We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points and bad points”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hampshire Court Hotel
Ranked #30 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good points: location is very good; 5 mins walk from everything. Parking is free. Beds are comfortable. It's relatively cheap (but accommodation in Portsmouth seems ridiculously overpriced).
Bad points: everything is cheap and nasty - the soap (Doesn't work! No lathering), the cups and glasses, the bog roll etc. no complimentary biscuits or any niceties. Bath/shower was awful - it's the first time in 15 years that I haven't had a morning wash/shower it was so small and unusable. Breakfast was the absolute pits - left most of it because it was so poor (wouldn't normally do that!). Worst of all was the 1950s approach to customer service. You are told when breakfast is, told when you have to pay, and there are signs everywhere telling you not to do various things. Unnecessary. It was ok for one night, but can't see myself returning

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leemdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Arrived in Portsmouth with no idea of where i was going to stay for the night was just walking around and came across Hampshire Court Hotel was welcomed in for a single room £35 for the night including breakfast. Staff were freindly part of the reason i decided to stay another night located 10min walk from Gunwharf Quays so was ideal for me. Better than the £120ppn the Holiday Inn was trying to charge. Thumbs Up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed her for a couple days while I had exams. It's a traditional seaside B&B with a mishmash of decoration which has seen better days. It's a little rough round the edges and has the odd sun faded painting on the wall but the rooms were clean and quiet and did exactly what I wanted and expected for £35 a night. Friendly service throughout.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

On the whole the hotel is clean and tidy, it is quite dated but perfectly comfortable.

In the Bedroom the bed was comfortable, the room was quite compact it had a small tv, a fan and a lovely big wardrobe. There were clean towels daily.
The bath was a Half sized bath with a metal shower head attached to the taps, it was a bit of an experience but did the job perfectly well
The room itself was nice and quiet even tho it was next to a busy(ish) road.

The breckfast that was included was ok, It was a bit off putting that cereal was not keep in an airtight container but instead left in the large box the came in(its a business not just a family home) the eggs were very well cooked(hard yolk and a bit crispy), and generally looked a bit messy beans on the bottom an everything else chucked on top.
The young lady was very friendly.

For the money £55 for 2 per night including breckfast, I think the hotel is worth that money and I would return

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Friendly staff. Hotel well positioned a short walk from harbour. A bit of updating may be in order but I slept well in a peaceful room. The building has some interesting features and the lounge is relaxing. The coffee in morning gives you a good kick start and the breakfast is very generous. Pleasant and chatty staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My family and I stayed at the Hampshire Court Hotel in the October half term.Nothing was to much trouble for the staff they were amazing :) We were made so welcome and were really comfortable there.For breakfast we had Full English and unlimited toast and cereal's,the owner even offered my daughter a choice of yogurts as she can be a bit fussy! The atmosphere was very relaxed and homely we will definitely be going back next time we are in Portsmouth :)

Room Tip: Room one is brilliant for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devondumpling41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Rudeness, unwillingness to help and more rudeness with just about everything else (room, shower, decor etc.) average at best and rather run down at worst. With so many other good quality and recommended choices literally just down the road (for the same price or less) I'd have to say "give it a miss, guys!".

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OllieWam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dankelly_9, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Dear OllieWam I am appalled to read your review and I am very sorry that your experience was so poor. I would really like to get some more information from you in order to properly investigate what happened. Please would you contact me on dankelly@qhotels.co.uk at your earliest convenience. Regards Dan Kelly General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,291 reviews
1 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Court Hotel

Address: 29-31 Hampshire Terrace, Portsmouth PO1 2QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire court hotel is a family run business at the very heart of the historic port of Portsmouth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing