We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This little hotel is just perfect! Mark and Jenny were fantastic, they made us feel so welcome :) The room was amazing, comfortable and breakfast was yummy! Will definitely be staying again and will be recommending to anyone that wants a peaceful break away (without children ;) ).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank H G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear H G W

Thank you for your kind review and it was a pleasure to look after you both. We hope to see you again sometime so that you can enjoy some more child free time :)

Kind Regards

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arrived mid evening on a Saturday, was greeted by a lovely young lady who told us all we needed to know about the hotel & our room, sorted us out with a parking pass so we could park no problems, then gave us a nice surprise of a welcome glass of wine. Our bag even magically made its way up the stairs while we were enjoying our welcome drink in the bar. We were shown to the smallest room in the hotel, the 'Terracotta room', very beautiful well furnished room with a cracking shower. It really didn't matter that it was the smallest room as it was perfectly well formed and didn't feel small too small at all. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was spot on, again met by another great member of staff. Very clean well presented hotel with excellent staff, very personable. If I was to nit pick the only things I would make comment on...and I am nit picking here...would be the TV needs to be on a swivelling wall bracket so you can turn it towards the bed although it's not like you are craning your neck to see it or anything, like I said I am definitely nit picking here...and the air conditioning should be colder. Overall a fantastic hotel, we will be returning next year when we visit Goodwood again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsShears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear MrsShears,

Thank you for your wonderful reviews and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our "deluxe" rooms the "Terracotta" which is one of the hotels smaller bedrooms. We try and be very honest regarding all of our rooms to avoid disappointment upon arrival. This room still boasts a kingside bed, 32 inch TV with blockbuster movie and music system and a fabulous shower with side rain bars. With regards to the TV angle you will be pleased to know that we have now purchased our tilt and turn bracket which should be put up over the next few days.

Once again thank you for your very positive comments and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent nights stay here on our return from France. . We arrived late on the evening to a very warm welcome and a much needed complimentary drink on check in. Our room was exceptionally well appointed with every need catered for and lots of towels. .not just the mandatory one each..The breakfast was truly delicious with a fantastic choice of both hot and cold items, a range of homemade toasted bread and abundant tea or coffee. .We cannot fault our stay and will return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Lousontour,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased that after your journey back from France you had a wonderful welcome and enjoyed your short stay with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again next year.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a truly exceptional hotel which is operated by people who really care about their guests enjoying their stay. From the moment we walked in to be greeted by a complementary drink to our departure (no problem, park outside all day) we were looked after wonderfully. A minor problem with the air conditioning was fixed immediately, and (a really nice touch) a personal; note of apology from the owner left in the bedroom with an explanation of the cause.

The location is perfect for Southsea and a 30 ish minute walk to the Victory and Spinnaker.

Fabulous breakfast - great hosts - comfortable bed - great room - what more do you want!!

Perhaps some of the head people in the big-hotel brands should stay here to see how hotels should be run.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lousontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely positive review of our little hotel. We truly care about our guests and their experience here at The Clarence. I hope that we will see you again sometime soon,

Kindest Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This a super friendly small hotel. Mark was a great help.We had a very comfortable room but the sunken tub proved a bit unwieldy. Breakfast was nice and coffee and tea are complimentary. The location requires a taxi to get to the dock yard and good restaurants but that is really not difficult. the city seemed safe and the amenities made it a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the tubs as some are sunken but there are showers in others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bayard H,

Thank you for your review and that you found my wonderful husband Mark to be very helpful. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if you ever find yourself back in Portsmouth myself, Mark and all the staff will be waiting to welcome you with open arms.

Take care and best regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Clarence is a beautifully executed small hotel in Portsmouth. I stayed in "The Study", a quite small but very comfortable room. The room, as is the entire property, was immaculate.

An excellent breakfast is included and taken and very nicely served in a bright and comfortable dining room.

The hotel is about a ten-minute, £5-6 taxi ride from the Historic Dockyard.

Highly recommended.

[And special thanks to Jenny for her "above and beyond" logistical help with my travel pack!]

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R11-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear R11-TA

Thank you for your recent review and it was lovely to meet you. I hope you enjoyed your few days in London and had a safe journey back to the states.

It was a pleasure to assist you with your luggage difficulty on the day of departure. It's not only the experience from within our property that we are interested in, we are more than happy to assist from before arrival to after departure where possible. After all we are in the hospitality industry!

Hopefully if you are in the Portsmouth area again we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Clarence.

Kinda regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Okay, so it isn't on the seafront (though it is 50m away) and the views may not be the best, but this is one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in.
It isn't just the decor and styling, or the impressive attention to detail, it's the amazing service.
Right from being greeted, the welcome drinks, our bags being placed in our room... the heartfelt service and lovely staff/owners made us feel very, very special.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the room air-conditioned and quiet.
Breakfast was first class and there is the option to have spa treatments in your room.
We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TinselRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclarence21, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your very honest review of The Clarence I always say "never judge a book by its cover". The Clarence is like no other small hotel that I have experienced. It is a very unique hotel in many aspects from the guest receiving a welcome drink upon arrival to blockbuster movies on demand and individually controlled air conditioning in your room, which I must say is a god send at this time of year. No other independent hotel in Portsmouth offer any of the above.

We are only 50m from the beautiful seafront of Portsmouth, where guests can have a lovely stroll either to the famous Gunwharf Quays or around a 5 minute walk will take you to Southsea town centre which has lots of little bars and restaurants.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
969 reviews
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
706 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £71 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing