We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandringham Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
1,067
136
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
136
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken bathwelcome drinkunderfloor heatingon arrivalsmall hotelfantastic hotelwedding nightbreakfast was deliciouslittle touchesfull englishparking permitcooked to perfectiona wonderful staysea frontbeautiful roomflorence armswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,009 - 1,014 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here in late June. We arrived and were welcomed in and offered a complimentary drink from the bar. Our room was on the first floor and was large with high ceilings and nice furnishings. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

After relaxing a bit the staff provided us a map to restaurants all within easy walking distance of the hotel.

The website gives photo's of the rooms. Ours featured a sunken bath tube large enough for only one in the main room (sunken in the floor) and a separate bathroom with a toilet and sink. If you are modest this might not be a good room choice for you but it worked fine for us and I enjoyed soaking in the tube and watching the TV built into the wall (I might upgrade my bath at home to offer the same setup).

We had the complimentary breakfast in the morning and it was cooked to order and delicious. I recommend the waffles while my wife had the English breakfast.

If you make it to Portmouth you won't find a nicer place to stay than the competitively priced Clarence.

Room Tip: Check the website to view the rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlandorbysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Located an easy stroll to the sea front in an lovely old property, recently converted to a boutique hotel, the rooms are beautifully furnished and the service was top notch. Anything you needed was cheerfully attended to, nothing was too much trouble. Charming small dining room served a very satisfying breakfast and to our delight , when the rain poured at dinner time, provided a light supper. Other dining options are a short walk away. The Portsmouth Naval Museum a cab ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhmarchbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked the Clarence Hotel whilst visiting my son in Southampton and what a great find. We stayed in the Monkey room ( room 8) which was fabulous. We have stayed in many lovely hotels around the world and this is definitely one of the best. The service was exceptional from check in to the amazing breakfasts., we will certainly not stay anywhere else when visiting this part of the country, well done to everyone concerned and thank you.

Room Tip: The Monkey room has a huge bathroom and shower rom
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janebSufffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is an absolute find, and no wonder the Clarence won the 2011 Award.
I stayed in the Cherry (Superior) Room and enjoyed the best night's sleep of my drive around Europe! This was a beautiful and stylish room with a high ceiling and state-of-the art bathroom. Also you'll find a rarity in the UK - aircon that works!
Maybe to differentiate themselves from the big chains, there are many freebies - welcome G&T, free internet (5 bar WiFi), free films, and free secure parking.
Best of all was the great welcome from the staff, with their genuine smiles - nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherJerseyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The hospitality was excellent, the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfy and luxurious. The hotel is in a quiet location and is within easy reach of shops , beach, and Gunwharf Quays. The food was lovely it was nice to be able to have breakfast up to 11 am. Would definately recommend and return.

Room Tip: Gold and bronze room, luella cherry and gold room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaCheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews