We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven!”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Me and my soon to be hubby stumbled across this hotel when planning a night out in Portsmouth. We are so glad we did! We recently stayed there for the fourth time and love very second. The staff are really friendly and welcome us in every time.

We are slowly working our way round the hotel to experience every different feature in there beautifully decorated rooms. The atmosphere is great and there is nothing more homely than being able to smell the freshly baked bread being prepared for breakfast. The breakfast is of an amazingly high quality and something we always look forward too. Can honestly say it's one of the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

we have stayed at other hotels in Portsmouth but since finding the Clarence we would not stay anywhere but there .not our first stay and it will not be our last. excellent in all aspects. the hospitality was wonderful.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

As soon as you arrive at the hotel, the staff make you feel like one in a million, from the welcome drink, to the turn back service in the evening, the eye for quality service which the staff have here is fantastic. The decor is absolutely fantastic in the room, and I feel there is nothing greater than being able to relax in a hot bubbly bath and watch a film at the same time on the TV. My partner and I often visit Portsmouth and there is no other place that I would rather stay at, other than the Clarence. Having tried other hotels in the past around the area, nothing compares in both room quality, and staff persona, to the Clarence hotel.
I would strongly reccommend the fantastic breakfast which they offer, which displays a wide variety of choice, alongside the quality of the food clearly presented. Everything, including the homemade bread for the toast, highlighted the eye for quality which the hotel has, and I would strongly reccomend the hotel for all occassions to anyone.
Another key point to mention, is the fantastic location which the hotel has in regards to local shops, the sea front, and also many clubs and bars in the area. Portsmouth is jam packed with things to do for people of all ages, and myself and partner, will continue visiting for many more years.
Thankyou the clarence once again!

Room Tip: If looking to make your weekend away extra special, Luella Cherry room is overly spacious with a jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freakypinkpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you so much once again for your glowing review of our small unique hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Jenny & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here and the second time we've given it 5 out of 5. Fantastic little hotel, but back from the sea front. Great service and beautifully decorated rooms. We will definitely be back and I also plan to book a surprise stay there for my parents on their wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: We love the Follow your Heart or Wild at Heart rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemanji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review! It is always great to hear that guests enjoy their experience of the The Clarence time and time again.

We hope to see you sometime soon.

Jenny & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hi to all staff at The Clarence I booked the Lullela Cherry room for my husbands 40th birthday surprise I couldn't have asked for better. The staff were wonderful keeping my surprise secret, the welcome we got was wonderful so pleasant. The room was lovely so clean and gorgeous felt like child at Christmas. The spa bath was the best so relaxing, breakfast we were told was going to be a treat and they wasn't wrong it was lovely the service outstanding. I also brought 2 souvenirs from our stay 2 union flag dogs who have been named Clarence and Cherry ( oh and a duck ooopppps nearly forgot him)
I would like to wish all the staff a very Merry Christmas and I will be planning our next visit next year to the same room again can't wait xxxxxxxxx p.s thank you for my husbands birthday card such a personal touch xx

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review. We are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your husband's 40th birthday. Luella Cherry is such a wonderrful room to relax in especially as it has the double hydrospa bath and Aqua Vision TV..

We wish you both and your families including Clarence, Cherry and Ducky a wonderful Christmas.

Look forward to seeing you next year.

Merry Christmas

Jenny, Mark and All the Clarence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly & helpful approach on booking. Very warm welcome on arrival, the beautiful smell of home baked bread adding to the atmosphere!
Lovely decor - we stayed in The Monkey Room while my son & his fiancée had the Gold & Bronze Room.

Breakfast is superb - the flavour of those mushrooms, those home-baked breads and the gluten-free breads provided for my wife - all creating a very memorable stay. Would I go back? Absolutely!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jonjoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Many thanks for your kind review and we loved having you here at the Clarence to welcome your son back from the Navy.

It's great that you enjoyed our homemade bread and next time you are here I will make your wife some of my malted fruit gluten free bread. My mushroom cooking methods are top secret, let's just say they might not be as healthy as they look!

We wish you and all your family a wonderful Christmas and hopefully see you all in 2014!

Warmest Wishes

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Attention to detail and service is paramount, this hotel gets top marks for the bedrooms and the breakfast is best we have ever had.
All the staff were very helpful, if you had to ask me what they could do better the answer was nothing......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aghostship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Customer service is paramount in this day and age and we strive to continue to offer our guests the very best in hospitality.

We wish you both a very Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year.

Hopefully see you 2014!

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
961 reviews
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £72 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing