We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great staff”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in the Luella Cherry room, room 5. This room is large and beautifully decorated. It has a lovely double spa bath which also has a tv. The tv in the main room is large and they offer free movies. They also provide a turn down service, with a typed message and a chocolate left on your pillow. On arrival you are offered complimentary drinks. We were greated by Gee on arrival and she offered assistance at anytime, even bringing up our complimentary drinks which we didnt have on arrival to our room later in the evening. The staff the next morning including Gee were friendly and talkative. I would highly recommend the Clarence Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for choosing the Clarence for your recent stay in Portsmouth. Many thanks for the kind words regarding the wonderful Gee. She will be over the moon that you have mentioned her in this review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our "Luella Cherry" room to your liking and enjoyed the facilities within it.

One of the best things for a small boutique hotel like us is the recommendation after guests have stayed with us. My brother-in-law was in Bali not so long ago and a few people he came across knew of our hotel through friends of theirs. Goes to show word of mouth is the best advert that a business can have.

Warmest Wishes from a slighter cooler UK

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    118
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
795
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels, but I felt compelled to write a review as this one is the best in which I have ever stayed.

My boyfriend booked a room for my birthday as we were seeing a concert in Portsmouth. We planned to go out into the city but the room with a jacuzzi was so lovely we never ended up leaving!

The room was very beautiful, cosy and clean. Included in the price were facilities like internet, tv, films etc. We also had clean towels, dressing robes etc. The room itself (like the rest of the hotel) was exquisitely decorated, and every minor detail considered.

We had breakfast in the morning which was absolutely delicious. We were offered a wide choice of buffet-type foods along with a cook-to-order menu. As a vegetarian I was given a very large number of options and the food was cooked to perfection.

Asides from the room, I particularly need to mention just how lovely the manageress and manager were. From the moment we stepped through the door we were taken care of and felt very comfortable. Jenny was a fantastic hostess, and made us feel right at home. As it was my birthday I was left a card with confetti on the bed which was such a lovely gesture. Nothing was too much trouble, and my boyfriend and I felt very welcomed.

I would give this hotel my highest recommendations. If you're going to Portsmouth then this would be an ideal hotel to try. And even if you're not planning a trip there, it's worth going to this hotel just to have a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digforfireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Clarence. It was a pleasure to look after you both whilst you were in Portsmouth for the Jamie Cullen concert at the Guildhall and I really enjoyed having a chat with you both (it's one thing that I do well lol!). I am glad that you enjoyed the whole experience and would love to welcome you back again soon.

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year

Regards

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Everything at this hotel is fantastic, the staff are friendly welcoming and helpful, for breakfast there is loads to choose from and it is delicious. The room was clean and fully equipped with a huge tv all the films you can watch a huge comfortable bed and a hydromassage spa bath we had a wonderful stay and i cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaroline51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and it was our pleasure looking after you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at The Clarence on a recent trip to Portsmouth. This is a lovely hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome with a welcoming drink whilst chatting about the local area, recommending places to eat and visit. Our Room (Wild at Heart) was superb with a sunken bath and absolutely faultless.We were impressed with the 'turn down' service with the chocolate and proverb on the pillows - a really nice touch. We were spoilt for choice for breakfast from porridge to full English breakfast and a variety of home made bread for the toast. All in all we could not wished for a better stay and welcome and would highly recommend a visit. We will definitely make a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Susan M,
Thank You very much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay here at The Clarence. Our Wild At Heart Room with Sunken bath and Aquavision Television is a very popular room so I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We take particular pride in our freshly prepared breakfast using only the finest ingredients and of course, our home-made bread selection.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Another stay at the Clarence Hotel which was as fabulous as ever, a gem of a find! Met and treat by the owners as if we were royalty. Complimentary welcome drinks set the scene for the hospitality afforded to all guests. We had a great nights sleep & enjoyed the powerful shower before having a superb breakfast. Looking forward to visiting again. Thank you, Nick & Joy

Room Tip: Not a bad room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyLaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Joy & Nick,
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was our pleasure to welcome you back again. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that all the staff made you feel like royalty!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another of our fabulous breakfasts!
Kind Regards,
Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Despite asking for an early checkin, we received a warm welcome and welcoming drink. The smell of baking bread was wonderful, and we were told it would be available for breakfast, it was worth waiting for. The room (no 3) is very comfortable, and has all that you could wish for. Excellent shower, free WiFi and LAN connectivity, superb and very comfortable bed, and room as A/C should you need it. On to breakfast, all you could ask for (and eat). Car parking is free and right outside the hotel (they provide the parking permit). Really faultless visit, and highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manny-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was no problem to have your room ready for you and I hope you enjoyed the Wedding you were attending.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Clarence soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Clarence as part of a mini break to visit the Mary Rose and Gunwharf Quays. This is a really nice hotel that provides luxury and friendly personal service without pretentiousness.
One of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in and a tasty breakfast with homemade bread.
Will definitely stay here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your trip to Portsmouth. Our beds are indeed very comfortable, and I'm glad you enjoyed our Breakfast, the home made breads are certainally proving to be popular!
I hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing