We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, with lovely staff”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on the 20/7/13 for 2 nights. We have never stayed in a boutique/expensive hotel but wanted a nice little break away. Yes the hotel is down a narrow street with no nice views from the windows but we weren't fussed about that. You get a permit to park on the street as there is little parking. When we arrived we were offered a complimentary drink, given the WiFi codes and a map of the area. We were showed to our room and given some info about it ( how to use the TV's, run the bath ect. You have complimentary bath robes, slippers and water. There are no tea and coffee making facilities but you can have all the tea and coffee for free you want in the lounge. We headed out to Gunwarf quays for some dinner. We took a lovely walk along the beach which too about 1/2 hour then got a taxi back which cost about £6. When we returned we had tea and coffee in the lounge and bought a bath set. our room had been turned down with chocolates left on the pillow and the air con on, which was lovely after a hot evening! The bath was amazing so deep and wide but did take a little while to fill up. Also its hard to get the temperature right, moving it the tiniest fraction could make the water go from warm to boiling hot. You get free movies on the tv and you can watch whatever is on the big TV on the bath TV. Our sleep was lovely, the pillows and quilt were extremely soft and the added luxury of air con was bliss. Breakfast was very yummy with a buffet of cereals, fruit, pastry's, yoghurt and fruit juices. Then if you want a hot breakfast you can order from the menu. I had an omelette and a full English (both very lovely but no beans?) I'm sure if you asked they would put some on i just don't like to be fussy. Sunday we went to the historic dockyard. My partner really enjoyed this, you have to book a slot time for the Mary rose and it was quite busy. A little advice, we stayed there for about 4 hours and it cost us £6 to park, maybe a taxi would have been better? Again when we returned to our room it had been turned down with more chocolates! Monday morning we were woken up twice at around 7-8 with people leaving as we had the wild at heart room which is next to the front door but it didn't bother us much. The staff were very helpful, they printed off our dockyard tickets for us, If we return to Portsmouth we would defiantly stay here again, we had a lovely time. Thank you to all of the staff especially G and Mark who were very hospitable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your review of The Clarence and information on the local area. It is always helpful to future potential guests when they give information on our attractions, taxis etc.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the facilities that the Clarence offers including the air conditioning especially in the extreme temperatures that we are experiencing at present.

With regards to beans, no problem next time just ask we. We can do most things just not the impossible.

Thank you once again for choosing the Clarence for your recent visit.

Kind Regards


Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

A great little hotel, fantastic service and lovely staff, very clean and what a breakfast, superb. Very helpfull from the time we arrived in scorching weather after a long drive. Would recommend to anybody and would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you Paul for your lovely review of The Clarence. We are always at hand to help our guests and provide information on the local area as there is so much to do and see.

Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.

Thank you

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel review

There are many good points about this hotel, but also some things that are not so good. The bad points may not affect all travellers but I think they are worth a mention as they are the reasons why I would not stay there again.

The hotel has very good reviews on trip advisor, so we decided to stay there for two nights while visiting the Goodwood Festival Of Speed.

I asked at the time of booking if there was on site parking. I was told yes, but on a first come first served basis. I phoned the day before checking in and was told the same thing. Parking is actually on the road and you have to find your own space displaying a pass. So if you are not keen on street parking ( I am not) then this is an issue.

We were shown to room 6 which looked good with the designer decor. Quite a small room with a bath at the bottom of the bed. A corner of the room had been made into a very small toilet with a sink. I asked where was the shower and was told there was only a bath. I asked how my wife could wash her hair and was told to put her head under the tap. There was no shower hose on the tap and you would have to be a contortionist to to actually put your head under it. The designer tap on the bath is almost impossible to regulate ( if you are the hotel owner I suggest you give it a go !!) Same applies to the tap on the sink. A few millimetres turn between warm and scalding hot!!

The staff were excellent especially the lady called Gee. She helped us with directions, a taxi and restaurant booking.

This feels like a slightly upmarket guest house but you pay around £130.00 per night without a shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robintaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we are a boutique hotel with 8 individually designed rooms which all have different features and facilities.

I have checked your reservation and you booked direct with the hotel and choose this particular room which gives a clear description of all the facilities. I understand that it may not be to everyone's taste this is where we can only hope that guests have done enough research before they decide to make the actual booking.

As for the parking. We have a small car park at the side of the hotel and also offer free permits for the on street parking. The particular weekend that you were booked was an event weekend and also we were experiencing a heat wave, as our location is only a few hundred yards from the seafront it was an exceptionally busy weekend. We do not like to guarantee any guests the car park as we find this would be unfair on the other guests who are also staying with us. I wouldn't have thought it would have been a problem as you were informed on two separate occasions before arrival it would be a first come, first served basis.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding Gee.

With regards to your remark on The Clarence being a "slightly upmarket bed and breakfast" I know of no other bed and breakfasts upmarket or otherwise that offers as standard:-

Premium welcome drink on arrival
Individually controlled air conditioning in all bedrooms
Blockbuster movies on demand
High speed Internet access
Aqua vision TVs in some of our executive rooms
24 hour room service for drinks and food
Midday checkout and much more

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as many other guests have done in the past.

I recommend to anyone reading this that it is worth contacting one of our team who are always willing to assist and help anyone. Or just check on our own website which gives full details of each room type and any specific requests you may have.

The Clarence Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is our first time travelling to Portsmouth and our first time staying at The Clarence Hotel. It was something special on both counts!
Paula & the team made us feel very welcome from the beginning. They have such an easy going way about them - quite unlike any other hotel we've stayed in.
The check-in was completely painless and we were issued with a parking permit for our car. We had no problem finding a space. The hotel is situated just back from the main Southsea esplanade in a nice quiet side street.
We stayed in the Monkey room and were impressed by the amount of space available. The room was spotlessly clean and the air-con was on! Very welcome for the temperature didn't dip below 25 during our stay.
The bathroom was splendid. Again very clean with a massive walk-in shower. It was just lovely.
Paula provided us with some much needed local knowledge about where to eat etc.
We went for a stroll and on our return were greeted by Jade who also filled us in about where to go etc.
When we got to our room the bed had been turned down (with a chocolate on each of our pillows) and the air-con had been switched on.
After an excellent nights sleep in the very comfortable bed we were treated to a splendid cooked breakfast.
And so it went on for the week. Nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.
We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monkey room and can highly recommend it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Many thanks for choosing the Clarence Hotel for your short break in Portsmouth. It was great that all the staff looked after you whilst you were staying with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the air conditioning, it has been such a godsend the last few weeks with the heat wave that we are having.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you both back in the future.

Jenny & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by Mark who had a welcome drink waiting for us in the bar, great start and then showed up to our room which was lovely. Lots of nice touches and Mark and Jenny could not have been helpful, with some local knowledge. It was great to be outside the main area but if required this was in easy reach. Great nights sleep as very quiet and the breakfast the next morning was superb. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Please remember that there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, they are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you choosing the clarence hotel to celebrate your recent anniversary. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to know that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Jenny, Mark and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent a wonderful night at this clean, friendly, and beautifully decorated boutique hotel situated close to downtown in a pretty area. The staff were amazing, and we loved the breakfast, the personal touches, and we can't speak highly enough about our experience!

Room Tip: Preview the rooms on their website to choose one suited to your own tastes. Each of the eight rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewBrunswickDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay. I am delighted the experience was exceptional!
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at some other time.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We chose to stay at the Clarence for our visit to the new Mary Rose exhibition in the Historic Dockyard.
We were greeted warmly on arrival with a complimentary drink and some very helpful advice on places to visit & eat nearby.
Parking didn't seem to be a problem; there are limited spaces within the hotel courtyard or you can park on-street with a permit from the hotel. We ended up doing both during our stay, no problems.
The room was beautiful, completely spotless with high quality furnishings; possibly the most comfortable 2 nights sleep we've had in a long time! The much-needed air conditioning was a relief from the warm weather outdoors!
The bathroom was amazing! Red sparkling tiles and a double jacuzzi bath that we'll remember for a long time.
Both breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice and freshly cooked.
Of the 3 staff we met, all were polite, very friendly and courteous, nothing was too much trouble. I managed to leave my camera charger in the room, I was emailed before I had even missed it and its in the post to me!
The Clarence is more than worthy of its high ratings on Trip Advisor, we will definately return and recommend it to anyone who is looking for high quality accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razorbill_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
930 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
689 reviews
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £82 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing