We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel Adjacent To The Seafront”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have stayed at the Clarence several times before, and always found the service to be excellent, the rooms are perfect and the breakfast exceptional (the bread is wonderful).
Most importantly, the hotel is immaculately clean and the bathrooms are first rate.
A warm welcome always awaits you which creates a really relaxing atmosphere.
We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Choose any room, they are all just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I went to southsea at the start of June for 3 nights. I had never stayed in any hotel before so didn't really know what to expect. As soon as you enter it looks very warm and welcoming. You are taken into the bar for a complimentary drink, everything is explained to you and your luggage is taken to your room while your having your drink. The room itself was very very nice, large comfortable bed, ensuite toilet, my room had a sunken bath with hand shower attachment, free wifi, free television, free movies, and 24 hour room service. In the mornings, breakfast is served, with a very large variety, and if there was something you didn't like they would sort it out for you. All the staff were very friendly and would go out of their way to help you. So all in all, it was a fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel, and I will definitely stay here again if I am down in Portsmouth again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My parents and I stayed for one night in May before taking the ferry over to France. We arrived at about 10:30 and although we could not check into our rooms straight away (nor were we expecting to because we were so early), the hotel personnel welcomed us warmly with orange juice, and did all the preliminary check in business so we could head out for sightseeing. Upon our return at 1700 we found our bags hauled up the stairs to our rooms, which was quite appreciated. We ordered dinner in, and it was quite good--sandwiches, salads and cheese tray. Perfect light meal. Unfortunately we were leaving too early the next morning to partake of the full breakfast offerings, but a lovely continental style breakfast was laid out for us (pastries, fruit, yogurt, juices, etc) which was quite adequate. Location is good, about five minutes walk to Henry VIIIs castle, the Portsmouth D-Day musuem, and boardwalk. The dockyard and gunwharf quay area is a quick cab ride away, which the hotel will call for you. All in all, I wish we had more than one night in Portsmouth, but if we ever do return, we'll be staying there!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lrmjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A lovely hotel. Myself and my partner stayed one night, next time will be longer. A very warm welcome and complimentary drink. Room was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. One of the best we have had. Parking was not an issue as we were given a parking permit. I booked the hotel through booking.com and requested a quiet room. I missed the bit about it being on ground floor and they called and they gave us another room. Top notch service and a big thank you to all at The Clarence. Will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: If you required a quiet room request one not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Tracy, It was lovely to welcome you both to The Clarence last weekend and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again for a longer stay next time.

Warmest Regards

Mark & Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Clarence last weekend. It was immediately obvious on arrival the care and attention that went into every aspect of the hotel's appearance and the guest experience.

The hotel was immaculately clean and it was clear no expense had been spared on the decor (which, I have to say, had been undertaken with remarkably good taste).

Our hosts went out of their way to be friendly and helpful the entire time; they could not have been more accommodating. Also, to offer 24-hour room service in an 8-room hotel was quite exceptional. It was clear to see why they had won the TripAdvisor award year after year – you cannot run a hotel of this kind without love and commitment to being the best.

The beds were so comfy we actually did not want to get up for breakfast but, when we did it (accommodated last minute!) it was also one of the best we have ever had in ANY hotel plus it was inclusive in our room price.

We would definitely choose this hotel again, next time we stay in Portsmouth. It was everything a great hotel experience should be.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay. Utterly exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Darren, Thank you so much for the great review that you have posted. Mark and myself very much enjoyed welcoming you both to The Clarence and hopefully next time you will get to experience one of our quirkier rooms.

We look forward to seeing you both again soon!

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say I had one of the most amazing experiences staying at this hotel with my gf for jus one night wish we stayed more. Never had such great hospitality. The service was first rate. We stayed in a King Deluxe room with a tub and it was absolutely gorgeous room. My gf loved it and so did I. Feel terrible I forgot their names but the staff were extremely friendly and gave us great tips about where to go in Portsmouth. The breakfast was delicious highly recommended. My gf forgot her jacket and they offered to send it to us at no extra cost. Frankly the best place I have stayed in the UK. I am certain I will go there again. Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Travis, Thank you for the wonderful review and we are pleased that you found the Clarence to be one of the best hotels that you have stayed in.

I hope that your girlfriend has now received her jacket and top that we posted back on Monday.

We look forward to welcoming you back again so that you have experience another one of our wonderful rooms.

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A warm welcome, a very comfortable and stylishly decorated room, an excellent breakfast. This is not cheap for a small hotel (just 8 rooms) but it has enough special touches to be worth it.

Very comfortable bed, air conditioning in the room (bliss!), an extremely well equipped wet room, free movies on demand, complimentary tea/coffee and water and one of the freshest, tastiest cooked breakfasts imaginable.

Lots of restaurants within a 10 minute walk and Jenny made very helpful recommendations for dinner.

The only downside was the lack of private parking. We were given a permit to park on the street but the area looked slightly iffy to us (we may well have been wrong) so that was a slight concern.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Hilary,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found the breakfast to be nice and tasty.

Hopefully see you soon!

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
930 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
689 reviews
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £82 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing