We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Good..”

The Ferryman Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ferryman Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Surprisingly Good..”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have to stay here for a night since it's close to my house in Portsmouth due to parents coming to visit. Honestly i thought this Guest House will be small, cramp and dirty. But it was surprisingly good, well maintained, organized and customer friendly. The owner lives just downstairs which makes it more welcoming for their customer.

The room was big, tidy and fresh. Even the shared toilet is clean and modern. All i can say is i was amazed. Only £35 a Night and the packages is good.

I wasn't expecting any 5 start treatment, But this hotel deserve a good review and recognition. Definitely will stay again if i come and visit the UK near Future.

Room Tip: Cozy second floor room and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyes-1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
9
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatillon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Clean B&B, but a bit expensive. Excellent location, breakfast needs to be improved: cheap and very oily. Good choice for one night with a family. We love the lady in the breakfast room: very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the Ferryman the night before our sailing to Santander. James, the owner, warmly welcomed us and gave us tips on where to go for sightseeing and dinner in the area. Our room was a family room and was spacious for all 5 of us to get a good nights sleep. We had a sink in the room and were provided with fluffy towels for the bathroom on our floor. The kettle in the room kept us in tea, coffee and hot chocolate (and biscuits!) and there was enough for us to make a thermos for our departure in the morning as well. Breakfast was great - full English as well as toast, yogurts and juice. Parking was on the street but was very close and safe.

Room Tip: Some people have mentioned that a room near the back is better to avoid street noise. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The ferryman is a friendly and helpful guest house breakfast was great . They had a wonderful walk in shower and art novo furniture.We had a nice time watching the runners run and run and run and run and run and run and rune and run.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here for a week it was a ok! hotel. welcome was nice and plentiful. Breakfast was descent. the furniture was a little dated. Nice selection of coffee, hot chocolate and tea in our room. Cleaner did come in every morning.

Room Tip: great pub round corner £1.60 per pint and cheap food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevinsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

great b&b clean and tidy great showers good breakfast nice big tv
left to your own devices .relaxing

Room Tip: try to get on suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The title says it all. For tourists (we were), this is REALLY far from the harbour, rail station and downtown Portsmouth.
The breakfast was far below the average B&B breakfast.
Service was good.
Our room was very very large and spotless.
As it is far from the city centre, can't complain about the noise, it was a good night of sleep, quiet!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatfontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.5 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferryman Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferryman Guesthouse

Property: The Ferryman Guesthouse
Address: 16 Victoria Road South | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ferryman Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive building in the Art Deco style with spacious and stylish guestrooms. The Ferryman is a short walk from Southsea Seafront and adjacent to the Kings Theatre and the diverse restaurants, shops and bars of Albert Road/Elm Grove. We are in close proximity to the Isle of Wight and continental Ferry Port. As well as the Spinnaker Tower, historic dockyard, cinema, bowling alley, restaurants, bars and shops of Gunwharf Quays. There is car parking on the road outside or on nearby roads. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing