We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Room

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James B
Wadhurst, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner and myself has such a wonderful time staying in the Garden Room!
Such a cosy and inviting place we felt at home straight away! Sue was attentive and joy to chat with making us even more relaxed.

The perfect location for walks or a place just to wind down. We chose to spend our evenings relaxing with a BBQ because it was such a lovely place, but you are minutes away from 2 pubs for a bite to eat or few swift ones.

We will both definitely be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihabelgha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Loved it !!”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I went to stay here for a couple of nights last week. The place was absolutely charming, easy to find, clean, comfortable and warm. The hosts were very polite, welcoming and flexible. You have your own entrance, keys, parking and no one bothers you. it's really nice to be around the animals too. The fact that you can walk out of the gate and be in the middle of the forest is really cool. We really loved this quiet, charming place and would recommend it to anyone. Breakfast was included and was plenty too.

Thanks for everything Sue & Maz.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_and_R...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Garden Room is fantastic, a functional space but with tons of personality. Sue was really friendly and helpful, we even had gorgeous homemade chocolate mousse and quiches on our arrival. We took our cat, Fifi, with us and she was the first cat to stay in the Garden Room - she even had her own welcome note and package of cat food - the little touches were wonderful. Fifi was mesmerised watching the horses each morning!

On our last evening we had a flat tyre (largely due to being run off the narrow roads in the New Forest by a mean 4x4!). Maz was great and gave us a helping hand. We had to get a new tyre the next day and so was about half an hour late checking out, which Sue was not phased by.

It was lovely to walk around and meet with cats, chickens, dogs and horses - I looked forward to coming and going just to get some cuddles!

Would highly recommend the Garden Room to anyone who wants a relaxing break in the heart of the New Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quirky decor and animals
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondSu...
surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and peaceful”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely location within walking distance of 2 pubs. The Garden Room had unusual and attractive decor and was very private. Loads of dogs and horses who can be quite noisy in the mornings! Nice tea tray awaited us on arrival. My only criticism is that the breakfast for 3 days was left for us on our arrival which meant that some of the fruit left in the fridge had gone off; I would have preferred fresh bread/croissant and a cafetiere & coffee would be a nice addition as would a DVD player. Bathroom & shower are tiny so if you are large beware! Bed was very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: TV signal was poor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel45ED
max41
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little slice of paradise :)”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful little cabin in beautiful surrounding.
Hosts were lovely.
Animals wherever you turn which we didn't mind at all, especially Max the Dog, who if my case had been larger I'd have smuggled him out :)
I will return to this gorgeous little hideaway without any hesitation.
There are pubs within walking or biking distance, all of which we liked.
Plenty of bike routes which can quickly turn into cross country treks if you don't keep an eye on where you're going as we found out.
All in all this place is perfect in every sense of the word.
Taking away some beautiful memories from here :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Time by ourselves in this perfect little place.
Liked least: Rain but not a lot we could do about that :)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A warm and friendly welcome awaited us at the garden room. Even though we changed the time of our arrival we were made very welcome and shown around this wonderful piece of 'heaven'. It suited us 'down to the ground' we had our own little garden complete with BBQ facilities, and views over hills/fields. Our little jack-russell 1yr.old was also made welcome, even though she had to be on a lead as they had lots of ducks,chickens and guinea-fowl that she loves to chase.
We would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Own entrance and such a comfortable bed - we could of slept for a week!
Liked least: A walk from the car so had to carry luggage not to far but could be a problem in the rain.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieHamp...
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place - an animal lover's haven”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a lovely place to stay - surrounded by horses, dogs, chickens, geese & ducks - tucked away in the middle of the countryside yet within striking distance of 2 good pubs. Not that we were short of food with all sorts of home baked delights awaiting us, a bottle of wine and fridge stocked with fresh fruit, homemade yoghurt & jam, and a wide selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Oh and I forgot the chocolates by the bed! Hosts Sue & Maz are delightful - warm, friendly & relaxed. Can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing