fire, 7' insulated walls/f
Only 20 minutes to 7 miles of sandy bournemouth beach
Views across the 365 hectare New Forest national park 5 minutes walk up the lane opposite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 149 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Slanda666
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite A Lot Of Sheds...”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
9
people found this review helpful

I had to think long and hard about the rating for Forest Lodge as it proved to be quite a dilemma.
I rarely give a five star rating as this indicates the property is perfect. Also I had to factor into my rating the fact that Forest Lodge was described as “Luxury”.
We booked a three night stay between 15th and 18th September, 2017 – two adults, two very small dogs.
The Property Pro’s:
The bedrooms were both very well appointed and the beds were excellent.
The living room was also very comfortable and we particularly liked the fireplace although the remote control proved baffling.
A bathroom with a large bath.
The Property Con’s:
We had concerns regarding this property before we even arrived. The deposit was £275 which was the highest we’ve ever paid. One month before we arrived we paid the balance for the property as arranged and consequently received a booking confirmation and access to a Dropbox from which I downloaded a 78 page (!) PDF regarding Forest Lodge. This provided detailed instructions regarding the lodge (some of which later proved to be either vague or incorrect) and, remarkably, on P.78, a score sheet on how clean we left the property upon our departure. This, apparently, would be scored by the cleaners and, depending on how well we did, would dictate how much of a discount we would receive on a future booking. I was not awfully impressed by this as I take some pride in leaving a place as I actually considered booking elsewhere when discovering this.
Be advised that the hot tub will cost you £95 to use irrespective of the duration of your stay. We declined and, frankly, were glad we did.
In my mind the place had already lost a star!
It became apparent that Forest Lodge actually lies within the grounds of another rental property which, I believe, is owned by the same vendor. This is a larger property called Forest Corner and Forest Lodge is, effectively, in the back garden. As a consequence of this be aware that to access the lodge one was to park adjacent to the drive of Forest Corner and walk down the side of the main house, past a variety of sheds and the hot tub used by the tenants of Forest Corner, through a (broken) gate before finally reaching the gate to Forest Lodge. It took quite a while to unpack the car!
Another star gone…
Forest Lodge itself proved to be a bit of a disappointment.
It did have lovely beds and bedrooms BUT:
The decking surrounding the property proved to be treacherously slippery due to poor maintenance. My partner slipped twice, once rather badly resulting in a twisted ankle.
Some of the garden furniture was frankly only good for firewood.
The hot tub cover looked like it could do with replacement and did not look particularly inviting. Very glad we didn’t pay £95 for three days use.
Inside, the flooring near the doorway between the bedrooms and the living room actually moved in a most alarming way. I began to suspect that the floorboards underneath the laminate flooring was either rotting away or simply not there.
The TV was great but the remote was either defective or needed new batteries.
We couldn’t find the remote for the central heating as it was not where it was supposed to be according to the 76 page PDF. It then became apparent that it was not wirelessly connected to the boiler and we had to activate it.
It took ages to figure how to actually run a bath as the water temperature was either “lukewarm” or “hotter than the surface of the sun” if you fiddled with the tap. The knack seemed to be to turn temp up full (lukewarm) and then down a little (ridiculously hot).
The fireplace was lovely but the remote control was baffling. Even referring to page 39 of the PDF didn’t help – indeed there was a rather ominous warning about activating the Lock function but no explanation of what it did or how to Unlock it. Fortunately I discovered a simple three button control panel on the wall to the left of the fire.
Although the property had wi-fi the broadband speed was terrible (almost dial-up). Obviously this is not the vendors fault but be aware. After an hour my partner switched off the wi-fi on his phone as he had very good 4G access (Vodafone).
Now for the simply bizarre aspects of the property.
We knew the kitchen didn’t have a sink as this was stated in the property description. However, I fail to see how a property can be described as luxury when you have to go into the loo to get to the drinking water tap! The simple act of making a cup of tea and subsequently washing the cups became a ridiculous chore. I have no idea why there is no sink in the kitchen (there clearly used to be and certainly there is both a hot water and drinking water pipe in the kitchen wall).
Then there was the issue with the sheds. So many sheds!
There was one that housed the dishwasher, microwave and halogen ovens and another shed that contained the washing machine facilities. As these were small tool sheds the provided devices could only be operated whilst the user was standing outside. Therefore there could be occasions when one could be operating kilowatt electrical devices whilst standing in the rain. Luxury.
All these problems/issues resulted in another star lost.
I had noticed that many of these problems had been mentioned by previous holiday makers. I also noticed that the standard response from the vendor was to point out the number of five star reviews the property had received. I even found a Youtube video that was not exactly complementary (but fairly accurate). Some reviews even indicated that their deposits had been delayed until they gave a five star review. I found this difficult to believe. However…
When we returned from our holiday my partner emailed the vendor so as to provide him with his email address as it had been stated in the PDF that the refund could be received quicker via Paypal. Astonishingly he received a response stating that we would receive the deposit immediately after leaving a five star review! He immediately contacted Holiday Lettings as he suspected this was not best practice. Let’s just say they were less than impressed.
Having now received our £275 deposit back (after the standard ten days) I am now writing this review.
I am now somewhat wary of the five star reviews this property has received – as you should be.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Deposits are taken and held by trip advisor and paid directly back to guest by trip advisor so its simply a big fat lie to say we refused to give their deposit back unless they left a great review. This can all be validated by Trip Advisor so please do ask them directly. This then questions this review validity and motive. Yes we do have over175 5* reviews before this one and no we cannot influence this as we have demonstrated. The lodge has it own separate entrance and gate and its not necessary to walk past anyone another in correct fact. Access is across the green space. The hot tub charge varies on the duration and season so again another lie. The guide of appliances and facilities is sent well in advance so guests get the most from there stay and don't have the issues using things these guest say they had. Unsurprisingly most guest don't have issues and find the guide useful. Decking in a forest national park environment can get slippery and it is difficult to solve completely but we do maintain it as best we can. You made this booking in the full knowledge of the facilities a fact which you openly admit to in your review and yet you then complain and mark it down for everything you knew about before you booked. I guess with some people there is just no pleasing them or they have a deliberate motive for staying a short period to create the opportunity to write a damaging review......like a competitor property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Nice lodge to stay in with all mod cons, sadly lacks a cooker and sink which should be clearly advised in its advert but otherwise lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This lodge is in a beautiful location just inside the new forest, outside the lodge boundary you see ponies and cows, lovely to wake up to in the morning. It is close to amenities, local farm shop just down the road easy to walk to. There are some lovely walks on the doorstep, don't need to take the car. The lodge is very peaceful with a great Bose sound system in every room.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stay at Forest Lodge”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay, very peaceful. Great seeing the wild horses and cattle roaming just outside. Forest Lodge offered everything you would need for a relaxing stay. Plus a great farm shop just along the road offering great food. Would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Superb countryside escape - baby and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous location right in the heart of the New Forest with ponies, donkeys and cows wandering up to the gate. Excellent for dog walking as several walks close by to choose from along with a lovely farm shop serving delicious cream teas and breakfasts and animals for children to visit. Ideally situated to visit Bournemouth, Swanage and other seaside resorts as we found out. The lodge was extremely comfortable, especially the beds, with great new BBQ and plenty of outdoor seating for alfresco dining. There were four adults, an 8 month old baby and two dogs in our party and we all had space to relax. The hot tub proved a hit and was used more than once! Two toilets were a luxury and not having a kitchen sink was not a problem - the dishwasher was used daily.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogsy662
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as described”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017
12
people found this review helpful

Spent a week at this lodge for a week at the end of May 2017, Lovely location however the property is definitely not as described, or as per the photographs which have obviously been taken a number of years ago. Property manager/owner was contacted to try to resolve issues but was very rude and unhelpful.

Please view video on YouTube ( titled Forest Lodge New Forest Hampshire video review June 2017 ) as a picture paints a thousand words.

I can't attach a direct link but if you are considering booking this lodge I suggest you view the video!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Contrast this with the 150 plus 5* reviews. This guest threatened to make a damaging video if he didn't receive a free holiday after staying. We don't bend to blackmail. Towels are new and always clean as is bedding check other reviews. We use the same cleaning company for all our properties and have done for a long time. They staged this by placing marks on towels and bedding and although he tries to make it appear like he's just arrived you can see he knows where things are already. The bbq was new the old one behind. The floor they damaged. It's a national park so it is wild and natural. The outside furniture has been replaced and is evey year. Decking does go grey with weathering. The hot tub was very clean as can be seen by the water colour. Covers do get damaged by guests but that is to be expected. The lodge has its own private proper front enterance. He just filmed the back one used if the grasses area is waterlogged in winter. All in all a misreprestation and staged after their stay.Notice how he only makes negative comments like the wires that take the sound to the bose speakers that you can hardly see he referred to as just wires hanging down. 150 other families completely disagree giving it 5* s so who is telling the truth?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
7
people found this review helpful

Great location with donkeys at the fence in a morning. Good pubs nearby for nice meals. Unfortunately the lodge has no cooker or sink in the kitchen and the microwave and dishwasher are outside in a shed. The decking outside could do with a good clean and a coat of paint. Overall we enjoyed our stay but the lodge is not worthy of 5* rating

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
175 guest disagree with you giving it 5*s. Apart from the decking needing a sweep (not worthy of a 2* deduction) the rest is all in the description on the web site and in the pictures and in the welcome pack sent 30 days in advnce so exactly as you booked it so we are puzzled by your review and apparent surprise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing