We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place for lunch”
Review of Hong Kong Tea Bar

Hong Kong Tea Bar
Ranked #15 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Portsmouth
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice for a lunch if you are particularly hungry as most dishes come with your choice of boiled or fried rice and are large portions.
Very tasty dishes. I recommend the kung po chicken or duck.
There is a wide selection of dishes ranging from very traditional Chinese and Cantonese dishes to if you really want it english dishes such as fish and chips for the not so adventurous.
Quick and easy for a quick work lunch. The company I work at regularly use here for a 1st day lunch or a team meeting.
I use it on a regular basis.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank dubdub-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice place for lunch”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

if you're in Portsmouth city centre have lunch at Hong Kong Tea Bar friendly staff but they are usually busy the food has always been very good and usually too big for me to finish, the place has a lot of chinese customers so I take that as a sign they cook authentic chinese food well

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My colleague and n
Myself have been visiting this little haven of food heaven for some time and I have to say its a new adventure every time,
I love it when it's busy , to see new dishes being served,
Jas & rucon salute you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the South”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I visit the Hong Kong Tea Bar about once a fortnight because the food is tasty, cheap and frankly amazing! The service, even when it is busy, is quick and the choice is fantastic.

Yes, I know it looks like a greasy spoon, the tables and decor are tired but that's why I love it!

I have all of my business lunches in there and I have clients that ask me especially to come to my offices instead of theirs just to eat at the Tea Bar.

Long live the Tea Bar!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigG1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just like being in China”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I love the food here, ok it is like a canteen that you might find anywhere in China but that is what I like about it, the staff are friendly and as I am partially disabled I always get a smile and some help getting in the door. It is always busy and I really enjoy some of the Chinese who dine there sharing my table. There are a host of choices available and all are really good value. You get a good sized portion and maybe too much rice but the accompaniment's are tasty especially the roast duck. It is my first choice of Chinese good in Portsmouth and such good value. The dining area is rather clinical I guess but the place is always clean and used tables are quickly cleared making room for those waiting. Can recommend the Spring rolls AND you get free China tea or coffee and you will not find better value in the City.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derek227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong Tea Bar also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Hong Kong Tea Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing