We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem.”
Review of Stattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stattons Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here on a business trip for 2 nights. I stayed in the small single room (the description is right!) which was indeed small but beautifully decorated & very comfortable. You couldn't really stay more than a couple of nights in this room as you wouldn't fit anything bigger than an overnight bag, but I would happily stay longer in a larger room. The hotel was lovely throughout, the staff were really friendly and welcoming and breakfast was fabulous and there was free parking and wifi. I couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Penny480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your review; we are pleased the room suited your needs and that you found it comfortable. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the hotel décor and took advantage of the free parking and Wi-Fi. Please do not hesitate to give us a call if you are planning another stay in Portsmouth and we will happily accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hey,
Booked the standard room for the weekend and it looked like a premium room, had a Barth in the bedroom :)
Very friendly staff!
Don't be shocked by the look from the outside of the hotel inside is good looking.
P.s. No extra charge for breakfast i'm bed ;)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for the review, we are pleased that you were happy with your room. We are glad you found the staff ‘very friendly’ as this is how they aim to be! Thanks again for the review, we really appreciate it and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived around 2pm on a Saturday, having booked up for the one night for a birthday weekend away – aiming to get to Portsmouth's Historic Dockyard in the afternoon. Fortunately there were plenty of parking spaces at the hotel and we were able to check in early. The hotel is Victorian with large windows and high ceilings and the room had been modernised and tastefully done in black and white and was very comfortable. The toiletries were great quality, the fluffy white towels were nice and thick, the TV was flat screened and the en-suite bathroom was a good size. The ease of the card system that opened all doors (ie. the main door and your own door) was very efficient and worked seamlessly.

We had spotted a nice looking pub nearby the hotel called The Florence Arms as we had driven up and later discovered it had an older crowd of regulars in the main - we popped in for a drink later that night. They served food which looked great but by the time we got there we had already eaten at The Gunwharf Quays at the harbour. There was an option to have booked the hotel restaurant which was located across the road but we had decided to eat out. If you stay for two nights then I'd suggest eating in the pub as the menu looked great as did the food and the price was very reasonable. Of course I'm sure the hotel restaurant would also be very good but probably more expensive and if you want to eat there you have to pre-book in advance.

If you visit Portsmouth for the first time and you stick to the coastal route heading towards the dockyard it can take a few hours to get there – if you want to get there sooner, however, take a more inland route, as we did on our way back and it should take you under half an hour. If you want to park by the dockyard there is parking and we had no problem on Sunday when we left getting to the mulit-storey car park. It was about £4 for four hours so was fairly reasonable. It may be a different case on a Saturday when it's more busy but as we had only made it to the dockyard for 4pm we had to go back the next day to do the boat tour, visit the submarine and look around the HMS Alliance ! My advice is also look up discount vouchers in advance for the dockyard if you intend to go there – I found a 50% voucher online so we paid £28 for us both and not £28 each ! There is lots to do there and although your ticket lasts a year, in reality, over a weekend it just means if you don't get to do everything on the Saturday you need to go back on the Sunday !

Gunwharf Quays has every food chain you can guess at – although we found a pub called The Custom House which is huge and had a few drinks there followed by a lovely Mexican meal in Chilango – a chain I know but the food and service was excellent. It you want to avoid a chain you have to do your research and get out of town. The area is ideal if you want to do some shopping and then stop off for a drink and some food with outside seating.

The breakfast at the hotel was very relaxed – the latest seating is around 10.15am and you are asked what time you want breakfast the night before as they don't have many tables. You had a choice of a cooked breakfast and you got toast, juices and tea/coffee. It was again a very relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel, although, if you want to stay more centrally to the wharf area we did spot quite few other options which were much cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dabreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Professional and friendly welcome,room good but needs attention to detail in shower room(water pressure,shower base seal repairs not as should be expected,toilet seat and toilet paper cheap)..Breakfast excellent choice and quality. Outside again attention to detail broken light in car park and quite scruffy.More than acceptable however for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AdventurerNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this room for our wedding night. First of all I would say that Portsmouth has been in need of hotels like this for some time. The larged terraced house setting is perfect and the room we had was large and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were extremely polite and also discreet, which when you are staying for a romantic evening with your wife or partner is essential.

We only are breakfast there but the quality of the food and service we top notch.

Although we weren't there for long we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate this. It’s wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and found the room ‘large and spacious,’ also the bed ‘extremely comfortable’. We are pleased you found breakfast to your liking, we hope next time you will try our restaurant The Kitchen. Thank you again for the kind review and we would happily accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This, or one of its sister hotels, must be the only place to stay when visiting Southsea and or Portsmouth. Beautifully furnished rooms, friendly staff and great location.
Personally I would get rid of the awful looking bar (which takes up too much space) and make the lounge more comfortable. Provide a drinks list for the guests but store the drinks elsewhere, and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ACsevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The other half booked this room and expected the room to be bigger, according to professional photos. We received a very lovely and very friendly welcome on a very warm day, making sure that our car had been parked in their private car park. We were shown to our room and given a brief and non-intrusive introduction to the hotel.
Comfy double bed with plush carpet which was pleasing to the eye on arrival. I would recommend that the cleaner/management pay VERY close attention to cleaning, especially underneath the bed......it wasn't pleasant. The decor was individual and modern (but not 'in your face') but some attention to the shower kick plate needed as this came right out when shower was used exposing pipe work etc. beneath. The boutique en-suite also had, in my opinion, a stupidly small sink which meant that face washing resulted in a very wet floor! Other half was also grateful he had a shave before we left!
Very well located to the town centre and the beach.
Breakfast choice was ample and freshly cooked. Recommend smoked salmon and scrambled egg - gorgeous! Compliments to the chef. Also available was a small bar; we didn't use this but it certainly seemed well stocked for its size.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crackinstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 39 in Portsmouth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stattons Hotel

Address: 6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £68 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stattons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with lounge bar. Free high speed internet and secure off road parking. Minutes from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. The Mercer Collection's Fine Dining sister restaurant The Kitchen is 30 seconds walk away with The Florence Arms Gastro Pub the same distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing