We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked the Clarence Hotel whilst visiting my son in Southampton and what a great find. We stayed in the Monkey room ( room 8) which was fabulous. We have stayed in many lovely hotels around the world and this is definitely one of the best. The service was exceptional from check in to the amazing breakfasts., we will certainly not stay anywhere else when visiting this part of the country, well done to everyone concerned and thank you.

Room Tip: The Monkey room has a huge bathroom and shower rom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebSufffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
775
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is an absolute find, and no wonder the Clarence won the 2011 Award.
I stayed in the Cherry (Superior) Room and enjoyed the best night's sleep of my drive around Europe! This was a beautiful and stylish room with a high ceiling and state-of-the art bathroom. Also you'll find a rarity in the UK - aircon that works!
Maybe to differentiate themselves from the big chains, there are many freebies - welcome G&T, free internet (5 bar WiFi), free films, and free secure parking.
Best of all was the great welcome from the staff, with their genuine smiles - nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherJerseyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

The hospitality was excellent, the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfy and luxurious. The hotel is in a quiet location and is within easy reach of shops , beach, and Gunwharf Quays. The food was lovely it was nice to be able to have breakfast up to 11 am. Would definately recommend and return.

Room Tip: Gold and bronze room, luella cherry and gold room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaCheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is a small luxury guesthouse, so first off lets get rid of the notion that is is one of "those" small luxury hotels of the world.. But despite that minor negative it is superb.. The service is cracking and if you reserve the monkey room on the top of the house you will have the best room there is. The breakfast I had was the best in years and equal to any small luxury hotel. If I was going to Southsea again I would stay there But!! it's not Portsmouth where I had intended to stay and a bit of a taxi ride to get to Portsmouth. Full marks to the staff for great service. Free movies and internet.. It's difficult to fault the place with my initial observation as they could not have done a better job. If the decor was returned to some of the houses architectural origins it could be one of the luxury hotels of the world. It has the service, the quality, the friendliness and finesse

Room Tip: Ask for the Monkey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Upon arrival we were aided with parking our car, due to restrictions. We were given an extremely warm welcome and offered a drink. The staff were very friendly and explained about the gadgets in our room, which was very pleasant and tastefully decorated. I watched a free blockbuster film whilst bathing in the sunken bath. The bed was cosy and we slept well. The breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked. We frequently stay in Portsmouth and would not look to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janhealyrichard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Whisked away by my partner for a night away from the children, brilliant welcome from staff, so very helpful, polite and informative. Wonderful surprise to have a complimentary welcome drink and bags taken to room. We have the superior room and it really was superior, jacuzzi bath and so many beautiful little touches.
I was unaware of everything as it was a surprise from my partner and it couldn't have been any better. And too top it off my partner proposed after a gorgeous breakfast!!!

Will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella123033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Clarence for one night in the wild at heart room and were very impressed by the decor, underfloor heating in the bathroom, complimentary toiletries and water, free wi-fi and the huge comfy bed! We were even more impressed with the sunken bath in the room complete with bathrobes and slippers, aqua vision television and free movies!

We had a fabulous night after a walk by the sea and a bottle of champagne. The staff were extremely friendly and the complimentary welcome drink was a nice touch.

Nothing was too much trouble for staff and breakfast was lovely, especially the waffles! Our only complaint is no tea or coffee in the rooms, although complimentary in the bar area, as this would have added a nice touch to a small English hotel.

We would definitely recommend the Clarence and will be going back to explore the other rooms too! Very enjoyable weekend and stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stripey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing