We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarah &Richard Hepp”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent nights stay here on our return from France. . We arrived late on the evening to a very warm welcome and a much needed complimentary drink on check in. Our room was exceptionally well appointed with every need catered for and lots of towels. .not just the mandatory one each..The breakfast was truly delicious with a fantastic choice of both hot and cold items, a range of homemade toasted bread and abundant tea or coffee. .We cannot fault our stay and will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Lousontour,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased that after your journey back from France you had a wonderful welcome and enjoyed your short stay with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again next year.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a truly exceptional hotel which is operated by people who really care about their guests enjoying their stay. From the moment we walked in to be greeted by a complementary drink to our departure (no problem, park outside all day) we were looked after wonderfully. A minor problem with the air conditioning was fixed immediately, and (a really nice touch) a personal; note of apology from the owner left in the bedroom with an explanation of the cause.

The location is perfect for Southsea and a 30 ish minute walk to the Victory and Spinnaker.

Fabulous breakfast - great hosts - comfortable bed - great room - what more do you want!!

Perhaps some of the head people in the big-hotel brands should stay here to see how hotels should be run.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lousontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely positive review of our little hotel. We truly care about our guests and their experience here at The Clarence. I hope that we will see you again sometime soon,

Kindest Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This a super friendly small hotel. Mark was a great help.We had a very comfortable room but the sunken tub proved a bit unwieldy. Breakfast was nice and coffee and tea are complimentary. The location requires a taxi to get to the dock yard and good restaurants but that is really not difficult. the city seemed safe and the amenities made it a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the tubs as some are sunken but there are showers in others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bayard H,

Thank you for your review and that you found my wonderful husband Mark to be very helpful. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if you ever find yourself back in Portsmouth myself, Mark and all the staff will be waiting to welcome you with open arms.

Take care and best regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Clarence is a beautifully executed small hotel in Portsmouth. I stayed in "The Study", a quite small but very comfortable room. The room, as is the entire property, was immaculate.

An excellent breakfast is included and taken and very nicely served in a bright and comfortable dining room.

The hotel is about a ten-minute, £5-6 taxi ride from the Historic Dockyard.

Highly recommended.

[And special thanks to Jenny for her "above and beyond" logistical help with my travel pack!]

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R11-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear R11-TA

Thank you for your recent review and it was lovely to meet you. I hope you enjoyed your few days in London and had a safe journey back to the states.

It was a pleasure to assist you with your luggage difficulty on the day of departure. It's not only the experience from within our property that we are interested in, we are more than happy to assist from before arrival to after departure where possible. After all we are in the hospitality industry!

Hopefully if you are in the Portsmouth area again we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Clarence.

Kinda regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Okay, so it isn't on the seafront (though it is 50m away) and the views may not be the best, but this is one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in.
It isn't just the decor and styling, or the impressive attention to detail, it's the amazing service.
Right from being greeted, the welcome drinks, our bags being placed in our room... the heartfelt service and lovely staff/owners made us feel very, very special.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the room air-conditioned and quiet.
Breakfast was first class and there is the option to have spa treatments in your room.
We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TinselRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your very honest review of The Clarence I always say "never judge a book by its cover". The Clarence is like no other small hotel that I have experienced. It is a very unique hotel in many aspects from the guest receiving a welcome drink upon arrival to blockbuster movies on demand and individually controlled air conditioning in your room, which I must say is a god send at this time of year. No other independent hotel in Portsmouth offer any of the above.

We are only 50m from the beautiful seafront of Portsmouth, where guests can have a lovely stroll either to the famous Gunwharf Quays or around a 5 minute walk will take you to Southsea town centre which has lots of little bars and restaurants.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Location - 2 minutes walk from Southsea shops, bars, restaurants. 10 minutes by car to the shopping centres in Portsmouth:Cascades and Gunwharf Quay.
Parking - there is a small secure car park beside the hotel but plenty of parking on the street.
Arrival - after a very long day travelling we arrived late at 11pm, very tired and grumpy. However, the calming atmosphere and Jade's welcome soon de-stressed us. She offered us a welcome drink whilst she checked us in. Very relaxed and informal.
Room - we booked 'The Study' as it was the only room left with a shower. The owner told us it's the smallest room in the hotel. However, it still has a king size bed. The rain shower is super so I'm glad we chose this room. There is a good powerful hairdryer in the room, complimentary mineral water each day, a flat screen tv with free movies, fluffy white towels, bathrobes and slippers and the usual toiletries. The bed was so comfortable. There was an air conditioning unit but we just kept the windows open as this room is on the first floor and there is no noise from outside at all. They do a turn down service each night and leave a lovely Belgian chocolate and a little quotation, very nice touch.
Breakfast - there is a vast selection of freshly prepared fruit, granola, yogurts, orange juice, grapefruit juice, mineral water, cereals. The hot breakfast is cooked to order and is absolutely top quality. All the bread is homemade so the toast selection is yummy too.
Owners and staff are so helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again. Many thanks Mark and Jenny.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel directly and you can book the particular room to suit your own requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobby911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bobby911

Many thanks for your wonderful review and it was lovely talking to you both about your new life in France. Very jealous!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we can welcome you back to try out one if our larger rooms next time.

Take care and enjoy your sumner.

Best Regards

Jenny & Mark xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What can I say that no one has already said!! This hotel is one of the very best we have stayed. From the moment you enter the front door you are lovingly welcomed and instantly put at ease from the owners Mark & Jenny. The complimentry drink was welcoming after our long journey. We stayed in Room 2 which is on the ground floor. The room is tastefully decorated, clean & so comfortable. Even though we were on the ground floor opposite the bar area we heard no noise from other guests. The staff here are exceptional and nothing is a bother to them. A big THANK YOU to Jenny for the wonderful breakfasts she cooked. We have never felt so relaxed & we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: As far as I'm aware all the rooms are good as they have different themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haddonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you haddonhols,

Thank you for your really lovely review. We are glad we had the opportunity to meet you and that you enjoyed your short stay with us in the "Classical" room which is situated on the ground floor.

Thank you for mentioning my breakfasts. I am a perfectionist and this to me is so so important to get right. It's the last memory of a guests stay so is vital to be perfect. I only use the best ingredients, never compromise on quality is my motto. We use Buckwell's local butchers for our handmade sausages and dry cure bacon. Johnsone's fish market for our fish and Clarence Court for our eggs.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed it!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
690 reviews
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £82 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing