We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
1,079
139
27
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,079
139
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken bathwelcome drinkunderfloor heatingon arrivalsmall hotelfantastic hotelwedding nightbreakfast was deliciouslittle touchesfull englishparking permitcooked to perfectiona wonderful staysea frontbeautiful roomflorence armswould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is an incredibly appointed 6 bedroom house(hotel) quite obviously created by its very proud owner's. In a more spacious building this would be a 5* Hotel(not a house).from the very warm welcome and introduction to all the amazing services available the scope of professionalism shines through.
Our room was delightful! Furnishings, linen, pillows etc. Superior quality. The bathroom could only be described opulent! The fixtures and fittings I would be pleased to have in my home.
A delightful small private area to sit out side.small lounge with a well stocked bar + night porter/bar-tender. The Clarence a brilliant ENIGMA.
ICING on the cake! A local parking permit.

Room Tip: All rooms 1st. Class
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear davidwoodhead,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here on a couple of occasions now, I think the previous reviews say it all. It is the attention to detail you can only find in a five star plus hotel. It is primarily a bed and breakfast hotel , but has a small sitting area next to a well stocked bar. A great welcome is assured along with a complimentary drink whilst you complete the check in formalities. Furnishings and decorations are excellent along with the opportunity to watch TV in the bath, if you feel the need. Complementary coffee and tea are served any time, and the ingredients at breakfast are all top quality including a selection of freshly baked breads. On site parking is available with a short drive to the centre of Portsmouth. Would seriously recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galerius2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Galerius2,

Many thanks for the lovely review and thank you for making us your first choice when you visit the Portsmouth area. The Clarence has built up so many regulars in business and pleasure over the last 6 years. It is always nice to be able to welcome them time and time again.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Clarence is an ideally situated treasure. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. It is located on a quiet street but walking distance from the tourists sites and shopping. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Would definitely recommend it to others and hope that my travels take me to Portsmouth again so I can stay here.

Room Tip: There is no lift. They will take your luggage to your room and down again but if stairs are a problem be sure to request one of the two first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Barbara,

It was a pleasure looking after you and welcoming you back a 2nd time during your Europe trip. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Warmest Regards

Jenny, Mark, Paula and all the staff here at The Clarence x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night at the beautiful Clarence Hotel. I cannot fault a thing. From the moment I walked through the door the staff were friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed a lovely relaxing bath whilst watching a movie on the Aqua TV. To top it off breakfast was delicious. Cannot wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you PrincessAmber for your lovely review. It was a pleasure looking after both of you for your surprise proposal/engagement party and wish both of you all the best for your future. I know you will treasure your evening for a very long time.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Jenny, Mark, Paula and all the staff xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

An excellent boutique hotel with 1st class service. Particularly enjoyed the bath in floor to unwind after a long day at the office, relaxing and a TV as well!
Will definately be back for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 1 - excellent sunken bath in the floor!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Amanda N,

Thank you for posting your lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed the "Wild at Heart" room. This room is particulary popular with our many female solo business travellers.

We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews