We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning hotel - wish I could have stayed longer!”
Review of Stattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stattons Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning hotel - wish I could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here last night as I had an interview in Portsmouth the next day. Such an amazing hotel, really gorgeous decor and attention to detail everywhere. Was greeted by a very friendly guy called Matt who made it seem like nothing was too much bother. Wish I could have stayed longer as it was a beautiful little boutique hotel. Gorgeous. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstie235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    149
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
404
60
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Really tastefully decorated, comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms. I was upgraded from a single to a double which was a nice surprise, and although I was only staying for a night I could happily have stayed for the whole weekend. Breakfast was great - contintental is included in the price and you get a lovely fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and lots of jams to go with your croissants and toast. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Only minor negative was that I could hear some noise from surrounding rooms, but it wasn't overly disturbing or surprising considering you are basically staying in a large old house. I'd definitely recommend to anyone visiting Portsmouth.

Room Tip: I'd probably personally want to avoid room 9 which is on the ground floor right opposite the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Nice little hotel in Southsea. Friendly staff. A little out of the main area. 5 min taxi ride to the wharf. Or a nice 20 minute/half hour stroll.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Lovely decor in this stylish hotel. The owners could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend to others & will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

From arrival to departure I was looked after and treated like a queen at this family boutique hotel. The label of boutique is more than deserving the decor, ambience, personalized service and mind-set of the hotel staff created an atmosphere with a sense of intimacy I felt like nothing was too much. There is a big gap between good service and excellent service and this hotel most definitely hit the excellent. I was in room number 3 which oozed with luxury and had a bespoke feel. The hotel was spotlessly clean and every shiny surface gleamed, The bar and dining room was superbly decorated, and there were chandeliers and artwork adorning the ceilings and walls. This was a business trip and I am already planning my own personal trip as this was without doubt a purely indulgent experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJBOOSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I've just returned from a 2-day recreational stay at Stattons, which is a couple of minutes' walk from the seafront at Southsea. The car park had a space for each room; it was quite a tight entry because the road is so narrow, but nobody seemed to have a problem getting in. The front door opened before I had even rung the bell, and I was taken straight to my single room, on the second floor. It was a decent size for a single room, light, bright and beautifully decorated, furnished with a bed, bedside table, wardrobe, dressing table, two mirrors and Sky TV. The ensuite had a lovely rainhead shower; there was plenty of hot water, and the toiletries provided were of high quality. Both room and suite were immaculate. I found it a little difficult filling the kettle because the freestanding washbasin was quite small. Being the first to arrive, all the room doors were open so I had the chance to take peek at the accommodation; there was a double on the ground floor and three doubles and a single on each of the first and second floors. Every room was decorated and furnished very differently, and to a high standard. I had the continental breakfast, which is included in the room price; there was fresh and dried fruit, yoghurt, nuts, cereal, toast and croissants. The waitress was delightful; charming, friendly and helpful. There are additional various cooked options, ranging from beans or eggs or mushrooms on toast at £3.25 to a full breakfast at £7.50. Although there is no restaurant at the hotel, there is a bar. The information in the rooms includes local recommended restaurants, along with sample menus. The staff are also happy to provide takeaway menus, and any crockery/cutlery required; I didn't make use of this facility, but it's a nice touch. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjanea104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

All staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They were very accommodating and their response to any particular requests was highly positive. The hotel had been furbished in a very attractive style throughout. The ample continental breakfast provided a full range of choices and there were other options had I chosen to have them. A full Sky package, on a good size TV, in my room was a real plus as was free Wi-fi. Onsite parking was another real positive. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, so much so that I intend to return and stay at the hotel when I visit the area in the future. Thank you for helping to make my stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Ring the manager before you visit to discuss the room type/size that you want. They are very helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stattons Hotel

Property: Stattons Hotel
Address: 6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stattons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with lounge bar. Free high speed internet and secure off road parking. Minutes from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. The Mercer Collection's A La Carte sister restaurant The Kitchen Southsea is 30 seconds walk away with The Florence Arms Gastro Pub just next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Stattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing