We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Clarence is a fantastic little hotel. We wanted a short break with peace and quiet as my husband has been unwell. The Clarence is beautifully clean, fantastically decorated. When you arrive a complimentary drink is offered. There is tea and coffee whenever you want it, and they really look after you. We had a lovely bath in our room and an aqua vision television. A lovely touch. The breakfast is amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend the Clarence. Jenny and Mark are lovely as is Paula.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break with your husband who has been unwell and found the Clarence to be peaceful and relaxing for you both.

Thank you also for the comments regarding breakfast, especially as I am the chef.

We hope that your husband is feeling much better now and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Regards

Jenny, Mark & Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's really more a nice B&B than a luxury boutique hotel. Constant noise of the cooling and A/A during the night. Good customer service and breakfast. Nice room. Well located in Southsea, but in a secondary rear street full of garages.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Marc,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the Air Conditioning Unit. If you had made us aware of this at the time of your stay then we could have tried to resolve this for you. We have in the past found that guests sometimes open their windows and have the heating on the air conditioning unit at the same time or they may have it on the wrong setting. This often creates a noise as it is very difficult for the unit to know whether it is hot or cold air that it requires.

We are pleased that you found the room, service and location to be good. We try to be as honest as possible in all our advertising, advising potential guests that we are a small boutique hotel with 8 bedrooms which offers much more than the standard bed & breakfast such as the following:-

Air Conditioning
Blockbuster Movies-on-Demand
Complimentary premium welcome drink
Aquavision Televisions in bedrooms which have baths
Turndown service with chocolates
Luxury White company toilietries
24 hour room service
24 check in facility
Midday check out which no other hotel in Portsmouth offers as standard

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Regards

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My boyfriend treated me to a surprise romantic night away at the Clarence Hotel, it was the perfect choice. Excellent hospitality,flawless service and beautiful decor throughout. We stayed in the Monkey (soon to be Birdcage!) room, which was spotless, well appointed and very comfortable.
Jenny & Mark were very friendly but complete professionals, and we will definately be back to try the other rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It was very nice being able to welcome you both to The Clarence and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the "Monkey" room. We will be changing the "Monkey" room shortly to the "Birdcage". We will be using Cole and Son Fornasetti range which is a stunning and opulent wallpaper. We pride ourselves on our design and quality of our bedrooms and it's always wonderful to hear our guests positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to experience one of our other bedrooms.

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent our wedding night at the Clarence. A nice welcome drink when we arrived,We stayed in the wild at heart room. We had confetti , a heart shaped chocolate & a card on the bed waiting for us. A lovely clean room. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Thank you so much Vincent & Maree Downer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you Vincent and Maree for your lovely review. It was lovely to welcome you both to The Clarence on your wedding night.

We hope to be able to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Best Wishes

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent two nights at the Clarence whilst visiting our niece at University. What a great find. the accommodation was excellent, the breakfast was amazing but above all our hosts, Jenny and Mark, could not have been more attentive or professional. We have stayed in many hotels for the weekend around the country, but this is definitely one of the very best we have encountered and we recommend the Clarence unreservedly.

Room Tip: The shower in the Monkey Room is out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you Jane for your lovely review and it was wonderful talking to you both. I am extremely happy that The Clarence was one of the best hotels that you have stayed in on your travels.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again if you are in the area visiting your niece at University.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Warmest Regards

Jenny & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

After our wedding at the square tower came to an end my husband Nathan and I headed off to the clarence hotel to stay in the lovely cherry room. On arriving at 1030 we we're offered a complimentary drink. The barman had waited up for our arrival. After being shown to our beautiful room it was an extra lovely touch to find confetti and a wedding card from the hotel. Although only there for one night it is by far one of the nicest hotels my husband and I have stayed in and we'd love to return in the near future. The breakfast was amazing and the staff really couldn't do enough. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFredricaGoodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to look after you both on your special day. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us..

We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the near future.

Jenny, Mark and all the staff at the Clarence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Part of me would like to not write a review at all since this is a small boutique hotel of such quality that I don't want it to become full up the next time I'm in the area, but excellence deserves it's reward. Having stayed at other hotels in the areas was unimpressed,reliably average boring chain hotels even dropped their standards for this city but I was resigned til on a recommendation we tried the Clarence and were delighted. Immaculately clean, so so comfortable down to beds, proper duvets (not the stiff cardboardy variety) pillows, etc. there are even proper electric sockets conveniently placed around the room (when waste last time you saw that?) to charge phones etc. a good little bar, a welcome drink! Great service, a delicious breakfast, fresh and varied. Spectacular double jacuzzi bath in Luella Cherry. Their standards would stand the test in any city/seaside town/countryside and form an oasis of relaxation in Portsmouth. Thank you. We will return, hope you aren't full!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm delighted you chose to share your experience in spite of your reservations! It's great when our regular guests recommend us to their friends and colleagues, its the highest form of praise for all our efforts. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon (if we have space!)
Kind Regards, Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £71 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing