We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rosie T
Derby, United Kingdom
Quality accommodation in a great location
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Feb 2024via mobile
We have stayed over the last few years in a number of the Mercer hotels and keep returning because we like them so much. This visit we booked Stattons for a change and we didn’t regret it . I have a feeling we’ll be booking the same room next time we visit Southsea .
The room (3) was spectacularly light and airy and beautifully furnished . The bed was super comfortable and it was so quiet at night we had the best sleep ever .
I phoned reception as I couldn’t find a hair dryer and within 5 minutes one was delivered to my door ! Cannot fault any of the service .
There has been quite a lot of investment since our last visit which was just before Covid and it shows ! Breakfast room ,garden room the reception moving location and the standard of decor .
We look forward to our next visit and hope to stay longer next time
Date of stay: February 2024
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£132
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
£165
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £150
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£99
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £99
0.4 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£96
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£77
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.7 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £123
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    £60
  • Priceline
4.1 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Twin Room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £49
  • ibis Budget
    £55
1.2 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £69
  • ibis
    £73
1.1 miles from Stattons Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Portsmouth
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
600
179
52
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
600
179
52
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Lovely building, decent interior, very clean, kitchen well stocked, helpful staff. Unlike when it operates as a hotel, no amenity products were supplied (not even shower gel) which was disappointing considering the price for private hire, and limiting check in check (4pm!) and check out (10am!) times, again compared to a hotel and the additional price. So despite booking over '3 days' Fri - Sun for a weekend, we would have been there for only 40hrs in total had we not paid an extra £400 for late check out which is essential for family breakfast and pack up etc. Overall a nice experience but left feeling like value for money wasn't there.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SamJamesZ2345DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reception H, Owner at Stattons Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after staying with us across two properties for your wedding weekend. It was a pleasure to meet you and your husband plus extended family. We were somewhat surprised to read your review today and do feel it's important to correct some misleading comments within your review regarding pricing and make clear that the property was booked as a "self-catering" stay. This ensures future bookers and review readers are receiving accurate details.

Two of our properties were booked, through an agency, and a 1pm check out was requested at both properties. Check out time is clear on reservation and, whilst some flexibility can be accommodated at times, this was 3 hours later than normal. As I'm sure you can appreciate this limits the time the housekeepers have to turn around the property so more staff are required to assist cleaning the large buildings thus reflected in the £200 rate for these additional working staff members. The rate was not £400 as suggested, this was for both of the properties booked. As you booked via an agency - rather than direct with the property itself - naturally fees are higher as they will add on their own commissions. You mention the stay was more expensive than a hotel stay but this is, of course, as you have access to additional property areas from a large kitchen, diner, lounge, cinema room etc. All these areas then require extensive cleaning more so than single hotel bedrooms.

Our understanding was the booking was for a "family get together" but it became clear on arrival this was in fact a wedding party with guests mentioning they'd all been told to pretend it wasn't a wedding. Guests seemed to have the understanding they were booked into a hotel, rather than a self catering holiday let which caused some confusion for your party as they had not bought items they perhaps would have needed.

Staff went out of their way to help your party from when the fire alarm was set off by one of your guests, to toiletries being requested and immediately provided (not normally given in a self catering property as most guests bring along their own). Not only were they provided but staff took them round to all of your guest bedrooms to help out.

In addition staff did allow both properties to check in early (well before 4pm), and took in both your shopping deliveries which had been arranged early without our knowledge. We also provided a pre stay tour of the properties, plus arranged another nearer the date for which you didn't arrive.

I'm sorry that - despite quite extensive staff care and attention (not usually part of a "self catering" stay) you felt the stay didn't provide value for money for your wedding group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

Beautifully decorated room, clean and comfortable. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Good food, including a great Sunday roast at the restaurant. Parking is easy, either provided street permit or chargeable car park. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank prodromoss2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Stayed here for 4 nights with a group of friends.We had a very enjoyable stay.We were in the Statton annexe a short walk to the main reception and where you go for breakfast.Our room was on the ground floor and was very comfy.large bed lovely shower room and bright and colourful decor.All the rooms seem to be decorated differently adding to the charm.The FlorenceArms Pub served excellent food with very friendly staff.I would like to mention Ellie who was so helpful,nothing was too much trouble.She and another receptionist carried cases,bags up upstairs and downstairs.She is a very valuable asset to these 3 hotels.Breakfast was a treat with a varied menu,the sausages are to die for.I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again
P

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenniferlV2138KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Strattons is one of 3 typical Victorian wealthy family houses converted to hotels with modern plumbing and electrics in a quiet residential area of Southsea. They share reception and breakfast rooms at the Garden Restaurant 50 yards along Florence Road. There is also the Florence Arms Gastro-pub a further 50 beyond. The busy and noisy cafes and bars of Palmerston Road are 10 minutes’ walk to the North West (I have walked it). There are a couple of convenience stores at the end of Beach Road about 5 mins walk. The sea front is 200 yards to the South with Southsea Castle, where Henry VIII watched the sinking of the Mary Rose, 10 minutes’ walk along the front. The famous painting of that day shows the English army’s tented camp in the bottom right corner on the site where the hotel stands today.
As is typical of this style of house, the main entrance (the family entrance) is up a flight of steps from the road to the first floor. There is no lift. For those with mobility issues there are 2 large bedrooms in what would have been the kitchen and service area on the ground floor with level access from the private, gated car park. There is an extra charge for this car park but the hotel can supply a temporary residents’ permit for free on-street parking.
My room was on the 3rd floor, in what would have been servants’ quarters. The original fireplace indicates it was probably an important servant, the house keeper or butler. It was a good-sized room with a firm but comfortable king-sized bed and room to move around it. It has a large flat screen HD TV fixed to the wall above the fireplace; also a strong, free wi-fi signal.
An en-suite shower room/toilet has been fitted along one side. It’s compact but with all modern fittings. It was a pleasure to find a shower not only with a door that closes properly but a simple on/off twist to the left and a clearly marked hot/cold twist to the right. It would have been nice to have a soap dish, somewhere to park the soap or shampoo bottle rather than hold it in my hand or drop it on the floor. Considering the distance from the boiler the hot water came through very quickly. Nice big towel too.
The only grumble I have with the room doesn’t actually affect me personally but a female guest has nowhere to sit and do her make-up and hair. The small table is covered with tea/coffee things and the chair is too low and desperately in need of re-upholstering. There is a full-length mirror but not one for the table or a light by it. The single room across the landing has all these but I cannot speak for other rooms.
The Garden Restaurant for breakfast is part conservatory, part well-appointed rooms. It has a pleasant busy ambiance. Orders are taken, food is served, quietly and efficiently. I did not hear any over-loud music. It serves a substantial full English breakfast and variations on that to order. I was disappointed to find very little fresh fruit on the menu; no blueberries or fruit salad. I would also liked to have seen my favourite, scrambled eggs with a slice of smoked salmon. Gluten-free bread and lactose-free milk are available.
All our group are in their late 70s with a variety of medical and physical problems. The staff looked after us cheerfully, adapting a menu to suit, carrying cases up stairs; nothing was too much trouble.
Value for money? Definitely. Would I go back? Yes! Would I recommend it? Yes!.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BobDelamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Great location, and with a car park, which ,if like me who needs counselling over his pride and joy, then it’s worth the small add on cost, parking in Southsea is a nightmare . We have just enjoyed a 3 night stay, b & b and must say the breakfast sausages ,from a local butcher, got to be the best ever Shall definitely be returning.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews