We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wished we had stayed longer!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stattons Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wished we had stayed longer!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent three nights from 23rd October 2013, we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff, room was very cosy and stylish. Shower room was very small but adequate, bed was realy comfortable, parking was a bonus, we parked on arrival and didn't use again untill we left for home on Saturday. Only one little moan the towels were not changed on the second day, breakfast was superb plenty of choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found a room clean and comfortable. We are sorry to hear towels weren't changed , we're sure reception staff would've been happy to change them for you if they knew. We do apologize for that.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    145
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
392
58
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is my second stay at Stattons and I have already booked my return trip for 2014. I stayed in one of the single rooms which, as described, was small, however, it was clean, warm, well furnished and for a couple of nights comfortable. Breakfast was excellent on both mornings. The staff took the trouble to acknowledge that I had stayed there before which I think is important and they were all friendly and professional. I was in Southsea for the Great South Run. Breakfast was served earlier than usual on Sunday so that the runners staying there were well prepared for the run and did not have to rush. There are cheaper hotels in Southsea but you get what you pay for. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It is one of the best I have stayed in anywhere in the UK. Their attention to detail is excellent. With an onsite carpark being an added bonus particularly with the limited off road parking in that area. Overall very impressed once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC123xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We were happy to see you at Stattons again. It's the best compliment when our guests recommend us, so thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year!

Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have stayed in Stattons on 4 occasions for the GSR weekend. It is an excellent hotel with high standards of service, cleanliness and comfort. It's in a great location to the seafront and just a 10mins walk to Southsea shopping precinct which is just perfect for us. We like the little bar area in the hotel not to mention the enjoyable 'Farmer's Breakfast' which was cooked to order with fine tasty produce. All the staff are especially friendly and helpful and we always look forward to seeing them again each year. Nothing is too much trouble. We will be back again and would not stay anywhere else when visiting the Southsea/Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandadelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It's always nice to have you here at Stattons. We're glad you enjoyed your stay again and we are looking forward to welcoming you next year!

Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Originally was going to stay at the Florence hotel but had plumbing problem so they upgraded us to executive suite in the stattons. When we got there we were greeted by a lovely young woman and she made us felt really comfortable. She was also lovely and very helpful in teRms of trying to meet our needs. The rOom was perfect for our personal needs and the occasion we went for which was our anniversary. It was clean, bed was comfortable, and spacious. The breakfast in bed was also very good. Overall it was one of the best time we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to upgrade our guests if possible. Thank you for choosing The Mercer Collection for your special occasion. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are coming to Portsmouth again!

Best Wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now for business reasons and will definately be returning as the hotel is of the highest quality.

The staff are very professional and friendly and make you feel at home, which helps when you want to relax after a hard days work. The receptionist (Akvile) stood out as a real asset to the hotel and nothing was a problem for her.

I would recommend this hotel if ever you are in Southsea, a real gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are glad you enjoy staying at Stattons. It's always nice to have you here. We're looking forward to welcoming you next week!

Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for the evening after proposing to my girlfriend and what a great choice. The staff at the hotel were nothing short of brilliant, helping me with special arrangements for the evening. The rooms are furnished to the highest standards and the location is fantastic - in a quiet area but within walking distance to local nightlife. Breakfast in bed was served beautifully! highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for choosing Stattons Hotel for such a special evening! We enjoyed having you here and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes to you and your fiancee.
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Picked this hotel at random should have bought a lottery ticket on the same day it was very good, very clean and comfortable, the staff, especially Aqua the receptionist, were very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Our visit was to see the historic dockyards, including the Mary Rose, and although the hotel is in Southsea, we found the walk quite easy along the front, and when we got tired we used our bus passes on the frequently run No. 1 bus. We would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jar6630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable and staff friendly. Please do not hesitate to visit us again!

Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stattons Hotel

Property: Stattons Hotel
Address: 6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stattons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with lounge bar. Free high speed internet and secure off road parking. Minutes from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. The Mercer Collection's A La Carte sister restaurant The Kitchen Southsea is 30 seconds walk away with The Florence Arms Gastro Pub just next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing