We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Real Gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Picturesque Cottage - directly onto the New Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picturesque Cottage - directly onto the New Forest
Dining area with views overlooking forest to the front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Picturesque Cottage - directly onto the New Forest
Dining area with views overlooking forest to the front
New Forest ponies at the front gate of the cottage
Many beautiful forest and picnic spots to explore just moments away
King sized guest room with patio on to rear garden
Well stocked and modern kitchen
King sized guest room with ensuite shower
Guest room with views of the forest to the front. Single and Junior Bed (<5yrs)
Hatchett Pond beauty spot just a short walk from Wren's Nest
Private rear garden and patio
Stable block/outbuilding and further lawned area beyond
A short trip to the south's coastline with many beaches and marinas
Miles of cycle and walking paths directly out from the cottage
Village Stores - couple hundred yards from Wren's Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrsWtobe
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage - but the damp really needs sorting”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've just returned from a week away in this cottage. The location of the cottage is great. we loved watching the ponies trot by, and the cottage itself was perfect in terms of size and layout. It was well appointed with everything we needed, and the toys in the kids bedroom was a nice touch.

What let this cottage down though was the damp. Like the previous reviewer wrote, the musty smell hit you as soon as you entered and even with opening windows and buying lots of air freshner it was there for the whole or our stay. All our clothes have had to be washed (even those we didn't wear) and we've had to Fabreeze spray the children's cuddly toys on our return as the smell really permeated into everything.

It felt like the damp was a housewide issue (but was worst in the master bedroom), and something that had been there for a long time. I appreciate that it would be costly to resolve, but it really wasn't pleasant and for that reason I would not recommend this cottage to a friend. If the damp issue was resolved I would as everything else was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the cottage was perfect
Liked least: The damp - it was so off putting coming back into it at the end of each day
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
Thank you for comments. We have personally been away from the cottage for a number of months and will returning to the country this week to have a really good look at the cottage. Previous reviews of our cottage have alway been very positive, which includes direct feedback not through trip advisor, and damp smells have never been mentioned as an issue until just recently. We will assess the cottage ourselves this week and after an extremely wet winter we will look to see if there is anything that has not had an opportunity to properly dry out and seek professional assistance as advised.
I am so very sad and sorry that this had become such an issue for you and had tainted your view of our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
470melb
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“House is damp and mouldy”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

As soon as you open the front door you are hit by the smell of damp and the back of the curtains in the back bedroom are lined with mould. The mattresses are old and in the main bedroom roll you to the middle. Both are uncomfy. The back garden had not been tidied and there was bird muck on the patio table. In the kitchen there were random old stained mugs and all but 2 of the wine glasses are chipped. The carpets all need a good clean. The bathroom floor is cheap white lino - unpleasant and the shower and basin do not drain properly.

The location of the bungalow is great.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
I am so very sorry to be reading your feedback from your recent stay. I will ensure our cleaners look into this for us and sort out any smell there may be. However, just to respond to a couple of your points, we are aware of the mould stains on the back curtains which had developed from a long stay visit last year, where prolonged condensation had built up with no airing. This has been treated and cleaned numerous times and is not 'active' mould, but has left staining which we do plan to get re-upholstered. The mattress in the ensuite king sized room is brand new in Jan this year, from John Lewis, the single bed is less than 2 years old, and whilst the rear room king bed mattress is slightly older, there is a memory foam topper on this and we have not had any complaints before on this and regularly use it ourselves, however, we will look at this again and see if it is now time for a replacement. The lino on both bathrooms floors are also a recent installation in the last 18 months and was advised to us as a neutral, practical flooring type for this holiday cottage. I am so very sorry you felt we deserved a lesser rating on our cottage. We will be looking into all the points raised and ensuring our usual high standard is maintained.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel T
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Whether you're planning a relaxing weekend, or a two week vacation for some peace and quiet like us, you won't go wrong staying in this beautiful gem in the New Forest. The cottage is well appointed and in good condition. Yes, one can always find fault with everything if one wants, a small crack here, a loose doorknob there, but please, get over yourselves and just enjoy the incredible peace and quiet of this wonderful cottage slap bang in the middle of the countryside.

We had the most amazing time visiting all the local sights.I did chat with the owner of the local store that says he gets people in from time to time moaning about the lack of things to do in the area and it's true, there's not a lot in the immediate vicinity save for the pub and the corner store. HOWEVER, if you're going to book a perfectly charming, peaceful cottage in the middle of a forest, do your homework before you leave home and map out everything you'd like to do so you always have something, whether rain or shine.

Apart from local attractions lies Bucklers Hard, the Motor Museum and some fabulous easy walking trails through the New Forest to meet the ponies and donkeys, we also planned visits to Corfe and Calshot Castle, there was pony riding and day trips to Winchester, Salisbury, Brighton and especially Arundel Castle. Our trip to the Warner Bros. Harry Potter set in Watford was a 1 and 3/4 hours drive, also very reasonable. We worked all the plans (indoor versus outdoor) around the forecast at weather.co.uk. Make a plan and you'll never be bored. You'll also have a lovely home to come back to in the evening!

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you'll need. The beds were comfortable and for the family with young children, it was nice to see a selection of toys in the kiddie's room as well as board games etc, in the living room. The blackout curtains were something I had not anticipated but was very grateful for! Having the private garden was lovely as well.

There is a very large Tesco just 12 minutes drive away for gas and all the provisions you'll need. We found it easily on Google maps.Oh, the Internet access was wireless and fast, although I have to say it was a little spotty once in a while but that's probably because of location.

I can only recommend this lovely little oasis of peace in the middle of this beautiful national park. The loudest things we heard in two weeks were quacking ducks, braying donkeys and lots of black birds singing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet... Location...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our cottage and I am glad you had an enjoyable and busy stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDMAW11
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A perfect bolt hole.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is excellent. Extremely well equipped, spacious, warm. A lovely garden. We had our 21 month old grandson with us so the lovely toys in the child's bedroom were a really nice touch, he was so excited when he got there and loved his room. The position of the cottge couldn't be better - 5 minute drive into Beaulieu and about 15 minutes from Lymington and Brockenhurst . The New Forest ponies were literally outside the gates, again loved by our grandson but also the rest of the party. East Boldre has a well stocked shop and a brilliant pub with a really welcoming New Zealand owner. I would really recommend this cottage and would return myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the New Forest ponies.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just had a week in Wrens Nest and loved the cottage and location. It was very comfortable, clean and a delight to return to after a long walk or a bit of sightseeing. We were sorry to leave and wished we had booked a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THATFOODI...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Urgent need of TLC”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The first thing we had to do was throw open all the windows and doors to get rid of the musty smell. It is an ideally situated cottage a stones throw from a shop and pub and within easy reach of Lymington. Although we enjoyed our stay we found that it was not up to the standard that we would have liked. For example, the showers needed de-moulding, the glassware was chipped and some of the pans had burnt on remains and had gone rusty. If the owner could address these and one or two other shortcomings by placing themselves in the shoes of their paying guests then I would rate it higher than I can at present.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the domestics, shower, utensils etc
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of our cottage. I note all the points you have raised and these are being addressed immediately with our cleaning firm to rectify. A full carpet clean is booked to address any mustiness which may well have come with the warm and wet summer we have been experiencing. With an extremely busy summer of bookings at Wren's Nest some things have obviously become subject to wear and tear and these relatively minor points are being sorted. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodapop9
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely week”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely week at Wren's Nest (despite the awful weather!) The cottage is really nice & probably better equiped than anywhere else we've ever stayed - loads of books & toys & everything you could ever want in the kitchen.

The location is lovely and the local pub (The Turfcutters Arms) is great too: really nice food, friendly staff and board games for kids by the table under the stairs.

All in all a lovely stay, if we are ever in the New Forest again we will definitely return to Wren's Nest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing