We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$119
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The George Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$76
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
1,067
136
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
136
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken bathwelcome drinkunderfloor heatingon arrivalsmall hotelfantastic hotelwedding nightbreakfast was deliciouslittle touchesfull englishparking permitcooked to perfectiona wonderful staysea frontbeautiful roomflorence armswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Whisked away by my partner for a night away from the children, brilliant welcome from staff, so very helpful, polite and informative. Wonderful surprise to have a complimentary welcome drink and bags taken to room. We have the superior room and it really was superior, jacuzzi bath and so many beautiful little touches.
I was unaware of everything as it was a surprise from my partner and it couldn't have been any better. And too top it off my partner proposed after a gorgeous breakfast!!!

Will definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella123033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Clarence for one night in the wild at heart room and were very impressed by the decor, underfloor heating in the bathroom, complimentary toiletries and water, free wi-fi and the huge comfy bed! We were even more impressed with the sunken bath in the room complete with bathrobes and slippers, aqua vision television and free movies!

We had a fabulous night after a walk by the sea and a bottle of champagne. The staff were extremely friendly and the complimentary welcome drink was a nice touch.

Nothing was too much trouble for staff and breakfast was lovely, especially the waffles! Our only complaint is no tea or coffee in the rooms, although complimentary in the bar area, as this would have added a nice touch to a small English hotel.

We would definitely recommend the Clarence and will be going back to explore the other rooms too! Very enjoyable weekend and stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stripey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the the Clarence staying in the Gold and Bronze room. We arrived early at the hotel, breakfast was still being served and Paula offered this to us which was a really nice touch. We declined and accepted a welcome pot of coffee before we walked along the promenade into Portsmouth . When we returned in the afternoon to check in the welcome drink was very much appreciated, so much so ,
we orderd a bottle for our room. The freshly cooked breakfast is fantastic with plenty of choice.
The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom with the White Company toileteries and Aqua vision a real touch of class
Paula,Louise Amber and Gordon were all so helpful, and they ensured a that we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: check hotel website to view rooms
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam_nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The reviews are correct; this was a wonderful place to stay. No complaints. It was beautiful; staff was very welcoming, attentive and gave good advice on restaurants, we stayed in the Monkey Room the heated towel rack and the large walk in shower are wonderful, breakfast was the best of the trip. We stayed April 4th and 5th. If we stay in Portsmouth again we definitely stay here and try one of the other rooms. Thank you for two wonderful nights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-as-you-can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We arrived having stayed there when this hotel first opened a few years ago and once again we were not disappointed. Louise met us as if we were long awaited VIP's coming to stay and could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms were extremely clean and well appointed with turn down service and lots of lovely white fluffy towels, slippers and bath robes, the food was delicious and the breakfast fit for a king, the staff including Louise and Gordon the night porter were all excellent and we were suitably impressed by their friendliness, professionalism and attention to every detail. We are looking forward to returning again and staying with you ............... THANK YOU!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and just fabulous!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyLaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews