We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini break”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini break”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Clarence as part of a mini break to visit the Mary Rose and Gunwharf Quays. This is a really nice hotel that provides luxury and friendly personal service without pretentiousness.
One of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in and a tasty breakfast with homemade bread.
Will definitely stay here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your trip to Portsmouth. Our beds are indeed very comfortable, and I'm glad you enjoyed our Breakfast, the home made breads are certainally proving to be popular!
I hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    118
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
795
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stylish, elegant, individual, comfortable and welcoming. Everything a boutique hotel should be and everything the big chain hotels are not. Staff are excellent. Free WiFi and TV if you want it. Walking distance to so e excellent restaurants. Have stayed before and will stay again. Can't fault it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waipuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate such lovely feedback from returning guests. I'm glad you found us to be better than the larger hotels, its great to be able to offer everything you need for a comfortable stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back once again when you next return to the UK.
Kind Regards,
Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What an amazing gem of a hotel, tucked away down a quiet street. Fantatic, informative and attentive staff and a great breakfast, what more could you ask for? The standard of cleanliness and quality of the rooms is second to none, thanks to all of you for making our anniversary stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhr
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Yet again we were bowled over by the level of Excellent Customer Service, Hygiene, Luxury and the all round superior experience of staying at this outstanding boutique hotel.

The staff are all amazing and could not do enough for us, so attentive, yet we felt completely at home and relaxed and not bothered in anyway.

I will recommend this place over and over again and we are already looking at booking our next visit. 5* +++++

Room Tip: Go for the best - Luella Cherry. You will not regret it. Trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuartandlisa1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having so often stayed in the big chain Hotels, The Clarence - What a difference!!!

Here for the Great South Run. Hotel approx 400m to the start so perfect location.

Rooms and breakfast first class.

The owners could not do enough. Special mention to Jade also - she was brilliant!

Will be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 204RichardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having stayed at The Clarence twice before it was a no brainer on where to stay when we returned in October. This hotel is perfect, from the moment you arrive the service you receive is impeccable and continues until you reluctantly leave. The Clarence is a hidden treasure that anybody would be lucky to find and I am so glad I have. Thanks for a great break once again and look forward to seeing you all in July 2014 (or sooner if I get my last way)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had two nights at the Clarence and we cannot fault a single thing. We had travelled to Portsmouth for a family wedding and our stay topped off a fabulous trip. We were made welcome on our arrival, given a parking permit for the street outside, assisted with a taxi booking and local information for our first night, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice and top-ups if required. Our room was beautifully decorated, bathroom facilities were outstanding and our comfortable bed to die for! We cannot praise the hotel enough. Finally, we would like to thank Paula for her attention to every detail and her warm welcome on arrival. We cannot wait to return. We just need a good excuse to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank super_mum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing