We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem tucked away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little gem tucked away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Do not worry about driving off the main seafront road, past all those faceless large hotels. Take a turn into a tiny back road and hidden away, a little gem awaits! OK it's not so hidden but you get the gist! As many other reviewers state, a warm welcome awaits. Having arrived by car, my husband popped inside the hotel to ask about parking. Out came Jenny with parking pass in hand and helped us with the luggage. She welcomed us into the hotel and straight into the bar area where she offered us a drink. When finished, we headed to our room and she had already taken up our luggage. Great from my point of view as we were on the top floor with no lift. Do not be put off, the stair cases are compact and not steep. The room was lovely and had everything you need for a short break. I had deliberately booked a room with a bath as I love to have a good soak. The water pressure was a little slow so it did take some considerable time to fill the bath, but the heated bathroom floor makes you feel very relaxed so it really did not bother me. A nice touch was the TV at the end of the bath! It fed off the main TV in the bedroom so my husband and I could watch the same film while I enjoyed my bath! The whole hotel is well maintained and very clean. The breakfasts were very tasty and plentiful! If you wanted something off the menu, Mark and Jenny were very accommodating. While my husband and I knew what we wanted to do and see over the two days we stayed at the hotel, we did hear both Mark and Jenny helping other guests with their "what to do" dilemmas. They are both very good hosts. My husband and I highly recommend this lovely little hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired, choose a downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
775
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Hants
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Having stayed in the local 'chain' hotels on our many visits to Portsmouth, we wanted something a bit more special this time and The Clarence definitely offered us that. We stayed for two nights and arrived during some truly horrific weather to a warm bar area and a welcome drink. Mark and Jenny were very welcoming and showed us to the beautiful 'Black and Gold' room which is situated at the top of the hotel. Despite the howling winds outside, the room was warm and cosy, helped by the heated floor in the bathroom. The dressing gowns and toiletries gave a real sense of luxury and the aqua tv in the bathroom meant it was quite tempting to spend the weekend in the comfort of the room!
Breakfast was amazing- a choice of fresh fruits and cereals and plenty of options on the cooked breakfast menu; I highly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg muffin! Tea, coffee and toast were readily available and topped up. I looked forward to the breakfast on the second morning as soon as i'd finished it on the first!
We would definitely recommend the Clarence over any other hotel in the city- tucked away luxury and worth every penny. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifitrixie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Mark and Jenny are friendly and chatty owners, relaxed, informal.

Immaculate room. Huge attention to detail. Would have liked a bath not just a shower but my own fault for not checking the room spec. as it was a last-minute booking.

Not the cheapest, but why take risks? No dinner option, but very happy with a panini when we arrived, saving us a trip outdoors into a hurricane.

Room Tip: Downstairs room by reception does not have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Clarence is a fantastic little hotel. We wanted a short break with peace and quiet as my husband has been unwell. The Clarence is beautifully clean, fantastically decorated. When you arrive a complimentary drink is offered. There is tea and coffee whenever you want it, and they really look after you. We had a lovely bath in our room and an aqua vision television. A lovely touch. The breakfast is amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend the Clarence. Jenny and Mark are lovely as is Paula.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short break with your husband who has been unwell and found the Clarence to be peaceful and relaxing for you both.

Thank you also for the comments regarding breakfast, especially as I am the chef.

We hope that your husband is feeling much better now and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Regards

Jenny, Mark & Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

It's really more a nice B&B than a luxury boutique hotel. Constant noise of the cooling and A/A during the night. Good customer service and breakfast. Nice room. Well located in Southsea, but in a secondary rear street full of garages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Marc,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the Air Conditioning Unit. If you had made us aware of this at the time of your stay then we could have tried to resolve this for you. We have in the past found that guests sometimes open their windows and have the heating on the air conditioning unit at the same time or they may have it on the wrong setting. This often creates a noise as it is very difficult for the unit to know whether it is hot or cold air that it requires.

We are pleased that you found the room, service and location to be good. We try to be as honest as possible in all our advertising, advising potential guests that we are a small boutique hotel with 8 bedrooms which offers much more than the standard bed & breakfast such as the following:-

Air Conditioning
Blockbuster Movies-on-Demand
Complimentary premium welcome drink
Aquavision Televisions in bedrooms which have baths
Turndown service with chocolates
Luxury White company toilietries
24 hour room service
24 check in facility
Midday check out which no other hotel in Portsmouth offers as standard

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Regards

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My boyfriend treated me to a surprise romantic night away at the Clarence Hotel, it was the perfect choice. Excellent hospitality,flawless service and beautiful decor throughout. We stayed in the Monkey (soon to be Birdcage!) room, which was spotless, well appointed and very comfortable.
Jenny & Mark were very friendly but complete professionals, and we will definately be back to try the other rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was very nice being able to welcome you both to The Clarence and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the "Monkey" room. We will be changing the "Monkey" room shortly to the "Birdcage". We will be using Cole and Son Fornasetti range which is a stunning and opulent wallpaper. We pride ourselves on our design and quality of our bedrooms and it's always wonderful to hear our guests positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to experience one of our other bedrooms.

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent our wedding night at the Clarence. A nice welcome drink when we arrived,We stayed in the wild at heart room. We had confetti , a heart shaped chocolate & a card on the bed waiting for us. A lovely clean room. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Thank you so much Vincent & Maree Downer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you Vincent and Maree for your lovely review. It was lovely to welcome you both to The Clarence on your wedding night.

We hope to be able to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Best Wishes

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing