We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation time”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxation time”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stated at. We were greeted by very friendly staff at the door and offered a complimentary drink. We stayed in the Gold and Bronze Room which was fabulous! Everything was clean and fresh and we loved the TV in the bathroom! The beds were comfy and made for you in the evening. The hotel is located roughly 2 minutes from the seafront and a 5-10 minute drive to Gunwharf. We will definitely be returning as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
It was with such pleasure reading your review especially that you thought we were the best hotel that you have both stayed in. I'm glad that you enjoyed the Aqua vision TV in the bathroom where you can watch the latest blockbuster movies or listen to our downloaded music selection whilst soaking in our large baths.

We believe that our hotel is in an ideal location but of course this depends on what you are visiting Portsmouth for. We are only a 2 minute walk to the lovely seafront and a 5 minute taxi ride to the famous Gunwharf Quays and Historic Dockyard. We are positioned one street behind Clarence Parade so this allows our guests to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep rather than being on the main parades where there is constant traffic noise.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Jenny, Mark and all the staff at The Clarence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    121
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
806
31
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Myself and what was then my soon to be husband, were looking for a boutique hotel to stay at on our wedding night. We had heard that the Clarence hotel was one to try and we were not disappointed! we had asked if we could possibly drop our luggage off earlier than the check in time and this was met with the up most helpful staff. After our wedding day we then arrived at the hotel at 1am and even at this time of night, the staff were excellent. We were made to feel very welcome and the room itself was breath taking. The luella cherry room was unbelievably romantic and very luxurious. The premises was the cleanest, I and my husband have ever seen. All the little touches were perfected, right down to the chocolates on the bed. The breakfast in the morning was delious (I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on English muffins and my husband had a full cooked breakfast), even the breakfast buffet before this was to the highest standard. In short me and my husband could not recommend this hotel enough and we will definiately be returning for a stay of a lifetime.

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the luella cherry room for a couples special stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so kindly for your review and also thank you for choosing The Clarence to celebrate such an important day of your life. We are pleased that everything went to plan and that the icing on the cake as to speak was your stay at The Clarence to round off what was a wonderful day for you both.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back next year.

Have a great festive season!

Jenny, Mark and the Team at the Clarence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having read glowing reports of the Clarence we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Wild at Heart suite and couldn't fault the facilities. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and Jenny the host took the time to give us a map of the the area and mark out some points of interest as it was our first visit to Portsmouth.
We though that the price for the Clarence was very reasonable considering the size and facilities in the room and the owners have clearly put a lot of thought into delivering luxury accommodation but still with a very friendly feel.
Breakfast with homemade bread was delicious will definitely be returning next summer.
Thanks to all at the Clarence for a great weekend. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris21a2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to know that our guests feel that we are good value for money for what we offer here at The Clarence. Our rooms are unusual and quirky and have everything that guests require for a luxurious break. I'm glad you enjoyed our homemade breads and at the moment we have delicious homemade pannetone for the festive season.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next summer where we hope you will have another relaxing break.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

The Clarence Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks District, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the second we arrived we just knew that this place was different. All the staff were so polite & professional. The room we chose was Amazing with our sunken bath & music of choice. Nice Noise Free Location about 2 minutes from the sea ( should you need it ). The smoked salmon, scrambled on english muffin was to die for & typing this now is making my stomach rumble. This hotel was 1 hell of a find We Will Definately Return. Its just 1 of them places where someone as sat down and thought about every single detail & Then Got It Right. WELL DONE.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so so much for your glowing review of the Clarence Hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We both look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in 2014.

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had booked a night in Portsmouth as I had a business meeting on Friday. We arrived early (as planned) to leave our bags at the hotel and to our surprise our room was ready - what an excellent start.

The room was very nice, the bed comfy and the en suite was spotlessly clean and very modern.

After a good nights sleep (well for me anyway, my snoring kept the better half awake!) we made our way to the very pleasant dining room. Breakfast was superb, an excellent selection and the fry up was to die for.

All in all an excellent nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure looking after you and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast as it is so important for hotels to get this right. We source all our breakfast ingredients from local businesses and I think this shows in the quality of breakfast that we serve here at The Clarence.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for another fabulous stay.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

All at the Clarence Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely welcome with a complimentary drink when we arrived. Room was beautifully decorated, bed comfortable, bathroom very stylish with a power shower with overhead and side jets. Breakfast was a feast with home made bread. Quiet location but within easy reach of Gun Wharf Quay and other attractions. Parking was easy with a permit supplied by hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 732kent2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although our Deluxe rooms are the smaller rooms they do have wonderful powerful showers with rain bars at both sides so it gives you a really good shower.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in lots of hotels in Portsmouth and this is the best in every aspect. Fabulous warm welcome and complimentary drink on arrival. Service is probably the best we have ever experienced and the breakfast, superb. A real little gem. If only more hotel's had the same manners and courtesy. Well done. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and it was wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be of a high standard. We strive to continue to offer our guests and future guests the very best of service and hospitality.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again next year.

Warmest wishes for the festive season

Jenny & Mark Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing