We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First stop at the Clarance”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our First stop at the Clarance”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a Gem of a hotel, from the welcome received when we got to the door, to paying the bill it was a pleasure to be at the Clarence.The attention to detail is second to none, if only all hotels were like this ( Every time you go away ) the room was great and we could not have been looked after better it will not be long until we ( Come back and stay )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Such lovely comments! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's not often guests find paying the bill a pleasure! I very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    122
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
807
31
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have been staying in the Clarence hotel regularly for the last few months and have been so happy with the service and standard from the team that I feel compelled to write this review. The friendly welcome received and attention to detail that this hotel provides is absolutely superb. The rooms are fantastic, the food is the best I have tasted and the friendly nature of all the staff is of the highest standard. There is only one place that I will stay from now on when i'm in this area and this hotel is it... It even has some off street parking if you manage to get in early enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jon M, It has been a pleasure looking after you for the last few months, may you continue to stay with us every time you visit Portsmouth! I'm determined to get you to try all 8 rooms! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards, Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I decided on a break to celebrate our Ruby Wedding we had chosen to go to Portsmouth so then looked for a hotel after reading other reviews we choose the Clarence on arrival we where welcomed by Carole and made to feel very comfortably . We enjoyed a welcome drink while our bags we taken to our room.
This small and excellent hotel is very highly recommended and rightly so .
Breakfast was excellent and so was the service.
Thank you to the Clarence and staff for their attention.
Chris. & Terry

Room Tip: We where on front but very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Terry B, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your Ruby Wedding Anniversary Break here at The Clarence. Carol has not been with us very long so it's lovely to get such positve feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to The Clarence the next time you visit Portsmouth. Kind Regards, Paula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my fiance. What a treat. We had a very warm reception and a well received welcome drink. Whilst enjoying our drink in the comfortable lounge our luggage was whisked up to our rooms, what service.
We stayed in the 'Follow your Heart' room and were not disappointed. It was tastefully decorated with free standing bath within the room. My only criticism is that the room could have been slightly larger, but would not score the hotel any less because of this.
Another wonderful touch was the selection of movies on offer that were free to watch. We haven't ever stayed at any other hotel with this facility so was a wonderful way to pass time within the splendour of the room.
Turn down service was also on offer, which we took advantage of. The chocolate was a welcome extra.
Breakfast was also a delight.
I cannot find anything bad to say about about this place. I wish there were more places out there like this. Portsmouth is a long way from home, but I would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area and try out one of the other rooms.

Room Tip: The hotel has limited parking, but do not panic there is ample road side parking and you are provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My partner and I decided to book a room for an evening as a little treat to ourselves. From the moment we walked in we were instantly made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed a complimentary drink at the bar and our bags were carried to our room. We felt like royalty! We were shown to room and a very helpful lady showed us where everything was. The room was amazing and very luxurious! The bath was the best bit and we enjoyed the lovely bathrobes and being able to watch TV in the bath as well as from the bed. The hotel booked us a table at a local restaurant and we also received a parking permit which alleviated any parking worries. The staff phoned to check if we were ok in our room after we were a bit worried about the volume of the surround sound upstairs but this was sorted very quickly and we had a lovely nights sleep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a real treat and some luxury and great value for money. Best hotel I've ever been to and amazing service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelJackson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great stay at this hotel. Excellent room and friendly service. Highly recommended! Welcome drink on arrival. Great breakfast included with room price. Complimentary wifi too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missdiane6701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for one night with my daughter. The attention to detail was fantastic, from our welcome glass of wine to the tasty selection of home-made breads at breakfast. The staff are attentive and extremely friendly without being OTT. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: One note of caution - the only available room was the 'follow your dreams' room, which didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing