We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Treasure”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Clarence is an ideally situated treasure. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. It is located on a quiet street but walking distance from the tourists sites and shopping. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Would definitely recommend it to others and hope that my travels take me to Portsmouth again so I can stay here.

Room Tip: There is no lift. They will take your luggage to your room and down again but if stairs are a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Barbara,

It was a pleasure looking after you and welcoming you back a 2nd time during your Europe trip. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Warmest Regards

Jenny, Mark, Paula and all the staff here at The Clarence x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    118
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
796
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night at the beautiful Clarence Hotel. I cannot fault a thing. From the moment I walked through the door the staff were friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed a lovely relaxing bath whilst watching a movie on the Aqua TV. To top it off breakfast was delicious. Cannot wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you PrincessAmber for your lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after both of you for your surprise proposal/engagement party and wish both of you all the best for your future. I know you will treasure your evening for a very long time.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Jenny, Mark, Paula and all the staff xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

An excellent boutique hotel with 1st class service. Particularly enjoyed the bath in floor to unwind after a long day at the office, relaxing and a TV as well!
Will definately be back for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 1 - excellent sunken bath in the floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Amanda N,

Thank you for posting your lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed the "Wild at Heart" room. This room is particulary popular with our many female solo business travellers.

We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the monkey room, the bathroom was wonderful! Enjoyed our stay from the minute we got there, were greeted with a complimentary drink and our bags taken to our room. breakfast was wonderful with home made bread, my husband is a ceoliac and they even had home made gluten free bread for him. Would definitely recommend the clarence and would love to stay there again if we were down that way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan-and-mark-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, I loved all the little touches, it was my partners birthday and there was a birthday card for him in the room for example. Breakfast was very good and again it was the little touches, I am coeliac, I had bought my own bread as very rarely does anywhere have it in stock, but they did, in fact they had baked a home made bread, which was delicious! Very enjoyable stay. Thank you

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, particularly the ones with bath in the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

An ideal base from which to experience the historical, as well as modern, parts of Portsmouth, if planned accordingly.
After a 200m stroll (south) to the esplanade embark on a 3km walk (East) along the seafront covering the D-Day museum, Old Portsmouth, Gunwharf Quays and the Portsmouth Historical Dockyard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our first time in Portsmouth and we could not have picked better accommodation. First time ever we have been offered a FREE welcoming drink in a very relaxed atmosphere, suitcases delivered to our room, bed turned down with a first class chocolate left on the pillow, free bottled water in the room and the breakfasts (price included in the tariff) were superb, lovely fresh fruit and nuts, and a multiple choice of hot food. Our absolute thank you goes to the staff Paula, Jade and Carol who made our stay very very special and nothing at all was too much trouble. The hotel is very well situated close to some fantastic restaurants that the girls recommended and many tourist attractions. We totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We chose the Library room which is a bit small if you have 2 large suitcases and 2 smaller ones but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing