We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great stay at this hotel. Excellent room and friendly service. Highly recommended! Welcome drink on arrival. Great breakfast included with room price. Complimentary wifi too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missdiane6701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
774
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for one night with my daughter. The attention to detail was fantastic, from our welcome glass of wine to the tasty selection of home-made breads at breakfast. The staff are attentive and extremely friendly without being OTT. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: One note of caution - the only available room was the 'follow your dreams' room, which didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful, room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was all high quality ingredients and a good choice. Would definitely go back there again. Not too far from the Historic Dockyard where it was easy to park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM-IGCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We found this to be a very clean and tidy small Hotel that the owners have obviously taken a lot of trouble in decorating and refurbishing. The breakfast was excellent. We do find it to be irksome not be provided with a kettle in the room as being able to make your own cuppa at any time is something we like to be able to do. I know the owner will say that drinks are available at the bar but its just not the same. We thought it a little too expensive in comparison with similar accommodation elsewhere. I would suggest slightly less enthusiastic use of air fresheners in the room. Although the Hotel is well located only a short walk from the sea front the view from the room was the uninspiring aspect of the back of the terrace opposite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundthenextcorner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I have just spent part of our honeymoon here and we were staying in the gold room. As other reviewers have mentioned we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who offered us complimentary drinks whilst we got checked in, and then escorted to our room to which our luggage had already been taken. We were shown all the facilities of the room which was very nicely decorated. The bed had been sprinkled with tiny red heart confetti, and there was a marriage congrats card to us from the hotel staff which was a lovely gesture and greatly appreciated. The flowers and bubbly that I ordered were all ready and waiting in the room too. We were greeted by the friendly co owner downstairs in the morning who proceeded to wait on us hand and foot with one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel. Kudos to him and the chef! Both my wife and I had the most restful two days staying at the Clarence hotel, and the owners and staff really helped us to have the most memorable wedding days. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweeney61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear sweeney61

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially on such a special occasion.

Thank you for complimenting our wonderful staff who are always working so hard to try and ensure that our guests feel comfortable and well looked after whilst they are staying with us. I would like to extend our thanks to you and say thank you for being such wonderful guests. Our job is made so much easier when we have people like you staying with us.

We hope that you will return sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights when I cam to Portsmouth for a friends wedding and cannot speak highly enough of the rooms and indeed the staff. We arrived quite late but were treated to a welcome drink and a friendly service. The breakfast that was included was as good as any I've had and the choice was plentiful. I stayed in the Monkey room on the top floor and the room was beautifully appointed and the only thing missing was in room tea and coffee facilities (although these are readily available from downstairs. There is free parking at the hotel where they will issue you with a residents parking permit. The location is excellent as you are just a short walk from the local high street or just a 5 minute drive from Gun Wharf Quay and the Spinnaker.

Room Tip: Each room has an individual style so research before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paullewisjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Paullewisjersey,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us when you were attending your friends wedding.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice welcome. Room generally comfortable and clean.
The bath proved difficult for my husband. Possibly a bath mat might have helped. We should have asked! Water pressure was poor but that was explained. No drink facilitates in the room but they did provide free tea and coffee at the bar. Good position to visit Portsmouth

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to have bath with hand held shower head, others shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs030cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review and that you found the Clarence to be comfortable and clean.

I am sorry that your husband found the bath to be difficult, had you told us at the time of your stay we would have provided you with a bath mat immediately. I know that Paula our General Manager offered you another room when you were given your in room check in as you weren't too keen on the sunken bath. However, you decided that you would be fine. It is always best to contact the hotel if you have any preferences on shower/bath etc as all our rooms are quirky with different features. We are more than happy to assist with requests and accommodate where possible.

As mentioned many times before over the years we do not offer tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but offer unlimited quality tea and coffee in our lounge. Should you wish to take this to your room then we are more than happy to provide a prepared tray of your choice.

We are pleased that you found the location to be good for visiting all the attractions that our great city has to offer. We are a short taxi ride to the famous Gunwharf Quays which costs around £4.50 each way and should you wish to walk along our beautiful esplanade then this takes around 30 minutes.
We also have a very reliable bus service which is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

Thank you once again for review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing